Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel von Rice University

4.7
Sterne
8,036 Bewertungen
1,828 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

Top-Bewertungen

SW
25. Mai 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

SS
27. Apr. 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

Filtern nach:

1351 - 1375 von 1,806 Bewertungen für Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel

von Utkarsh B

8. Nov. 2016

good

von shunewsever@outlook.com

18. Okt. 2016

good

von خلدون ع ا 7

11. Jan. 2019

...

von Kiran A

17. Juli 2020

ok

von Dr V K S G

17. Juli 2020

ok

von Won B K

3. Juli 2018

Th

von Hritik S

28. Juli 2020

k

von Abhishek C

28. Juli 2020

5

von Taniwaki R

8. Juli 2020

G

von Tushar B

28. Mai 2020

.

von Mustafa H

6. Apr. 2020

.

von Shantel S

17. Jan. 2020

e

von Lanlan Z

16. Okt. 2018

T

von Martin D

20. Juni 2018

I

von VANESSA S

20. Apr. 2018

M

von Stu

21. Nov. 2017

C

von bethany.wilks@chg.org.uk

30. Juni 2017

V

von Eliso S

20. Apr. 2017

E

von Carol A

24. März 2017

E

von Sahil V V

21. Mai 2020

The course is arranged extremely well and the Instructor has made sure that every point gets through through several examples.

Would definitely recommend the course if you're looking to get a basic/fundamental understanding of making your way around excel.

One issue I faced throughout the course was the worksheets to be downloaded, especially for graded assignments, often had errors in the data types. The 'date' field seemed to be messed up almost always, making it difficult to follow what was being taught. Now, this might be due to differences in the versions of Excel being used, but it is an important point nonetheless.

Wonderful course!

von Susan B d R

3. Nov. 2017

An excellent course. Only negative is that it is hard to remember some of the procedures for such a condensed class that has few practice problems. On each of the first three exams, I only scored 90% because I could not figure out one process. And the T.A.'s, although helpful, were not able to explain what I needed to do correctly to be able to successfully solve those problems. It would be helpful after successfully completing the course to be able to request and receive the answers and procedures for select questions on the weekly quizzes.

von Eileen G

10. Dez. 2020

This course was excellent; however, the download and sorting process in week 1 was very complicated for a new learner. I believe it had to do with the formatting - and no matter what I did, it would not work. There is no way that a beginner at excel would be able to work through Question 5 in week 1. I've been working with Excel for many years and I worked it over and over and came up empty. I'd revisit that question as many, many people had issues with it. For week 1 - that's way too complicated.

von Michelle J

15. Aug. 2017

Excellent course and I definitely learned valuable information. I would like to have more guidance and/or examples regarding when each function would be useful or appropriate and also the limitations of each function (examples of when it could not be used). Also, I would love additional practice - maybe each week could offer (as an option) many additional exercises for those of us who want to further master the skills of that lesson.

von Robert H

11. Sep. 2017

Clear and concise instruction. You learn basic Excel. After completing the first course, it is an open question whether this course and the rest in the specialization is actually worth the monthly fee. Edit: this is a good introduction to the hard skills in Excel required in further courses, but as a standalone Excel course I think there are better options. Nonetheless, as part of the specialization this is well done.

von Pam B

5. Nov. 2017

I learned some significant skills manipulating data in Excel. My only criticism is the quizzes do not test learned skills. They are very discouraging when time after time I cannot achieve the right answer. The lectures need to demonstrate some of the more nuanced skills that are referenced in the quizzes. Other than that, I can honestly say this has been the most enriching course in Excel that I have ever taken.