Chevron Left
Zurück zu Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 von University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
Sterne
2,336 Bewertungen
655 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Top-Bewertungen

MS

Jan 27, 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

PP

Apr 19, 2020

The pattern of course is really nice.It first teaches all the basic information in video and the assignments are designed in a way that all the taught information are used to solve the assignment.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 659 Bewertungen für Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

von Sucheta H

Sep 04, 2019

I found course useful for learning the basics of Excel VBA. I had written few macros before taking up this course by referring to the various online help forums. But, I wanted to formally learn the the VBA language. Hence, I took up this course and it was useful.

von Víctor A M G

Aug 17, 2019

Great program, really helped me understand VBA programming. My whole carrer, I was reluctant to learn VBA programming, because it seemed very difficult to understand. With this course, all those prejudices went away. I inted to continue with the next course of VBA

von Nikolas G

May 28, 2020

I coudn't believe how many problems you can solve with VBA. This is an excellent course and the professor extremely motivated ,clear and helpful and has organised the material of the course perfectly in my opinion. I will suggest this course to all of my friends.

von Eviatar S

Aug 01, 2020

Effective coverage of VBA for me (a complete newbie started with VBA) but with coding experience in other computer languages. Clear delivery of webcasts and real-world engineering examples are very useful. I feed confident jumping into Excel VBA programming now!

von Ana R

Oct 17, 2019

Course with (i) an excellent organization (starts with the basics and evolves to more advanced topics); (ii) easy to follow videos (concise instructor with practical examples); and (iii) challenging quizzes and assignments, that apply VBA to real world problems.

von Lan A T

Sep 13, 2018

Charlie will walk you through the most basic things, from defining variables to debugging if something goes wrong with your codes. He also teaches how to think logically and how to make sure you include all possible scenarios. Highly recommended for beginners

von Srivaths J

Aug 11, 2020

It was an excellent course with hands-on experience with Excel VBA. If you are thinking about taking this course, I can strongly say that one can go with this right away without any prerequisites. It was super fun learning this. Prof Charlie did a great job!

von Tyler H

Feb 04, 2020

For beginner who are not familiar with programming, this is a good opportunity to understand and explore through Excel VBA. I recommend it not only for such a solid work in course design but also the confidence build-up during the process of problem solving.

von Erikos

Nov 17, 2019

Very helpful and interesting course, mostly due to great teacher! I applied this knowledge (Do..Loop, For...Next) in my business valuation models to solve the issue with circular reference in financial statements. Will sign up for the second part definitely!

von Nadezhda K

Aug 04, 2019

Amazing course! Unlike a lot of the online classes this one was challenging allowing for a better and more permanent understanding. At times, I feel like some computer science background is necessary to understand all things but you can manage without too.

von Kunal K K

Apr 19, 2020

Course has been designed really well. Concepts are explained in ample depth and clarity. The quizzes and assignments provide the perfect opportunity to apply the assimilated concepts, commit errors and learn how to fix them. Thoroughly enjoyed the course.

von Brad H

Dec 31, 2017

Great class for learning VBA basics. The lessons were well taught and moved along at a comfortable pace. I came in with no VBA experience, and was able to follow along without problem and complete the entire course. I'll definitely be taking Part 2.

von OLIVER M I

May 14, 2020

The course was difficult a few times as I haven't had to do some of the math manipulation in nearly 30 years. I appreciate that my boss gave me the opportunity to take this class, and I look forward to taking the next two courses in this specialization.

von Morufu A A

Dec 26, 2018

This course was very tasking and interesting. I almost gave up at the middle but was determined to finish it. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to dig into Excel VBA. This course is rich in content. Thank you Charlie. Thank you Coursera.

von Deoras P

Mar 16, 2020

Well organized course. Recommended for those who want to leverage the power of VBA while working with Excel. It would take about 2-3 hrs per week. If you have any prior programming experience, then you will find the Week 5 material fun to work through.

von George W

May 06, 2018

This course got me started quickly in understanding VBA for Excel and coding subroutines and functions with the first lecture. I had tried self-teaching by purchasing a book and got discouraged, but Charlie's screencasts and examples are very helpful!

von Anna H

Nov 15, 2019

Loved this course! It is very well-structured and the concepts are easy to understand. What I like the most is that the course it truly hands-on - I was able to implement the tools & techniques right away to optimize my workflow. Highly recommended!

von vaibhav m g

Aug 10, 2019

This course is very interesting and helpful if you dont know anything about macros. This really hepls in Building base for studying macros further. This also helps you to write your own small macros for excel.

The assignments are also very interesting

von Kennie N H

Oct 23, 2018

I think the course did a good job introducing VBA, and the optional week 5 was surely worth doing! It not only taught you a few new methods, but it provides you with the opportunity to create a workbook automating calculations with ease for a user.

von Gabriel F d S

Aug 04, 2020

Curso é muito bom para quem não tem nenhum conhecimento sobre VBA. Acredito que os vídeos e os exercícios são verdadeiramente didáticos e nos deixam curiosos para aprender mais a todo o tempo. A qualidade dos áudio e imagem também é muito bom.

von Danilo F d A

Jul 31, 2020

It's a fantastic way of entering VBA programming even if you are not familiar at all, as it was my case. I recommend to anyone who wants to start using this tool as well as to anyone who wants to learn smarter ways to solve problems with it.

von Mayank J

Jun 09, 2020

One of the few courses that really make you work on the learning part with the innovative assignment submission. Kudos to the Instructor. I really enjoyed the course as well as the assignments and it was certainly a useful learning for me.

von Marshall S

Oct 11, 2019

great class and great instruciton.

some of the quizzes overly complicate things, and some of the ways to demosntrate functions and subs are not conducive to understanding though (i.e. swapping cell values is simple but not really practical)

von Jennifer F

Sep 13, 2019

Great course with many instructor led examples and explanations to provide the necessary building blocks to begin developing useful code. The assignments were challenging to ensure understanding of the critical concepts. Thanks, Charlie!

von Yash L

May 05, 2020

Excellent course. This was my first try at anything related to coding and I found it super helpful. Thank you very much Prof. Charlie and coursera for creating such an interactive learning content. Looking forward to Part 2 of the course.