Chevron Left
Zurück zu Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 von University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
Sterne
3,187 Bewertungen
907 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Top-Bewertungen

MS
26. Jan. 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

MV
18. Jan. 2020

Great course!! For a Part I it introduces you to useful functions and ways to approach different kind of problems. Challenging course but reasonable with low algebra. Exactly what I was looking for.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 905 Bewertungen für Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

von Albert V R

8. Apr. 2018

I have found this course extremely interesting and I have loved week 5 too, which is optional.

I always wanted to learn VBA and I have tried on my own several times but I didn’t succeed. This course has helped me to overcome this initial barrier and know I feel confident to continue learning VBA.

The professor has always been there to help, and I have felt much accompanied in my learning experience.

Highly recommended!

von Eric L

11. Juli 2019

It introduces the concept of VBA very well, I have previously learnt a bit of it and know some programming so it is a bit slow for me but I think for a complete newbie the instructor articulates very well. Also it helps students by introducing the use of flow diagram so it is not just about writing the codes but also have a plan before starting to write the code and I think it helps a lot when things get complicated.

von Babak G

15. Jan. 2019

I found these courses very useful. The courses exceed above and beyond any other online Excel VBA course. The instructor is a university professor who is a subject-matter expert, and explains the course material in a very simple and understandable way. Part three is a project-based course that helps learners use the knowledge gained into real projects and helps solidify the learning. I highly recommend this course.

von Valeria A

9. März 2021

I would highly recommend this course if you're studying chemical engineering or any kind of engineering, it is going to make your career a lot easier. Also the course is carefully done, it really shows than the professor put a lot of time and effort into this. I learned a lot, and I've already put the knowledge in practice, thank you Charlie Nuttelman and the University of Colorado Boulder for this amazing course!

von Yang Y

15. Nov. 2020

Is a little difficult to know exactly what the solution was since it need to be exactly the same column as the answer. i have once put my solution as m column and the grader reject my answer even my code is correctly written. I have to read through the discussion forum to resolve the column a issue instead of column m issue. it would be great if it is written on the assignment itself to notify trainee. thank you.

von Irakli B

14. März 2020

I liked the course very much, it was really informative and great for those who aren't familiar with VBA at all and want to step in this "field", Definitely going to take part 2 and I strongly recommend this course to anyone interested in VBA. One little complaint as the lecturer said himself is that there are fewer financial related cases than I'd like, but it doesn't obstruct the quality of the course at all.

von Oscar F

22. Jan. 2021

Se nota que el profesor pensó en cada posible escenario de cada respuesta, por lo que dá un muy buen feedback cuando uno escoge la respuesta incorrecta en los cuestionarios. Se siente la prescencia del profesor en cada tarea y cada quiz, cada ejercicio tiene un propósito. Los quices parecen fáciles pero las respuestas lo pueden confundir a uno entonces hay que pensarlo muy bien antes de responder. Recomendado.

von Zhiqing L

8. März 2018

I strongly recommend this course to those who have no VBA experience and want to learn VBA. There are lots of VBA websites/forums, but they are not very useful to beginners.

A very good thing of this course is that Dr Charlie is teaching you to think in a "VBA way" to solve a problem, but not just teaching syntax.

I will definitely take part 2 and part 3. Thank Dr Charlie again for providing this VBA course.

von Shreyas S

12. März 2021

Honest review as a Basic Python Programmer:

Initially feels like we won't get enough practice with VBA coding in this course. But to be honest it has exceeded all my expectations and all the programming exercises are mentally stimulating along with MCQs and if taken seriously like a university course, there's a lot to learn definitely.

Prof. Charlie is really a good teacher. Thanks a lot for this course.

von Anam R

7. März 2019

Great course! It taught me so much, really amazed to find the power of VBA and all thanks to the instructor who shared such great knowledge with everyone in the world.

The style of teaching is very simple so beginners can also learn and understand. The pace of course and the way concepts are advanced is also good.

In some videos, audio was slightly low, it could be fixed, but it was not bad.

Thanks a lot!

von Jose A P A

26. Feb. 2021

Es un excelente curso para aprender macros y vba desde un nivel básico a intermedio. Las explicaciones sobre cómo funcionan macros son increíbles y te dan una fuerte base para aprender a programar. El material es muy claro y los videos se ha creado con mucha dedicación. En mi opinión es el mejor curso de Macros que he visto hasta ahora. Con mucho entusiasmo tomaré la parte 2 de esta especialización.

von ngochoa275

20. Apr. 2021

Thank you so much, teacher. I never thought that the computer is so amazing and can do so many think that we want until I take this course. Just one more little thing, sometimes, your explanation is not clear and you passed something that you might think that was simple. But it was not, especially for someone who know nothing in VBA like me, I had to check on google to see what did you mean.

von Paulo S

21. März 2021

The screencasts are very helpful and understandable. Mr. Nuttelman does an excellent job in engaging with the learner and explaining different topics in a simple manner. The quizzes and assignments allow the learner to apply and practice the lessons to ensure understanding and mastery of the lessons. Highly recommended for people who want to get an overview of VBA and its basic applications.

von Toshiaki K

24. Juni 2018

If you get used to Excel, this course is perfectly for you. I am non-native, yet can grasp what the point is clearly in each term. One thing I want to recommend you is to learn the shortcut key combination firmly at first, like Alt+Tab, Alt+F11, Space to start the play, F5/F8 to run or step through, otherwise it might be tough to keep up with its speed in case you rely solely on your mouse.

von shantanu c

24. Juli 2018

I am preparing for masters in Operations Research specializing in Finance. I heard Excel and VBA is still very popular in finance, so I wanted a good reference material to wet my toes. But this course was much more than I thought I wanted to learn and it helped in achieving more than my aspirations through a very well thought out content and assessments. Well done Professor Charlie!!!

von SUJITH K H

10. Juli 2018

Hi,This course is very helpful for beginners in Excel/VBA, you will learn a lot about VBA and excel at a good pace. It helps you to apply this knowledge in real world problems. The examples and assignment given with this course work will be a good hands on experience. I would love to do the subsequent courses with Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving.Thanks,Sujith kumar Haridasan

von Deeparnak B

10. März 2019

This is one of the most useful courses I have done on coursera. I'm now equipped to go ahead and apply the concepts learnt from this course right away. The instruction by Prof. Nuttelman is extremely fluid and easy to follow, even for the most complex concepts presented in this course. This course is highly recommended to anyone who wishes to leverage their excel and VBA skills.

von Vivek K S

31. Aug. 2019

The way tutor explains is very lucid. also the screencasts are ver

The way the instructor explains is very lucid. From week 1 to 4 all screencasts are very helpful. Examples are binded to the concept he explains in the screencast and very helpful for assignment and quizzes. Assignments and quizzes are nicely prepared and not very tough. One last line, Kudos to the instructor.

von Dianadlt

17. Apr. 2020

This is an excellent course everyone should take to understand Excel Macros.

The teacher explains very well and uses many examples that help to better understand each topic.

I highly recommend this course and I am looking forward to taking the following courses.

Thank you so much, teacher Charlie Nuttelman I learned a lot thanks to you.

Greetings from Mexico,

Diana de la Toore

von Diego R M E

20. Feb. 2019

I recommend this course to everyone. The course is really well designed and useful (screencasts, examples, tutorial). Furthermore, Charlie is an excellent teacher.

As a suggestion for making the course even better, it would be interesting to know/understand why the answer is incorrect when the grader tests the assignment and gives us some feedback.

Thank you, Charlie!

von Bruno C F

24. Juni 2020

Wow. It is so awesome to learn something, specially when you have no idea about what you are doing. The course is very friendly and clear. Very goos teacher and if never have heard about VBA ou any programming language don't worry. You'll have success. Now let's start the Week 5 (optional) and after that Part2 and 3. See you there.

Get start. what are you waiting for?

von Izabela K

5. Apr. 2020

One of the best courses here on Coursera. Lecturer provides explanation and practical tips during each lesson, projects are great and each one is verified with premade tool (usually I encounter peer graded assignments but they may not be objective, other students may give points anyway).

Moreover I don't like Excel (I prefer Python) but this course was real pleasure!

von Rebeca F O

18. Juli 2020

I'm really happy with this course and the teacher. I honestly learned a lot and there are very interesting tools that I think everyone should learn or at least improve them if you already know how to use Excel. Even if the week 5 is optional, I recommend you to finish this course completely because in week 5 you're going to learn some amazing and very useful tools!

von Sherly C

13. Juli 2020

Content is clear and easy to follow. I liked all the examples. I do think that someone without any Excel background may struggle a bit. The only challenge, on my part, was getting support on submitting assignments. That needs to be simplified or students need to be warned of compatibility issues from the start to reduce frustration. I am looking forward to part 2.

von Yingli W

19. Aug. 2018

I would highly recommend this course to my friends! The course introduce several basic concepts and gradually some practical and advanced applications. The quiz and assignments might not be as difficult as the lessons are (my opinion only). And the mentors as well as professors are eager to help you in the discussion forum, which is really helpful.