Chevron Left
Zurück zu Teaching EFL/ESL Reading: A Task Based Approach

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Teaching EFL/ESL Reading: A Task Based Approach von University of London

4.7
Sterne
463 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course explores ways of teaching reading skills in English as Second and Foreign Language (ESL/EFL) using a task-based approach. You will be introduced to the concept of task and the key principles of task-based language teaching (TBLT) and learning. TBLT uses communicative tasks as the key unit for creating language learning activities. You will also examine the role of reading in real-life and in second and foreign language teaching and current thinking about the interface between TBLT and second language reading. You will explore how TBLT and teaching second language reading can be successfully integrated in practice through analysing task-based reading materials. The course culminates in creating task-based materials for teaching reading in your own language teaching contexts. After completing the course, you will be able to: 1. Explain the main components and tenets of a task-based approach to teaching language; 2. Explain the main issues involved in teaching reading; 3. Illustrate connections between TBLT approaches and the teaching of reading; 4. Integrate tasks into your own teaching; 5. Identify reading texts that are suitable for the construction of tasks; and 6. Construct reading tasks and sequences for use in your own classroom....

Top-Bewertungen

RY

19. Dez. 2018

The course has refreshed me on how to do Task based teaching in my classroom. The professors and guest speakers are all very helpful in giving new ideas for lesson plan. I really enjoy the lesson.

DA

20. Nov. 2018

An exceptional course which brings up really interesting, thought-provoking ideas about pedagogy and ELT. Well-researched, easy to understand, and has some great assignment topics. Loved it.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 172 Bewertungen für Teaching EFL/ESL Reading: A Task Based Approach

von Marni H

24. Mai 2020

I definitely gained some useful information in this course and I liked that it made me think about how I design lessons and how I can improve upon that. However, I feel that the course would be much improved if the instructors spent at least a little time checking in, making sure the links all still worked, and actually interacted with the students taking this course. The instructors were completely absent as far as I could tell. Even just a few comments here and there in the discussions would be nice. Also, I don't really like that the entire course grade is based on peer reviews.

von Charlotte A

5. Okt. 2022

Information and content of this course is kind of interesting. Nevertheless, after all weekly moduls you have to do a writing exercise which will be graded by other students. So you have to trust in other students to grade your work right in time or that they won't give you bad grades on purpose. I don't like that way of grading.

von YIANN Y

2. Feb. 2021

I have learned a lot from this course. First of all, I learn additional methods to design a student-centered course and to consider each reading as a task rather than just a drill or an activity. Second, this course reinforces the importance of extensive reading for students, which is crucial. Only self-motivated reading can last longer and improve much. The last one is that even a boring text can be transformed into a task to help students learn from the reading assignment. These notions help me to change and improve my strategy and lesson plans.

von Maria R

16. Nov. 2020

I work as an online English language tutor, so the knowledge I've gained is extremely useful and I've been using it on practice already. I've learned a lot of new and useful information thanks to this course and its amazing lecturers.

An interesting fact that I didn't know about before the beginning of the course: Dr. Amos Paran teaches at Goldsmiths, University of London, where I got my Media & Communications degree in 2015. Again, I would like to thank all the lecturers for this interesting, informative course.

von Denisse G

25. Apr. 2022

I loved this course, THANK you to the teachers that develped this programme, they shared with us their knowledge and experience in a way that you engage us as learners till the end. Several takes away for us to practice a better teaching with a deep understanding of what is task-based for teaching, it gave us tools, ideas and foundations that give us certainty for planning with acuracy and impact on our students to promote engaged and fluent readers.

von Widyawati N

14. Juli 2017

I learnt a lot on this course and have enjoyed the learning process. It is conducted in digestible manner and the videos are very useful and easy to follow!

The only suggestion I would make is that some of the given instructions for the assignments aren't very clear or worded quite ambiguously. Other than that, this course is very beneficial and useful and some of the ideas I have learnt have already been implement in my classrooms.

von Karen S

8. Apr. 2022

I enjoyed this class. It was good to do these task-based assignments. I once was asked to develop a specific curriculum without any educational training. I did well. The program ended. Now I know that I am actually really good at it. So the course was important for me to gain this level of confidence now since now I know for sure that what I am doing is good and it works. Thanks for making this course available like this.

von Mary-Julia L L S

18. Nov. 2019

Quite an experience for me since this is my very first online course. I like the clear instructions and layout of the course. Although there was time when I was a little lost with the submission since no one else was grading my work even though I submitted it way on time, I eventually found a way to interact with other course members to help commenting and grading my work. I will definitely join another course in the future.

von Shokhayeva K

19. Nov. 2022

Hello my dear collegues! I was really happy to participate in this course! Because These courses gave me a lot of opportunities to develop my teaching skills. I got more useful information and it helped me to improve my english teaching methods.Be happy and healthy my dear collegues! I've also known a lot from collegues from anothet countries! Be Wealthy and See you on the next course organized by this University!

von ibrahim y

26. Dez. 2022

I absolutely had a wonderful experince in teaching reading especially in Task Based Approach. This course has broaden my horizon . Now, I feel much more confident and experienced in preparing tasks and activities about a reading text. I am sure my students will also benefit from my experience. I owe my special thanks to Coursera family and its devoted lecturerers. Can't wait to enrol other courses! Thank you!

von Mary K B C L C

24. Juni 2017

I am really grateful to finish this course in Coursera. Coursera has given me a chance to learn a lot about my field of interest (Languages, Reading and Literacy). The course about Task Based Approach is a avenue for a teacher to upgrade his/her teaching techniques especially during reading class. I absolutely recommended this course to all Language and Reading teachers. Happy Learning everyone!

von Sofía G P D

22. Apr. 2019

It is a very useful course to learn about how to make reading a more practical activity inside the classroom. They give lots of resources to put into practice in the classes and the explanations are clear. I learned a lot and I recommend this course to everyone who wants to enrich their knowledge and become a good professional in teaching reading.

von Johnrey L P

26. Sep. 2019

This course is an absolute refresher of my stored- reading knowledge. It is indeed a very informative comprehensive learning experience. The speaker or lecturers are very competent and compassionate in presenting and delivering a crystal clear instruction, valuable researched inputs information and well- spoken presentation. A huge thanks.

von Ilya O

16. Dez. 2022

Superb! One of the best courses I've ever taken, on Coursera or otherwise. This course has changed the way I teach reading. Dr. Paran and Dr. Revesz lead informative and engaging lectures, and the activities helped me produce materials that I have been incredibly proud of. A must-take course for teachers of multilingual readers.

von Osei A

2. März 2021

This course is great. It has really added more to what I knew. The assignment section gave me the opportunity to put what I was learning into practice. I have been able to share some wonderful ideas from the course to other language teachers and they really loved it. Thank you giving me to the chance to learn with you from afar.

von Jean H

9. Aug. 2022

This course provides well researched information and strategies about how to most effectively guide students to learn using a language they are learnimg. The presentation of the course informaiton is both audi and visual and provides both discussion and opportunities to use the information as it is being learned.

von Aasiya S

13. Nov. 2020

A fantastic course which was easy to follow and had a great format. It allowed me to learn and apply my knowledge. I enjoyed reading peers work and giving them feedback. It has encouraged me as well as given me the confidence to use task-based teaching in my classrooms. Thank you for developing this course!

von Emmanuella B d S C

9. Feb. 2019

I've loved taking this course! My initial intention was to improve my ESP classes, since I work only with reading comprehension, but I've learned so much about using tasks in class that I'm looking forward to start using them with my other students. Thank you very much for providing such an enlightening course!

von Vanessa R

6. Jan. 2020

This is an excellent class because you not only get introduced to things you may not have known about before, but also you get to do hands-on assignments applying the things you're hearing about. It has also given me concrete skills I can use since it's built around having you create your own TBLT activities.

von Tiffany P

3. Juni 2021

As an EFL teacher, one aspect I did not focus on was reading. Showing or giving the students the opportunity to enjoy reading and focused more on the linguistic aspects of English. After taking this course, I look forward to applying what I have learned and hopefully inspire students to read and enjoy it.

von Ria V S

23. Aug. 2021

First of all, I would like to say thank you so much for give me the oppurtunity to join and learn from this course. Also, thank you for coursera to provide this course so I can learn everything from various sources. To every lectures that invole in this course thank you so much and have a blessed life.

von José H G

28. Dez. 2019

Excelente curso de la UCL, aborda en profundidad la lectura como herramienta de aprendizaje y pone en valor su influencia , haciéndonos reflexionar en aspectos de los que no somos conscientes cuando leemos. Recomiendo como imprescindible este curso a los profesores de Inglés y educadores en general.

von Nikolaeva M A

21. Nov. 2020

I've learned new facts about task-based and task-supported teaching that was highly important for me as a teacher. I also prepared several tasks for assessment which I'm planning to use with my students. I'd love to express my deepest gratitude to the course creators for their professional work.

von Kateryna R

4. Okt. 2021

I am thankful to all the instructors and developers of this course for immensely valuable information. I have taken a lot of courses on Coursera, and this one is among the best (if not the best!) in terms of combining theory and practice. All practical tasks were interesting and challenging.

von Nataliia S

29. Nov. 2022

Thank you very much for the possibility to improve my professional skills. Great course, lovely and highly professional lectures, information is detailed and clear, a lot of explanations and examples. Feel empowered and optimistic to know more and more… Thank you and take care.