Chevron Left
Zurück zu Econometrics: Methods and Applications

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Econometrics: Methods and Applications von Erasmus University Rotterdam

4.6
Sterne
1,010 Bewertungen
215 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Welcome! Do you wish to know how to analyze and solve business and economic questions with data analysis tools? Then Econometrics by Erasmus University Rotterdam is the right course for you, as you learn how to translate data into models to make forecasts and to support decision making. * What do I learn? When you know econometrics, you are able to translate data into models to make forecasts and to support decision making in a wide variety of fields, ranging from macroeconomics to finance and marketing. Our course starts with introductory lectures on simple and multiple regression, followed by topics of special interest to deal with model specification, endogenous variables, binary choice data, and time series data. You learn these key topics in econometrics by watching the videos with in-video quizzes and by making post-video training exercises. * Do I need prior knowledge? The course is suitable for (advanced undergraduate) students in economics, finance, business, engineering, and data analysis, as well as for those who work in these fields. The course requires some basics of matrices, probability, and statistics, which are reviewed in the Building Blocks module. If you are searching for a MOOC on econometrics of a more introductory nature that needs less background in mathematics, you may be interested in the Coursera course “Enjoyable Econometrics” that is also from Erasmus University Rotterdam. * What literature can I consult to support my studies? You can follow the MOOC without studying additional sources. Further reading of the discussed topics (including the Building Blocks) is provided in the textbook that we wrote and on which the MOOC is based: Econometric Methods with Applications in Business and Economics, Oxford University Press. The connection between the MOOC modules and the book chapters is shown in the Course Guide – Further Information – How can I continue my studies. * Will there be teaching assistants active to guide me through the course? Staff and PhD students of our Econometric Institute will provide guidance in January and February of each year. In other periods, we provide only elementary guidance. We always advise you to connect with fellow learners of this course to discuss topics and exercises. * How will I get a certificate? To gain the certificate of this course, you are asked to make six Test Exercises (one per module) and a Case Project. Further, you perform peer-reviewing activities of the work of three of your fellow learners of this MOOC. You gain the certificate if you pass all seven assignments. Have a nice journey into the world of Econometrics! The Econometrics team...

Top-Bewertungen

DT
13. Feb. 2020

Course was very well structured, pacing was very pleasant (albeit a little fast for the chapter about time series). Teachers were top notch! I had lots of fun while learning . Thank you!

JJ
15. Nov. 2015

The design of the course is very Helpful and efficient. The course is well explained. The instructors are very clear and master the subject. They very detailed and well organized.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 208 Bewertungen für Econometrics: Methods and Applications

von Danish U

5. Nov. 2015

Very good course. But too much emphasis on statistical derivations. Also estimating models by using any statistical software (SPSS, STATA, R, Eviews) will for sure be an interesting ad on.

von Adrien

13. Mai 2019

Very good insights and step by step methods.

It is more theoretical (manual calculations of different methods) than applied and should be completed by another course for this matter.

von Sriharsha G

26. Feb. 2016

It is a very good course I guess, but being 15 years old, it didn't make any sense.

However, I got to learn a lot of new things about a field which I wish to pursue.

von Yiming C

5. Juni 2018

Good course, I would recommend people who have basic knowledge about statistics and linear algebra take this course if the topic of econometrics interest you.

von Chun S L

12. Okt. 2017

the video seems fast-forwarded, which makes it quite difficult to follow. not sure if it's only my personal feel of it. otherwise the content were great.

von Souvik G

26. Aug. 2020

Great beginners course. Should be backed by readings. Exercises are awesome especially the building blocks. Looking forward to a more advanced course.

von Anand Y

17. Jan. 2016

More focus should be given on application part in initial modules vs. derivation. Also, the presentation can be made a bit more simple to understand.

von Naim

15. Aug. 2017

This course is really good for recapping what you have learned before. It would be a difficult course if you start it without previous background.

von Francesco

23. Juli 2017

Some stuff are treated briefly but overall is a good MOOC, well organized and gives good hints to deal with econometrics problems.

von Andrey P

15. Jan. 2018

I'd be happy to have more practical excersises during the course instead/together with formula transformation tasks.

von Fernando F d F M

23. Nov. 2017

Very nice MOOC. Found it a little too theorical, but it was very usefull to put in practice my econometrics skills.

von Maithili M

13. Nov. 2017

Very informative and technically coherent.

My only suggestion would be to provide software codes with solution.

von Utkarsh A

18. März 2017

The level of this course is high. It's better to take a basic course on Econometrics and then take up this.

von quangngu

21. Jan. 2019

There was a drastic increase in difficulty in week 6 and 7 from the rest of the course.

von James Z

10. Feb. 2017

Lecture materials are very rich and well organized.

von Christian H

19. Nov. 2016

It is a good course, but a bit short in my opinion

von Upmanyu B

22. Feb. 2016

Awesome, helped me alot! Thanks MOOC cordinatiors.

von gao f

23. Nov. 2016

many mistakes in the exercise solutions

von Alfonso B M

20. Mai 2019

Great. Applied knowledge focus.

von Nikhil K

5. Apr. 2020

Less practicals involved

von Anh N

20. Mai 2016

Excellent Course!

von ayushman g

8. Dez. 2015

nicely explained.

von Galyna U

20. Feb. 2020

With this course, I have definitely expanded my horizon of knowledge. Having completed it, I feel accomplished. At the same time, looking back, there was not clue that more than probability and statistics knowledge is needed - one has to be already familiar with econometrics and modeling. The learning curve is very steep and lectures are describing on the high-level scope of the further reading to be done to be able to solve assignments. Having technical background, I felt very much behind - just until the time when I found some relevant information in the lecture notes on Advanced Econometrics for PhD students. There should be a warning about such prerequisites!

von Murray S

5. Okt. 2020

I was somewhat disappointed with the quality of the solutions to the test exercises and the case project, which were handwritten and provided little in the way of further guidance about the solutions. I would have expected a more polished product. I think the course might also benefit from providing suggestions for further reading on certain subject or links to online resources that the student could refer to.

von HU X

24. Jan. 2016

This course will be a good revision if you have known the models before taking it. But if you are new to the models, you may not really understand them. This course tells you which models to use and how to implement, but does not tell you the rationale behind (maybe the theories are too difficult).

The teaching staff are really helpful and answer every question you raise in the discussion forum.