Chevron Left
Zurück zu Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases von The Pennsylvania State University

4.7
712 Bewertungen
169 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

Top-Bewertungen

DB

Apr 23, 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

DJ

May 13, 2017

It is a wonderful course , I have gain and updated my Knowledge in the area of Epidemics and Infectious Disease, Thanks to the Course organizers and most effective presentations . Dr Shivaji

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 164 Bewertungen für Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases

von Kuong S

Oct 08, 2015

R

von Yamileth M M

Sep 21, 2015

Excelent course!!!

von Ricardo G R

Aug 14, 2015

Amazing!

von basem m s

Nov 16, 2015

very very interesting course.

i can't wait finishing it.

von Shaaz N

Apr 12, 2016

great course and its intensive learning . One might think its just another course . However, one needs to follow all the lectures and notes closely to be able to pass all their assignments .

von Donna B

Apr 23, 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

von David A R R

Mar 08, 2017

muy interesante e introductorio a la dinámica de la enfermedades infecciosas que abarca determinantes tanto biológicos como sociales. Muy recomendado.

von Przemysław M J

Aug 25, 2015

Great course! Concise form and presentations are very inspiring. The variety of covered topics is definitely impressive. Even I have strong experience in Public Health, I personally find this course as extremely useful and helping in clarifying some concepts of epidemiology and infectious diseases.

von Josephine P

Oct 26, 2016

G

von Scott56

Aug 19, 2015

This is the best epidemiology course I have ever taken.

von Sigrun J J E

Aug 17, 2015

The course is very interesting and the pace and language is very accessible to understand

von Bertan A

Mar 30, 2017

I took this course out of the blue but in the end I really enjoyed it. Excellent for learning the new trends in epidemiology.

von Daniela R R

Aug 28, 2015

Great content presented in a very comprehensive way!

von Muhammad M

Sep 09, 2015

Love this course. Excited to attend more biology sciences courses from this university and these instructors...

von Kathy T

Oct 23, 2015

Top notch professors, amazing that you can get so much up-to-date relevant scientific information in a single course. Awesome course, recommend it for anyone remotely interested in health, disease, biology, social science.

von Abhishek

Mar 11, 2016

Very informative course.

von Lisa O

Dec 01, 2015

This was a fascinating course. Thank you.

von Daniel K

May 17, 2016

great course

von Teo C Y

Jun 20, 2016

Interesting, informative and easy to understand. Good!

von Gianguglielmo Z

Jun 12, 2018

Very very good course and very useful

von Monika D

Aug 07, 2015

I really like the way the videos are prepared. It had to take a lot of work, but I love those drawings. It makes it look alive. I like the content as well. It is well structured and well presented. Thank you so much!!!!

von Nastassja F B A

Mar 30, 2016

The course was taught in a simple and effective manner.

von Chris V G

Jul 24, 2016

Excellent introduction and refreshingly presented, Thank You!!

von Ronald P

Jun 26, 2017

A wll-explained and interesting discussion of the problems of infectious diseases and our structures to deal with them.

von hossam g

Aug 30, 2015

excellent