Chevron Left
Zurück zu Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health von The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.6
Sterne
3,159 Bewertungen
878 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Often called “the cornerstone” of public health, epidemiology is the study of the distribution and determinants of diseases, health conditions, or events among populations and the application of that study to control health problems. By applying the concepts learned in this course to current public health problems and issues, students will understand the practice of epidemiology as it relates to real life and makes for a better appreciation of public health programs and policies. This course explores public health issues like cardiovascular and infectious diseases – both locally and globally – through the lens of epidemiology....

Top-Bewertungen

N

Apr 12, 2020

Very clear teaching strategies from the instructors. Some quizzes though are a little bit hard on my part because of the type of questions and answers. But overall it is a great course to take with.

A

May 31, 2020

I just completed my course and I would like to appreciate the tutors for doing a great job, yeah! Also, I recommend Coursera for anyone who wants to experience advancement in knowledge and career.

Filtern nach:

701 - 725 von 866 Bewertungen für Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health

von Jackie W

Dec 01, 2016

Good overview of the subject, and easy to understand for someone with no health sciences background. My only complaint is that the additional readings were redundant, covering the exact same thing and using the same examples as the videos--I would prefer either different readings or making them more obviously optional.

von Stavros I

Oct 30, 2015

Nice course with the correct approach on the basics of Epidemiology. Only one minor issue, i think the focus on the historical aspects, although interesting, was a bit too much in the lectures and the tests. Being able to define OR or CI should be more important than questions on history. Overall, great work!

von Dotan S

Oct 10, 2016

This course was excellent as a basic course, highlighting the most basic definitions and concepts that anyone interested in epidemiology without any background should and can understand.

Thank you lecturers and organizers, this course definitely answered some questions I had after reading scientific articles.

von ADERETI O F

Jun 19, 2020

The course was really interesting and eye opening,although the quizzes were a bit tough for the first three weeks,i still enjoyed every part of the study. I can relate better with most of the terms and case studies.And finally, the videos were okay but it wasn't easy pausing to jott some keypoints.

von marcela c

Apr 17, 2017

El curso es muy bueno, tiene bases excelentes par ala epidemiologia, y los documentos de Eric notebook son muy bueno, algunos un poco dificiles de entender pero en general muy ¨digeribles¨. En mi caso me demoraba mas del tiempo estipulado a dedicar cada semana pero eso dependerá de cada persona.

von Sampada A

Jul 02, 2020

Engaging! Super cool, great overview into epidemiology. Only complaint is that the lectures were a bit monotonous, but it is what it is. Would recommend for anyone who wants to learn more about public health or is just intrigued by COVID-19! Thank you Professors Alexander and Yeatts!!!

von Cantillep

Jul 28, 2020

The lectures were easy to understand. However, I would like to comment on the questions of the exams. Some were not worded appropriately and some were quite irrelevant to the material discussed. Questions could have focused more on the topic itself, rather than the examples cited.

von Hildegard M

May 10, 2020

This has been a great introduction to the history and basic concepts of epidemiology. The lecturers explained it in an easy to understand and comprehensive manner and I really enjoyed from them. It encourages to delve a bit deeper into epidemiology and public health. THANK YOU !

von William F

Sep 05, 2020

Good coverage of important and interesting topics. In some videos the audio volume was a bit low, making it difficult to hear on some computers. Also, reading is not the best way to present information if you want to capture people’s interest and concentration.

von Aamena A

Jul 30, 2020

It was a little bit tough for me especially because it had formulas and math. Overall, I would recommend the course to anyone who wants to learn and understand epidemiology. It's a good way to supplement your public health studies if you're in a med school.

von Lim Y H X

Apr 29, 2020

A sufficient introductory preview into epidemiology, although some concepts were taught at the rather intermediate level. Also, some contents covered in the quiz were ill-structured and not otherwise captured in lectures and/or additional readings.

von Laverne D

Aug 06, 2019

The information on measures of association was somewhat confusing. Sometimes the narrator would say either risk or rate, but I thought she meant the other. Statistical data gathering I find very challenging, though I recognize its importance.

von Frank B

May 12, 2020

I like this as a broad overview of research methods in epidemiology. I found this stimulating prior knowledge from my Psychological Science degree, so it was a good refresher before I head into health informatics and clinical classification.

von Comfort O B

Sep 03, 2020

The course is really enjoyable! It clearly demonstrated life events and causality issue. Earlier, I have trouble understanding Confidence interval, but now I understand it clearly! Kudos to the two wonderful teachers. Thank you so much!

von Gwendolen M H

Aug 03, 2017

I am considering getting my master's in PH and I think this course will be a great foundational course!! Thank you Dr Alexander, Dr Yeatts, and UNC Gillings School of Global PH for a course that was interesting and easy to understand.

von Foster N

Oct 16, 2015

I thought this was a good basic level introduction course. One suggestion is to update the quiz section to be able to click on the questions that were answered incorrectly and see the correct answer with explanation (after passing).

von Laura D S B

Jun 15, 2020

Los cuestionarios llegan a ser un poco tediosos, los recursos como lecturas son MUY útiles y fáciles de leer, los videos tienen ejemplos claros. Me sirvió mucho para reforzar términos y medidas que había estudiado previamente.

von Anupama J

Jul 23, 2017

Well-conducted course with clear and crisp explanations. At the end of the course at least, we should be given the list of the questions answered wrongly and the right answers, so that, one understands the mistakes committed.

von Betzaide C M

Feb 10, 2019

I really like this course, it clears me a lot of doubts and easy to understand many concepts, also it was useful to remember what I have learned before. Thanks for the couse.

I´m interested in taking more cuorses like this.

von ABBA B

Sep 14, 2017

Je trouve ce Module de cours très intéressant car, il est flexible, compréhensif et descriptif et également il m'a permis de comprendre certains termes que je n'ai pas appris pendant ma période de formation universitaire.

von Sean S

Jan 04, 2016

An excellent introduction to epidemiology. The reason I gave it 4 stars rather than 5 is because I would have liked to see more statistics e.g. one or two statistical tests and maybe a prac on experimental/survey deisgn.

von Noel M M

Jun 07, 2020

Very intricate making it comprehensive for six weeks of learning! Very informative. Would be even better if the presentation was simplified and more examples used so as to promote better understanding of the concepts!

von R. R

Sep 01, 2020

This course is one of the most valuable course I have ever done because the knowledge within this course is much needed to learn and to apply for this pandemic. I will recommend it to all those who may be interested.

von Nehleen A

Nov 28, 2017

Excellent beginner level course. I learned a lot. Great lectures. However, quizzes are not easy and the answers are always intuitive to the people who are new to this field, even when you listen to the lecture

von Li C

Mar 18, 2018

I think the program is a little bit too easy and someone can only get an introduction of the public health and the epidemiology, I hope there are more difficult class and take me deeper to the epidemiology.