Chevron Left
Zurück zu Evolution Today

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Evolution Today von Universiteit Leiden

4.6
Sterne
143 Bewertungen
39 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course you will learn how evolution works. You will develop an understanding of evolutionary processes and their formative power. You will see how evolution has shaped biodiversity, and continuously influences our daily life. Evolution impacts human endeavors as varied as medicine, agriculture, psychology, economy, and culture. It is the major unifying principle for biology and a fundamental natural law. In five weeks we will make evolution accessible for you and help you to recognize evolutionary processes around you, in nature as well as in society. We make use of the unique collection of Naturalis, the natural history museum in Leiden, but also take you to the field. Using classical and up-to-date examples, we will show you how scientists address evolutionary questions. In the last module, we will have a look at the future. How will humans evolve? And how do we influence our own evolution and that of other organisms? This course is aimed at anybody with a drive to obtain a deeper, broader, and pragmatic understanding of evolution, including high-school students, BSc (undergraduate) biology students, MSc (graduate) students from other disciplines, medical professionals, conservation officers and educators in museums, libraries, national parks, and schools....

Top-Bewertungen

YY

Sep 07, 2017

Excellent course! REALLY informative and the exercise questions are helpful in understanding the concepts!

PM

May 10, 2020

Quite well explained and laid out. A impressive program for understanding the basics of evolution.

Filtern nach:

26 - 39 von 39 Bewertungen für Evolution Today

von Shrikar P M

May 24, 2018

A

M

a

z

I

n

g

c

o

n

t

e

n

t

von 张瑞

Dec 15, 2016

I

von Linda

May 14, 2020

I liked the content in the course and how it progresses from fairly easy to sometimes quite hard to understand/ comprehend it all. I believe I sometimes missed some (maybe common) knowledge concerning the subject; especially later in the course where we went to quite different, yet interesting subjects rather quickly. I would like to delve more in the subject in order to comprehend it all though, which is a good thing. I definitely liked the class of the Stanford professor. In online education (in in real-life face to face classes) you sometimes miss a passionate teacher that is capable of explaining the material in such a way that the student gets passionate about the subject as well.

The only downside is that it's to easy to upgrade your overall grade because you can immediately retry the tests. With not that many answer options available it's hard to not get the required grade when you make the test a second time. But then again, it's not all about testing of course. I feel like I learned a lot on the subject and this makes me a richer person than before. So thanks to the staff of the Leiden University for putting their efforts in creating this course. I'm thinking of purchasing a certificate, not just as kind of a confirmation for me completing the course, but as also as a big thank you (Coursera as well) for making this knowledge available for everyone on this planet (wit a computer or pc and internet that is).

von Francine

Nov 28, 2016

I enjoyed doing this course, however, couldn't get 80% correct in the last quiz, as I didn't quite grasp the DNA part. However, I did this course for fun and am quite content with 77%!!

von Javier M B

Jun 26, 2017

Very interesting course, it's a perfect introduction to evolutionary thinking and you can discover lot of interesting topics.

von Agniya

Aug 12, 2019

Good course. Fascinating facts and valuable observations. It makes you look onto the world with a wider view.

von DC

Apr 30, 2018

Very good course, though the sequencing of aminos in a protein was a bit sadistic.

von johan c

Dec 11, 2016

a very interesting course, but the explanation is slow sometimes.

von Naomi R

Aug 04, 2019

Interesting course, I would like to go deeper in to it

von Joy S

Jan 23, 2017

This course is okay

von Lily A N

Aug 25, 2017

As a whole, this was a decent course; the supplemental materials and discussion forums were very helpful. However, I feel as if the information presented through the videos was very general and somewhat jumbled. Also, the gene coding exercises, while mildly interesting, were incredibly tedious to do. In short, work on adding more challenging/factual information to this course and refining your exercises from tedious to engaging, challenging, and/or interesting.

von Gabriel A P

Oct 03, 2017

No es muy interesante el sector de los aminoacidos.

von matthew s

Mar 16, 2018

This course on evolution is not the best course on evolution I have taken. This is by some margin as well.

It's not that it's a really bad course, it's just it really not structured very well and does not flow. The course content is not explained in fine enough detail.

There are links to resources in the graded exams because, apparently, the place to learn information is not in the lectures but when taking the actual exams.

von Noa B R

Mar 08, 2017

Very unclear in the way it was presented and the subject that are being talked about and not very interesting, partly because it was to easy for me.