Chevron Left
Zurück zu Essentials of Global Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Essentials of Global Health von Yale University

4.8
stars
275 Bewertungen
62 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Essentials of Global Health is a comprehensive introduction to global health. It is meant to introduce you to this topic in well-structured, clear and easy to understand ways. Much of the course will focus on five questions: What do people get sick, disabled and die from; Why do they suffer from these conditions? Which people are most affected? Why should we care about such concerns? What can be done to address key health issues, hopefully at least cost, as fast as possible, and in sustainable ways? The course will be global in coverage but with a focus on low- and middle-income countries, the health of the poor, and health disparities. Particular attention will be paid throughout the course to health systems issues, the linkages between health and development, and health matters related to global interdependence. The course will cover key concepts and frameworks but be practical in orientation. ESSENTIALS OF GLOBAL HEALTH WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Course Learning Objectives By the end of the course, learners should be able to: • Articulate key public health concepts related to global health; • Analyze the key issues in global health from a number of perspectives; • Discuss with confidence the burden of disease in various regions of the world; how it varies by sex, age, and location; key risk factors for this burden; and how the disease burden can be addressed in cost-effective ways; • Assess key health disparities, especially as they relate to the health of low-income and marginalized people in low- and middle-income countries; • Outline the key actors and organizations in global health and the manner in which they cooperate to address critical global health concerns; • Review key global health challenges that are likely to arise in the coming decades. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Value Added of the Course The course seeks to add special value by being comprehensive, by handling each topic in a consistent framework, and by helping learners gain an understanding of well grounded approaches to assessing global health issues and what can be done to address them. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- The Readings and other materials for Essentials of Global Health For almost every session of Essentials of Global Health, you will see: - Required readings - Recommended readings - Recommended videos We have selected a small number of readings for each session that are central to understanding the content of the session. We have put these under “required readings”. For each required reading, we have also indicated how carefully you should read the material and on what parts of the material you should focus your attention. In addition, we have selected some additional readings that would be very helpful to your understanding the content of each session. The first is a textbook, Global Health 101, third edition. This is a comprehensive introductory textbook that closely follows the content of this Essentials of Global Health course. We have indicated for each session what part of the book you should read. Using this textbook can be very valuable to your mastering the content of the course. The second set of “recommended readings” is some additional readings, mostly from journal articles and reports. For these, too, we have indicated how carefully you should read the material and on what parts of the material you should focus your attention. Learners should note that to access articles from The Lancet they will have to register with the Lancet, if they do not have online access to a library that has The Lancet. Once they are registered, they will be able to sign into The Lancet and access all of its free articles. We have also indicated for most sessions one or two videos that relate to the topic of the session. These are meant to help the learner get a better feel for the topic which is being covered. Most learners will find the videos brief, easy and enjoyable to watch, and very enlightening....

Top-Bewertungen

MM

Mar 18, 2017

It was one of the best courses I have done on coursera.Also the instructor explains detailed subject matter very well which makes it easier to understand the subject.Certainly a 10\10 for the course !

JQ

Feb 19, 2018

GREAT REVIEW OF SOME INTERESTING AND VITAL ASPECTS OF GLOBAL HEALTH. THANKS, SO MUCH TO THE FOLKS WHO WORKED HARD IN PUTTING ON THIS COURSE AND ALLOWING ME TO TAKE IT GRATIS. DR QUINCY

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 62 Bewertungen für Essentials of Global Health

von aamani

Aug 24, 2018

The course offered a detailed view about general health problems on a broad areas. From the course, we gain experience in some strategic thinking materials to design better health systems and take decisions to improve global health

von Mariama S D

Aug 27, 2018

Essential of Global Health is an interesting and cross cutting course of all aspects of global and public health.

I have learnt amazing issues ranging from what people get sick, disabled, and die from to some topics on communicable and non communicable diseases, and lots more.

Most importantly, it is very crucial for anyone interested in working within the field of global health, especially in low and middle income countries, where the epidemiological transition is growing very high and communicable diseases are also issues of both public and global health concern.

Thank you Professor Scolnik for your efforts in ensuring that we gain up-to-date knowledge and skills in the field of global health.

von Benjamin M V

Dec 05, 2017

This is the BEST course I've ever taken on Coursera! It's very complete, covers a very wide range of topics, has tons of mandatory and additional references for reading, the Prof. is very good at teaching, the visual production and materials are impeccable and the fact that it almost makes you feel like if you were sitting there in the very same classroom is an aspect that other courses should try to implement. It would be awesome if peer reviewed essays were required for this course.

If you want to learn about global and public health, this is the best way to introduce yourself to those topics.

von Peter S

Nov 28, 2017

I cannot praise this course too highly - it is simply superb. The lecturer is brilliant - very knowledgeable, and someone who puts the material across with great clarity and enthusiasm. The 10 weeks are well arranged and providing one works hard, you come away feeling quite an expert on the subject. I have enrolled in quite a few MOOCs over recent years, but this is by far the best.

von Pascal P

Jul 26, 2018

Overall a good course with a very broad coverage of many different topics. However, there were certain things I did not like, such as the bad quizzes (when there was an answer "all of the above" it is almost always the correct one and I didnt even had to read the question.) and the faked conversations between the professor and the students. Not a fan of it.

von Egoabata O

Aug 01, 2017

This course was very informative and easy to follow & understand. I have no background in global or public health but taking this course really helped me understand the topic better and grow m interest in the field. I definitely recommend this course to anyone who has an interest in global health.

von AYSHA S

Oct 28, 2018

This is more informative , convenient and Easily available course That is best in a lot of aspects of life either personal, financial or behavioural life. If ever i would have a similar opportunity to get it i will definitely try to approach it in my first possibility.

von Jonathan G

Feb 22, 2018

learned a lot about global health but it seems a lot of these concepts and trends are a no-brainer. Of course, there is a huge problem with obesity globally, but it doesn't state the obvious about how to fix the problem i.e. getting more exercise, nutrition etc.

von Norma A B H

Feb 28, 2018

Me parece un curso excelente, abarca muy bien el sistema de salud, sin embargo, me gustaría que abarcaran el tema de protección al planeta y cómo afecta económicamente, socialmente, y obviamente en la salud. Gracias, quedo muy satisfecha, y muy enriquecedor.

von Nino G

Jul 07, 2018

One of the best courses I have ever taken. I'm doing MPH at Essex University and Richard Skonlik's "Global Health 101" is the essential reading throughout the first module. This course is very supportive, relevant and essential for health care specialists.

von Marlene S

Jun 04, 2017

Altough the Course was a bit to fundamental for me and my Knowledge, I think it was perfectly outlaid. Everything worked so well - the videos, the reading material, the communication. Thank you very much for that insight.

von Maïmouna D S N

Aug 16, 2018

This course was really interesting. It covers different branches of global to give us a big picture of the matter. The professor was good at explaining and giving various exemples for us to follow. Thank you

von Tipack A

Nov 12, 2017

Its really a fascinating course to be met by all age groups and the knowledge acquired made me to think about various global health issues and their present status and further ways to overcome such issues..!

von Maitreyee

Mar 18, 2017

It was one of the best courses I have done on coursera.Also the instructor explains detailed subject matter very well which makes it easier to understand the subject.Certainly a 10\10 for the course !

von JOHN Q

Feb 19, 2018

GREAT REVIEW OF SOME INTERESTING AND VITAL ASPECTS OF GLOBAL HEALTH. THANKS, SO MUCH TO THE FOLKS WHO WORKED HARD IN PUTTING ON THIS COURSE AND ALLOWING ME TO TAKE IT GRATIS. DR QUINCY

von Cristina B

Sep 20, 2019

This was an excellent course. It gives a very solid understanding of Global Health. Lectures are interesting and interactive, and readings gave an additional layer of knowledge.

von Kanani T M

Mar 09, 2018

I'm a working physician who has done a decent amount of global medical work, and I found this course thorough but to-the-point course and a great introduction to global health.

von Ann M T

May 22, 2018

Thank you for this opportunity. It was very time consuming with work, travel and being ill during this 6 weeks - but I am better for having completed it and thank you!

von 周静ZHOU J

Jan 07, 2017

Through this course I get to know the essentials and the big picture of global health and the most important concepts and actors in this field. Thanks!

von TAMARA O

Oct 25, 2017

Very engaging course. I have gained in-depth knowledge on addressing issues that affect health globally. I recommend this course anytime, anywhere.

.

von Alejandra R H

May 05, 2019

Very professional instructor and helpful videos. Also a great coverage of all the relevant topics concerning global health. Would 100% recommend.

von Dr P B

Aug 02, 2018

Many thanks to Richard Skolnik for preparing this concise and clear course on Essentials of Global Health in collaboration with YALE University.

von Morgan M

Apr 18, 2017

This course is taught in a way that is easy to understand and gives lots of insight and examples to further solidify the knowledge presented.

von Vivian N

Oct 01, 2019

This was such a wonderful course. completed it over a year ago and the insights are still clear in my mind. many thanks to the facilitators.

von Riz

May 12, 2017

The most amazing course i have ever done .It helped me in understanding the basic concept and to use the leaning into implementation phase