Chevron Left
Zurück zu Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 von University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
Sterne
3,751 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Top-Bewertungen

MS

26. Jan. 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

MV

18. Jan. 2020

Great course!! For a Part I it introduces you to useful functions and ways to approach different kind of problems. Challenging course but reasonable with low algebra. Exactly what I was looking for.

Filtern nach:

1051 - 1075 von 1,080 Bewertungen für Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

von ThiTTK

23. Juli 2021

good

von Hugo M F N

20. Aug. 2020

Foi

von Ben T

24. Nov. 2021

Great course; would recommend, but it could be better

-Though anyone will benefit, it's not really designed for business folks looking to automate procedures.

-Could improve the production quality: why not use a flowcharting software and then distribute the week's flowcharts in a PDF?

-The quizzes after the screencasts ARE HORRIBLY FORMATTED. Because the quiz is tied to the video, you can only see small snippets of the question. It makes reading very difficult. It would be better to (as other courses have done) put the quizzes after the screencast as a separate section.

-Times are wildly inaccurate. A week may be listed as 4-5 hours, when the end assignment alone will take you 3 hours. If you're really intent on learning well and not being in a hurry, double your time budget.

-I LOVE the difficulty and challenge of the course. However, what I don't like is how uneven it is. The week end assignments, which again I enjoy, are such a step up from the lessons that it's hard not to feel unprepared.

-1-2 page handouts for each week would be great. Sometimes you feel like there's no thread between lessons or very little tying things together. Even a simple summary of what functions / statements / object classes we use that week would be great.

-I'm currently working through the 2nd course, and I'm a little disappointed in how little "meta-learning" there was: in other words, one of the most useful things to me would have been a more thorough review of the object model, the microsoft reference guide, and how to use that resource to tackle novel problems. As it stands, I feel like I don't have a systematic understanding either of VBA itself or how to continue learning VBA. (Admittedly this is a high bar!)

-I wish he would have covered a lot more of the basics: understanding all the parts of the VB Editor window. I still have to figure out what a lot of the windows / options do. Again, it really didn't feel like a very systematic approach.

Once again, thank you Coursera / Professor N., great course!

von Gian-Franco S

21. Nov. 2021

Generally, a great course with interesting videos, good explanations and helpful assignments. Only downgrade is due to the responses in the forum: I've had a question to an assignment because I was stuck there and didn't find any solution, so I posted my question in the forum. I didn't get an answer for more than 2 months now, I even wrote a message to the coursera-support, but they didn't manage to organize me an answer either. So, great course but if you need any help, it's very likely that you must find your answers elsewhere.

von Dakers G

22. Dez. 2020

Here's a key piece of information; the grader functions do not work if they and the completed starter files are not located on your computer's hard drive, and even then some folder locations return a failed message. There is no error checking in the grader function so as a student you don't know if it's your code or the grader that's returning error.

von Samantha G

3. Nov. 2020

There was zero instructor involvement. I am fine with paying for a course as long as it's at least partially interactive. Assign more instructors to courses to answer questions and assist students.

von Richard R

4. Apr. 2020

Section 5 is extremely long and should require more time. the assignments were difficult and unclear at moments. Did not know how to get help from professor.

von Ahmed A A E A

1. Juni 2021

there are n​o material to apply with the instuctor and the course is hard, it should be simplified for the beginners

t​hanks

von Joseph J

13. Aug. 2021

Part 5 was impossible for non-engineers. Maybe I shouldn't have tried it but I attempted to go to the honors.

von OBRIEN E O M

19. Aug. 2021

En lugar de colocar problemas con mucha matematica deberia de profundizar mas en VBA

von Xin R L

19. Juni 2021

The course is challenging for those who have no scientific maths knowledge

von Alvaro D

22. Aug. 2020

Too much emphasis in mathematical issues and too shallow in VBA techniques

von Ryan R

15. Juni 2022

Three stars, 1 star for tests/assignements 5 stars for content 5+1/2

von Alessandro T

4. Aug. 2020

Too many examples on chemical engineering. It should more broad

von Amrane S

25. Okt. 2019

Missing some help when we blocked on the assignement

von Sandra C

4. Juni 2021

T​he excerises should be more practical.

von Osama S

30. Apr. 2021

Week 5 is so difficult to understand

von Janice E W

10. Dez. 2021

Grader files don't work properly so you spend time trying to fix macros when they're already correct. (Files have to be saved to your hard drive, not to anything that OneDrive is syncing or the Grader won't work). Course is not particularly engaging, so no reason to continue forward with likelihood that I'll waste even more time trying to troubleshoot this terrible setup.

von Cody T J C

20. Okt. 2020

Excellent material and learning objectives. -3 stars on clear instructions and support for assignment completion. Hot Tip: Grading file and starter file must be run from your local drive not a cloud linked drive. Plus other issues.

von Joshua L

17. Apr. 2020

I quit taking the course after week 2 because it had very few business applications and was far too math and engineering focused, and there was a lot of assumed knowledge.

von 陈文

14. Mai 2022

too easy, how to unsubscribe this lessson?

von حنان م

21. Okt. 2021

G​ood experience , learned a lot

von Dante W

7. Feb. 2022

Terrible for beginners. Stopped after completing most of Week 1.

I might've missed it, but I didn't think you needed to have a programming background to take this course (if this is true, then none of what I'm about to say applies). Although I love the teacher's passion and dedication, unfortunately he doesn't teach in a way to builds upon fundamentals. He "shows" rather than "teach." It's more like he's showing different things that it can do, rather than build fundamentals and explain the process he's showing. This isn't a value judgement about the instructor, just my experience with the way the course is taught.

The first few sections of Week 1 were fine. Introducing little bits of fundamentals. So far so good, although small moments where I felt a bit of confusion with the extremely elaborate and detailed examples he gave (for example, arguments/parameters in a sub.....how about we get used to even typing out sub a bit more, before we start feeding it parameters?). But by around the 6th video, and definitely the 8th video (Declaration/scope), it goes off the rails. I really don't see how a beginner can follow that; and he goes extremely fast, doesn't explain what he's clicking; just flies through it like he's giving a refresher.

von WOODWARD P

16. März 2022

This course was supposed to be aimed at VBA beginners, with little prior knowledge of excel functions and VBA. The course started well but by week 4 the assessments tested areas that were not covered in the course and the final assessment in week 4 used excel functions and inputs that were totally new and not even discussed or explained. This led me to spend excessive time reading literature and asking for support from colleagues purely to pass the assessment.

I had hoped that this course would be enjoyable and that i would follow up with the next courses to build my knowledge.....i wont be taking any more VBA courses and will opt to read books and get help - the timeline was to tight as I work long hours and have a young family.

if i coud have left zero stars i would have.

von Daija T

4. Feb. 2022

If you are going to do this course, you absolutely cannot use a Mac for it. This is not made clear in the beginning and wastes a lot of time. There is also no communication between the instructor and the class, and the last bit of it was from 3 years ago. If I have questions, they will never be answered.