Chevron Left
Zurück zu Essential Epidemiologic Tools for Public Health Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Essential Epidemiologic Tools for Public Health Practice von Johns Hopkins University

4.7
Sterne
1,077 Bewertungen
278 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In order to make a difference in the health and well-being of a population, we must understand the burden of all problems and conditions that affect the population, as well as how well our efforts to mitigate these problems are actually working. This course provides you with some essential skills and tools that will enhance your ability to describe and understand the health of your community. The tools that epidemiologists use are in fact useful for all public health practitioners, including data scientists, program officials, agency leaders, and policymakers. Whether you are deeply enmeshed in your career and looking to augment your skills, or are looking to change career paths into the field of public health, this course will give you some of the practical knowledge and skills that we hope you can apply in your professional endeavors....

Top-Bewertungen

MS

Mar 29, 2020

This course was a simple and easy-to-follow introduction to some integral programs that are used by public health practitioners. I highly recommend spending a few hours learning from this course!

AC

Apr 02, 2020

It was refreshing to go through the course content. I could not go through the fact finder as the website is moved to https://data.census.gov and hence the options too. Thank you for the learning

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 283 Bewertungen für Essential Epidemiologic Tools for Public Health Practice

von Cindy P G

Jan 13, 2020

Take this class for free before you pay for it because I bet you'll finish it really fast.

This first course in a series, Course 1, can be completed in one day if you already have basic math skills and knowledge of graphs. It is a fast introduction of what epidemiology is. The professor teaches very quickly and her slides are perfectly organized. I recommended it if you want to get a glimpse in public health. The last part of the lecture, week 4, shows an extremely brief intro to GIS, which I have never seen before, so it was useful and inspiring to learn more.

von Abdallah Y

Apr 06, 2020

Excellent course. Information was concise and interesting. Will surely be able to apply this information in my future health practice. Thank you Dr. Chandran.

von Michael B

Mar 24, 2020

I found the content of this courser to contain just the right amount of information to introduce the reader to the goals of public health as well as introducing the reader to the basic concepts of epidemiology without overwhelming the learner. Excellent introductory course. Highly recommended if you want to explore public health as a career path. Well done to the instructor.

von Hilary W

Mar 31, 2020

Thank you! I enjoyed the course. You speak very clear and concise in a way that made everything very easy to understand. I am new to this field, and this was a great starting point for me.

von JANE E A

Mar 05, 2020

I have really enjoyed and benefited immensely from the course.

it has given me more insight into current essential tools in epidemiology and improved my skill in the field of Public Health .

My only challenge with the course was absence of note to serve as reference materials for learning.

von kinder

Feb 18, 2020

Excellent

von Mariko Y

Mar 25, 2020

I really enjoyed the course, the last week on GIS systems and the interactive lesson on how to use QGIS was particularly helpful, as my MPH program did not utilize any interactive GIS tools. However, I found some of the quiz questions to be rather subjective as opposed to clear-cut yes or no answers. Also, it may help to update some of the information reliant on websites, as some of the websites linked have changed a bit and it made following along tricky at times. Nice class, thank you!

von Melissa F

Feb 08, 2020

Very easy to understand course. Quiz questions challenging so you must pay attention, can't just buzz through the videos without absorbing material. Only area of criticism was instructions to access some of the online features when engaging in the QGIS project were not current. Some of the features of the website and even the QGIS software were a little different from what was depicted in instructions, but minor stumbling block. Overall very good course.

von Bryan B

Mar 15, 2020

Fairly simplistic, but a good overview of tools and methods. The last module on QGIS is definitely in need of an update, though, both in the sense of other, easier tools out there, and also just that more recent versions of QGIS have slightly different interfaces.

von Carrie P

Apr 06, 2020

Great course but the map assignment REALLY needs to be updated. I spent hours and hours trying to figure it out since the American Fact Finder site is no longer available/no longer providing the output needed for this course.

von Diego R

Apr 12, 2020

Outdated instructions, couldn't do the last activity

von Varsha J

Apr 03, 2020

The course content is a little too basic and the teaching pace is very slow.

von Oluwatosin A

Apr 15, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course, felt that it did a great job explaining why these tools and skills are essential for all in the field of Public Health. The videos while being simplistic required one to stay engaged with it as the quiz questions oftentimes were not as easy as you initially thought they were. I really enjoyed the last module as QGIS was a software I'd never heard of before and I'm glad I've been able to tinker around with it. Though I do think the section utilizing this software needs to be updated as it was a bit challenging to follow with updates in the software and updates in the links to download the information needed to make the map for the software. Overall though, great class.

von Ray F M G

Apr 28, 2020

The following are the skills I learned from the course. Thank you for the resource person, the Coursera team as well as the Johns Hopkins University for the scholarship provision for this wonderful and insightful course.

1. How to measure disease occurrence based on numeric measures;

2. How to use appropriate data visualization and how to create data visualization; and

3. How to use the epidemiologic tool in data visualization specifically the QGIS.

von Elizabeth M

Apr 18, 2020

The course was extremely interesting with practical examples, well structured and easy to follow, but students must consider it's entirely based on the US public health system (it would have been interesting to see some comparison or mention of other health care systems). The links to obtain data for the last session of the course no longer existed, so it wasn't possible to download the required data and complete the exercise with GIS.

von Zackary I

Mar 29, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed the content I was learning, excited to use my beginner level skills with GIS where I can, and continue my education in the healthcare field. Thank you for providing this opportunity to spark an interest in a field I had no knowledge of before. While this course barley scratched the surface of Epidemiology, I feel miles ahead in terms of my intellect than before starting this course.

von Kathryn K

May 07, 2020

Great introduction to the study of epidemiology. Very helpful understanding the origins of epidemiology how it has evolved into public health practice today. The course provided good information of the various tools that cabe be used to convey public health data to decision makers as well as the public. Looking forward to taking the next course in the specialization!

von Giovanni

Apr 07, 2020

This course Is a great Introduction Into using the tools for Epidemiology In Public Health Practice. I strongly recommend It for those who need to update their skills or who are getting started In the field. Only one suggestion: update the GIS section as so many of the data sources have changed. Other than that, great class.

von Babatunde B

Apr 02, 2020

The completion of this course have me an in-depth insight into Epidemiology and Public Health Science which is a field I look forward to. The information was well explained with visual aids and exercises in order to understand easily. Thank you Aruna Chandran and John Hopkins University for putting this together.

von Claudia M G Z

May 29, 2020

I really learn and enjoy the course, I will take the next 4 courses. I would like you to answer our doubts, in this course, to me, it was so difficult to use the software QGIS, because when I applied the symbology the map "relatively disappeared" (!!), I did it around 8 times.

Thank you very much :-)

von Sarah L S d F

Apr 17, 2020

This course had a easy to compreend language, dinamic and interactive. I loved to see simulations of real situations on the tests questions because it seems the knowlegde I had adquire can be easly used in real life. Also, it was important have a shown exemple while I was trying to do my own graphs.

von Taliah D J

Mar 30, 2020

This was a great refresher course for Epidemiology. I appreciate the timing as it relates to the COVID-19 outbreak. This course allowed me to pull together public health ideas and facts that will give me the opportunity to help find trends of the spread of COVID-19 in my community.

Thank You.

von Ana B

May 15, 2020

This course is a great introduction to epidemiology and public health. It will provide the knowledge necessary to level up skills and understand the principles of epidemiology and its uses within the healthcare system. The content is engaging and well developed. Highly recommend the course.

von Jhemari Q

Mar 31, 2020

This course was incredibly informative and interesting, and it made me appreciate the work that public health researchers and professionals do. While I had only a vague idea of what public health was before, I can now confidently explain the type of role it plays in our day-to-day lives.

von Lauren D

Mar 29, 2020

I enjoyed this course, and I liked that I could do it at my own pace. I found the information new and beneficial to my continued path towards public health and epidemiology. Instructions were well written and helped me learn skills that I did not have prior to this course.