Chevron Left
Zurück zu Everyday Parenting: The ABCs of Child Rearing

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Everyday Parenting: The ABCs of Child Rearing von Yale University

4.9
Sterne
871 Bewertungen
304 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Everyday Parenting gives you access to a toolkit of behavior-change techniques that will make your typical day in the home easier as you develop the behaviors you would like to see in your child. The lessons provide step-by-step instructions and demonstrations to improve your course of action with both children and adolescents. Among many techniques, you will learn how even simple modifications to tone of voice and phrasing can lead to more compliance. The course will also shed light on many parenting misconceptions and ineffective strategies that are routinely used. The key to the course is practice. It is not enough to know the strategies; you have to do them to reap the rewards. Using the techniques on a temporary basis will lead to permanent change. Chances are your parenting is perfectly fine and working the way you would like. But if you have any frustrations with your child or would like improve your effectiveness in changing your child’s behavior, these videos will be a very useful guide. Subtitles available in Chinese and Spanish....

Top-Bewertungen

NB

Nov 07, 2019

Such amazing course, it’s useful and joyful to learn all the way through. I love it ! Thank you Coursera make learning easy to learn and share , I see the power of knowledge by E- sharing ! Wonderful!

SB

Oct 13, 2017

This is a must to do course for parents to be, parents and teachers. We need to build physically and mentally strong kids in future for this we need to adapt to these simple steps as per this course.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 302 Bewertungen für Everyday Parenting: The ABCs of Child Rearing

von Alexander A

Feb 25, 2019

Simply put, this course radically improved my relationship with my 3 and 4.5 year old children. Most importantly, it understand them and their needs. Raising children is challenging, even with the skills and strategies and learned and put to use in this course, however, creating positive behaviour has become quite manageable. Do not hesitate to take this course. It is well worth your limited time.

von Edna I D A

Jan 25, 2019

Very useful information. As parents we prepared for birth but nobody told us that the best will come in the next years and we need to learn so many things if we want to give a better enviroment for our children in a stresful context. I practice tools every day and in our case they work, the results happier children and better sleep.

von Puihan J C

Feb 11, 2019

Excellent Course! I think everyone would benefit from learning these behavioral skills. Not just parents, but all adults, anyone who is interested in effective behavioral changes. They are life skills, indeed!

THANK YOU, Dr. Kazdin, for putting this course on Coursera!

von Leung Y M

Apr 11, 2019

The course covers concerns and techniques of child rearing. It was very organized, comprehensive and delivered in such a way that makes it easy to understand. Thank you very much, Professor Kazdin!

von Gregor V

May 18, 2019

Yale Professor is fantastic. ABC system sounds amazing. I am not yet a parent but looking forward to it in the (hopefully) very near future. Thank you all for this amazing opportunity to learn.

von Josephine C

Apr 06, 2020

I really found this course beneficial and have been using the tools and techniques with my 2.5-year old son. Actually, most of the tools can be applied to life in general and it's really made me more aware of my thoughts and what I choose to focus on — focusing on finding positive things to praise or encourage, as opposed to only reacting toward bad things or things that need to be fixed. The latter being ineffective and actually encouraging further bad behavior by giving it attention.

The teacher explains things very clearly and you can tell that he really cares about helping parents learn the most effective ways of shaping child behavior. The stuff he teaches is not just conjecture either, it's based in science and studies that have been done. I particularly like how he covers common misconceptions that parents have as well, as those have allayed some of my own fears.

Thank you for offering this course. It was very well done (my only criticism is that a couple words in the video transcriptions were wrong from time to time) and I enjoyed the 4-week format of it.

von Joseph M

Nov 24, 2017

Sound evidence base. Does not stray far from the basics of operant conditioning but applies them in a way that does not undermine the attachment needs. There are similarities with the skills taught within parent-child interaction therapy. I like the way that it is explained in the videos; clear and concise with a bit of humor. If you are wanting to learn a couple of specific skills that can be applied within lots of very different families this is a very good resource. My only concern would be parents of children with significant emotional regulation problems who become genuinely overwhelmed and parents would need to learn how to step away from the behavioral model and to provide emotional connection and help them regulate. This would be especially true for children with significant attachment difficulties or trauma histories. However, that is not to say that these skills would not be useful in that situation, but additional skills would be needed.

von Anastasiya P

May 21, 2019

I took a course because my 4 years old nephew have regular tantrums and he is not listening to his parents. Being a new parent I was suddenly overwhelmed about handling such a behaviour. Although my baby is only 7 months old, the thought of her being that difficult was scaring me. After taking the course I felt much more confident looking in the future, I have a tools now and I dont feel helpless anymore. I also started to use some of the tools with my nephew and they work magic. The nephew always been very loud and screaming around my baby which scared her. Now everytime we visit them or they come to our house I prompted the behaviour by asking him nicely with a soft tone not scream around the baby. I was surprised how far the prompt can go. It is not perfect yet but it is much better and I feel confident it can get even better.

von Windsor T

Nov 17, 2017

I highly recommend Dr. Kazdin's Everyday Parenting course to all parents and caregivers regardless of the age of the children they support. This course is the crescent wrench of courses in that it fits every one of the good and sometimes nutty parenting styles out there. The tools, techniques and explanations are presented in simple small doses. Every module has an Ah-ha moment. Someone with expertise is going to sharper their skill set and struggling parents will be able to clear some of the white noise that is frustrating for all. By applying more effective parenting methods they may reduce their own stress and have more substantive engagements across their child's developmental journey. -Windsor, step-dad to two boys, Public Health Advisor, Registered Nurse

von Galina Z

Nov 21, 2018

Thank you for the course. It was helpful for me as a parent and a professional teacher. Before starting the course I was an adept of some Russian and European scientific methods that don't allow any punishment at all and just a little praise in general. Dr. Alan E. Kazdin changed my attitude towards the praise and gave me some new concepts for "punishment". My parenting becomes more and more effective with practicing the tools I got from the course of Dr. Alan E. Kazdin. I recommend to read the optional articles, their content complements the videos with more concrete facts, tools and advises. With best regards towards Dr. Kazdin, Yale University and Coursera

von Pratibha B

Nov 27, 2019

I my an owner of a preschool. While I was going through this course, I had started training my teachers what I learnt through it. As teachers started applying 'praise and points/star system' in the class we are able to see noticeable changes in the students. We are still working further.

I can not thank enough for this course. It is truly well structured to learn for any parent or teacher. This course answers almost all the questions considering the various aspects of challenges parents may face.

I am very happy that I have completed this course. Thank you very much for putting so much thoughts and efforts to prepare this course.

von Brett G

Jul 28, 2019

This is a great course. It starts off and seems kind of home cooked with simple graphics and Professor Kazdin a fine gentleman who reminds me of my father. The ideas at first appear as if nothing new but we soon learn that how we implement the ideas is crucial and we are shown clearly how to do this. There is enough detail to show where we might have gone wrong in the past and explanation about why common default setting toward nagging, punishment, criticism don"t work. As I went through the course I appreciated more and more the depth of the professors knowledge and I also enjoyed reading the supplementary material.

von Jeff B

Oct 14, 2019

I was a social worker decades ago, so had quite a lot of training in dealing with children, tweens and teenagers; however, now that I am a parent - struggling at times to develop the needed behavior in our children - so I needed to up my parenting game. This course was well-constructed and presented and covered all the bases I needed.

I HIGHLY recommend this course to all parents and look forward to my spouse completing it as well, cause it's gonna get us onto the same page and help us to help our kiddos to develop the life skills and behavioral patterns that they will surely need to thrive.

von Salar S

May 15, 2018

Absolutely phenomenal course. Going well beyond being just a helpful parenting class, this course is a downright public service to society. Kazdin is incredibly engaging, genuinely cares about the topic, and explains things in a clear, concise, and organized way. Best of all, the material is carefully vetted by years of scientific research, yet takes into account the practical considerations of real life parenting. At home, we call his techniques a "magic wand". I highly encourage parents of children of any age to take this course.

von 罗芳

Apr 07, 2018

Very Practical and easy to apply at home, I am going to ask all my family members and colleges to follow the course, and after the completion of the course, it is very handy for me to go back for the unit and review it again and again, especially after using it and find out it really works. Great course and well designed. Highly appreciated for the reading pieces shared after every unit, I have download all of them one by one and it provides a better background to support the learner for the course.

von Jeannette R

Aug 19, 2018

Thanks! this class provided me with a great guidance as to identify the behaviors I should care to change and those I can tolerate while I focus in others that are relevant. Also, the tools and techniques were explained in a very easy practical way. Now, I need to do the hard part, practice! I am confident I will do much better in helping my child to behave in a positive way and handling situations with a different approach which will reduce my stress and increase the potential for success. :-)

von Yukiko S

Feb 14, 2020

This course was the answer to all the questions about childhood experiences and behavioral issues. I would recommend this course to anyone because the Professor Kazdin teaches the right approaches about all the different methodologies parents tend to take, e.g., the effective punishment that changes the children's behavior, the process to take to keep them motivated, and so on. The course is pretty concise and to the point. Overall the course was very practical and a lot to learn.

von Anghelina

Mar 27, 2020

The best course to helping parents, or nannies as me, to change behavior and help the child to be happy too!! I highly recommend to everyone.

And Professor is the best! 10 stars! Super. He has passion to teach and passion to help families and children. I was motivated since day 1 to the end, and when it finishes I felt sad because I wanted to keep learning! =) Thank you Professor!! I really enjoyed each of the classes and videos =) All super clear!! Muchas Gracias!!

von mae

Oct 02, 2017

Perfect course for everyone not only for parent. I've leant a lot about children and misbelieved about child rearing. This course give me more confident to understand children and their behavior including the 'technique' and 'how to' which simple and easy to adapt into the any situations. The course structure are well planned with basic outline prior to the lecture and summary at the end of each video. Thank you again for all the great work of creator team.

von Amy K

May 03, 2018

Every parent should take this course. Dr. Kazdin teaches you how to use and employ powerful tools afor developing well-adjusted and well-behaved children and young adults. Many parents have the right ideas, but execute their methods ineffectively-- Dr. Kazdin clearly explains the what's, how's, and why's of effective parenting to get parents back on the right track. A few hours with these lectures will save you much time and frustration down the road!

von Ma. F C Y

Aug 20, 2019

Extremely relevant techniques not only for parents but also for teachers and anyone who deals with people -- which means Everyone. Simple, concise and well-organized content that is easy to follow. A professor who is an expert in the field -- so you cannot really ask for a better one.

Actually, I am more of a "starter" on Coursera, which means I start many courses but finish only one or two; and this is the second course I devoured!

von Aaron S

Jun 25, 2018

I thought there was a lot of valuable information.I will keep applying it in me and my child's life .I have seen huge improvement in both of our live's .I wanted to thank you for the opportunity. I have passed the class with a 87.4%.is there any way to get a Pharisaical certificate sent to me from yale that would mean the world to memy address is 211 laurel ST. Shelton WA. 98584 sincerely Aaron Smith

von Hatem A

Feb 07, 2019

The course starts slow with the basics , and how it can be applied in a special way to make them more effective. Then binds different techniques and show how work together. It also addresses the common misconceptions that lead to applying wrong techniques and not adopting the recommended ones.

As advised by the course, results will not come by learning only. Results come with continuous practice.

von Mustafa N

Mar 06, 2018

This is an excellent course which I'd recommend to anyone looking to improve their general outlook on not just children's behaviour, or shaping that behaviour, but also their own behaviour. Thank you Yale University and Coursera for this fantastic course. And thank you Prof. for doing such a good job. I'd like to consider taking any other courses you might be designing or helping to design.

von Tina W

Sep 13, 2019

Dr. Alan E. Kazdin provided such useful application on how to shape and change a child's unwanted behavior. I feel that by attending this course allowed me to become the parent that I've never had. I'm very grateful to be able to attend this course for free, the information are invaluable, and it doesn't just work for children, I think it works for adults too!!