Chevron Left
Zurück zu Econometrics: Methods and Applications

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Econometrics: Methods and Applications by Erasmus University Rotterdam

4.6
729 Bewertungen
149 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Welcome! Do you wish to know how to analyze and solve business and economic questions with data analysis tools? Then Econometrics by Erasmus University Rotterdam is the right course for you, as you learn how to translate data into models to make forecasts and to support decision making. * What do I learn? When you know econometrics, you are able to translate data into models to make forecasts and to support decision making in a wide variety of fields, ranging from macroeconomics to finance and marketing. Our course starts with introductory lectures on simple and multiple regression, followed by topics of special interest to deal with model specification, endogenous variables, binary choice data, and time series data. You learn these key topics in econometrics by watching the videos with in-video quizzes and by making post-video training exercises. * Do I need prior knowledge? The course is suitable for (advanced undergraduate) students in economics, finance, business, engineering, and data analysis, as well as for those who work in these fields. The course requires some basics of matrices, probability, and statistics, which are reviewed in the Building Blocks module. * What literature can I consult to support my studies? You can follow the MOOC without studying additional sources. Further reading of the discussed topics (including the Building Blocks) is provided in the textbook that we wrote and on which the MOOC is based: Econometric Methods with Applications in Business and Economics, Oxford University Press. The connection between the MOOC modules and the book chapters is shown in the Course Guide – Further Information – How can I continue my studies. * Will there be teaching assistants active to guide me through the course? Staff and PhD students of our Econometric Institute will provide guidance in January and February of each year. In other periods, we provide only elementary guidance. We always advise you to connect with fellow learners of this course to discuss topics and exercises. * How will I get a certificate? To gain the certificate of this course, you are asked to make six Test Exercises (one per module) and a Case Project. Further, you perform peer-reviewing activities of the work of three of your fellow learners of this MOOC. You gain the certificate if you pass all seven assignments. Have a nice journey into the world of Econometrics! The Econometrics team...

Top-Bewertungen

JJ

Nov 16, 2015

The design of the course is very Helpful and efficient. The course is well explained. The instructors are very clear and master the subject. They very detailed and well organized.

TM

Jun 09, 2016

Very practical, I would urge people who intend to take this course to come to this course with at least some knowledge of econometrics and statistics. It would come in handy.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 143 Reviews for Econometrics: Methods and Applications

von Graham T

Oct 23, 2018

Rigorous condensed econometrics course with clear instruction. Great for my review of the subject, and most likely for anyone new to it who has the prerequisite skills.

von Bruno A C A

Sep 06, 2018

Amazing for a person who would like to start with Econometric models at the most fundamental level. You will get a load of knowledge after you complete even if you know about econometrics. If you have difficulty in algebra and statistics, do start with the last week's lectures. They are the most difficult, but follow them until the end and do all the exercises. Also, the support of the teaching staff is outstanding when you have questions. Cannot recommend it more.

von Zoltan A S

Jan 02, 2016

The course it's great , however in my opinion it's too theoretical with few practical examples.

If you're confortable with matrices and mathematics this course will provide you with very interesting tools and demostrations.

I don't think that the course is for casual students, as it's very specific.

von Nishikant C

May 07, 2019

Very Good Course. However, The exercises were a bit challenging . Walk through of related examples would have helped a lot for the exercises.

Does require some mathematical background in Statistics. Intermediate to advanced course considering the complexity

von Christian K

Jan 09, 2019

Depending on what you are looking for, this course might be too theoretic or mot theoretic enough:) IMHO it strikes the balamce quite nicely, although the forced theoretical parts in the tests kept me from buying the certificate. I simply want to be able to perform the analysis.

von Alesia N

Jan 06, 2019

it's a very deep course

von Daniela C

Apr 09, 2018

EXCELENTE

von Pedro A

Oct 05, 2017

Old fashioned Econometrics course, still using the ideas of fixed regressors (rather than the more sensible conditional models approach), emphasizing prediction instead of causal interpretation, etc.

It is false that such approach allows to introduce difficult econometric methods in an easy way: it has been for decades that modern and worldwide used handbooks (Wooldridge, Stock & Watson, Angrist & Piscke, etc) do it in a more sensible and opposite way. This is so not only because it is actually easier (learn just from the title of one the book by Angrist & Piscke: "Mostly Harmless Econometrics"), but also because fix the right concepts and way of looking at the problem: probability (not fixed things), conditional expectations, causality.

von Andrea K I

Mar 26, 2016

One thing I regret from this course is the content of the video lectures. Having watch the first week's videos, I found that the professor mostly just read the slides - and did it in a very faithful and careful manner, not to miss a subscript .... This is quite devastating for me. I can read the slides myself (although I have to download it first, since the fonts on the screen are very small). What I need is the professor to explain the logic behind the formulas, the *why* behind what is written, instead of just reading *what* is written on the slides.

I find it amusing that with an expected learning of 8 hours a week, the total duration of the first week's videos add up to a mere 36 minutes. A couple of weeks ago I have just finished a course that subjectively is comparable in its difficulty level. That course is also rich in mathematical content and also requires a commitment of 4-8 hours per week. Each week, the duration of the lecture videos amount to somewhere between 120-150 minutes - and the lecturer didn't read slides; instead, he would explain the logic behind the concepts and provided papers for learners to read on our own time. That approach really helped scaffold my learning.

I hope you'd consider revisiting this course's learning plan - or probably just state on the course info page that this course is more suitable for a refresher course rather than an introductory one.

von Bjorn S

Jun 23, 2019

Great course!

von Alfonso B M

May 20, 2019

Great. Applied knowledge focus.

von

May 13, 2019

Very good insights and step by step methods.

It is more theoretical (manual calculations of different methods) than applied and should be completed by another course for this matter.

von Alain P

Mar 23, 2019

Very insightful about how to perform multilinear regressions, independly check relevance of each regressor, and simplify your models by eleminating unecessary regressors. Really useful hardskills, well explained by the teaching team, I recommend it.

The class could however benefit from less theory and more pragmatic advices when it comes to check relevance of regression. For instance, it should always favor sample testing over other tests, as even with 95% certainty or so, there is still 5% that your regression is not meaningful.

von mohammed a

Mar 14, 2019

C'est une formation très intéressante

Grand merci équipes coursera et Erasmus Univeristy Rotterdam

von mittal.hitesh.92@gmail.com

Feb 07, 2019

Excellent learning , though some hands on practice on tools like R and other software should also be made the part of the course.

von quangngu

Jan 21, 2019

There was a drastic increase in difficulty in week 6 and 7 from the rest of the course.

von Axel-Cleris G

Nov 21, 2018

I love this course. I'm a student in Economics and I took this course to have a complementary view to other econometric courses I have in my program; your explanations are good and intuitive. Thanks

von Dayane G

Sep 19, 2018

I think it is good have a link and support for download statical softwares and guidance for use are.

von DƯ T T

Sep 09, 2018

Helpful for me. Thanks a lot!

von Thomas B

Aug 25, 2018

Good content and quality. Coming from machine learning this gave me a new perspectives, e.g. a topic like endogeneity or the different kind of statistical tests.

I did the course using R, RStudio and R Markdown for the course assignments and that worked great. However, the course is taught without any reference to specific software packages and I think that's a big plus.

Some of the assignments were too academic for my taste (proving statements). I would have rather liked more examples showing different aspects and situations of the taught topics.

von dejan g

Jun 29, 2018

Useful to have a global view of econometric methods.

von Dimitrios B

Jun 20, 2018

Thank you.

von Yiming C

Jun 05, 2018

Good course, I would recommend people who have basic knowledge about statistics and linear algebra take this course if the topic of econometrics interest you.

von Sumit K

May 24, 2018

Great course to learn and to apply analytics in any field of management

von trilok k y

May 23, 2018

Nice, clear and crisp instructions. Assignments are also well made and really helpful.