Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fashion as Design

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fashion as Design von The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
Sterne
1,217 Bewertungen
309 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Top-Bewertungen

MP

May 16, 2020

Excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommended it to many. I am a mature student ( 55) and after this, I really feel I want to study a masters in fashion sustainability. Thanks for inspiring me.

CR

Dec 02, 2019

Highly practical and ambitious material challenging us to think about the current landscape of fashion, as well as the future, and how we can improve the the industry with sustainable practices.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 317 Bewertungen für Fashion as Design

von Antonia A B

Apr 09, 2018

This course is excellently taught and very engaging, I have enjoyed it immensely and cant wait to do further courses produced by MOMA! Great course, I would highly recommend it :)

von Ritta

Jan 31, 2018

I really recommend everyone to take this course! I have learned so much throughout these 7 weeks and I now have a different perception about many different things! Thank you

von Imogen B

Oct 02, 2019

Although I found most of what was featured in the course interesting, and it allowed me to approach fashion from a more academic perspective for the first time, I feel there are some areas where it falls short slightly. Due to the course being based on an exhibition, I sometimes felt as though I wasn't really exploring the topic as much as I would have liked, as if I was just paying to go through the exhibition, rather than through a course. The way that everything was peer-assessed and reviewed is, while a good idea, sometimes a bit irritating as I would spend lots of time and effort forming a (hopefully!) insightful reflection, and would look at other people's submissions to see one-word answers. It felt a bit strange that I ended up getting the same certificate from the course as another person despite putting in a lot more effort. I would have liked my thoughts (or at least the final essay) to be seen by a professional, so I could actually improve my writing skills and knowledge of fashion. However, I fully understand that it would really be impossible to allow this for the thousands of people taking the course- I think this may be more of a flaw with my expectations rather than one of the course itself. I also thought there was a slight disconnect between the nature of the course week-by-week and the final essay. The multiple choice knowledge questions, quizzing us on dates and names doesn't match up to the final essay, which was very self-reflective and quite subjective in nature.

von Carmen S

Oct 22, 2018

The information presented is good, I especially enjoyed the footage from presentations held at MoMa. Unfortunately, every week ends the same when it comes to the reflective stage (same questions, pretty generic) and I feel this steals us from the possibility to better internalize the information.

von Anastasija L

May 13, 2019

The course is very interesting for those, who is connected to the fashion industry in one way or another. However I expected to have more information about life-circle of clothes: how it is produced, what exactly happens after an item is thrown away etc.

von Pallabi S

Aug 31, 2018

It would really help if the professors themselves could review our subjective assignments.

von Vani V

Nov 12, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. It opened my thoughts and provide a lots of new inspiration. I always wanted to learn about fashion and what goes into garment making. It was great to hear from so many different speakers and their experiences. It shows how people view what you wear and what message we send to others. Fashion can be bold, can be subtle but to make it who we are as a human being is truly liberating.

von Deborah G

Nov 26, 2019

Brilliant course. Eye - opening. It gave me the language to describe some of my views on fashion which I never even knew existed. Looking forward to more fashion courses from MoMA!

von Mage I

Apr 17, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. I love the facts and new things I have learned about garments and items that I use in my every day life but also other objects from other cultures.

von Melody L

Jun 28, 2018

Highly recommend this course to anyone! It provided me with a new way to view my own wardrobe, pick my outfits, and evaluate how my subconscious notions towards articles of clothing are shaped. Although there is a huge emphasis on sustainability in fashion schools, tracing the history of fashion provides insight in how to spread awareness of sustainability surrounding fashion to the general public.

von Mariella F

Sep 30, 2019

This course is so informative for ANYONE who's interested in Fashion, whether you're a professional in the field or an amateur fan like me. I enjoyed every weekly course. I'm now returning to NYC to hopefully visit the MoMA and look at their collection through this research team's eye and with the knowledge I've acquired during these month and a half.

von Candace R

Dec 02, 2019

Highly practical and ambitious material challenging us to think about the current landscape of fashion, as well as the future, and how we can improve the the industry with sustainable practices.

von Maria V L E

Jul 16, 2019

This course was an amazing experience. Every lecture, every video an the interviews were like complements to my past knowledge about fashion. Thanks to MoMa and Coursera!

von Harini H

Apr 07, 2019

Thank you Fashion as Design team for creating this wonderful course! I have learned so many new things and increased my awareness of the true cost of fashion. I had no idea fashion was the second most polluting industry in the world, that it consumed so much energy and water and how it contributed to climate change and water pollution. I had stopped buying clothes for a while now because I have enough for my needs but if and when I do need something new I'm only going to buy second-hand clothing because I cannot in good conscience purchase anything new knowing the terrible social and environmental impact it has on the world. This course has completely changed how I look at fashion and what I will purchase in future. I love everything I own but now I value and appreciate them so much more. I did not know that you could grow your own clothes and that was such a cool thing to learn about. It's wonderful to know that sustainable alternatives to non-recyclable textiles and animal-derived leather is being produced. I loved the merging of technology with fashion as seen in Asher Levine's biker jacket prototype. All in all, this was an amazing course.

von Carol-Anne R

Dec 04, 2017

This was a wonderful overview of fashion and clothing. I was not aware of so much information behind what I wear and choose not to wear. Fashion as Design is the course everyone should start with regardless of their career course or interests. Clothing we all wear, and what it is, why we wear, who designs, creates, recreates, where it comes from before it reaches us, and how we fit into the tapestry of what clothing is, should be learned by everyone.

I would love to continue with courses like this course and learn more about other types of design like textile design, furniture or houses.

Thank you to Paola Antonelli, Michelle Millar Fisher, Stephanie Kramer, and all the other students of the course. I learned so much from you all. I hope to one day return the gift. Be well, and be creative.

von Isabel C O I

Jan 27, 2020

I had high expectative in this course. It has fulfilled my expectations completely, but not only that, I have found what I was looking for and more; an amazing perspective about clothes and their history and the future of garment. Connections with some garments and culture that I didn't know that exist. I have started to understand High Couture somehow, which I used to think about like What is this supposed to be created for?. I am very thankful to Paola Antonelli, Michelle Millar Fisher, Stephanie Kramer and Anna Burckhardt for these amazing course and the rest of the people who made this course posible. Maybe one day I could watch at my wardrobe and Identify my personal 111(or less) Items and be proud and know everything about them and about why do I want to be wearing that.

Thank you!

von Daniel F F

Apr 11, 2020

I began the course thinking would be just focused in aesthetic, I always saw fashion and art together but but separeted of the politic or not with the same conotation until this course, like separeted pieces but after this course I can more clearly that we are all connected in different ways to think, to buy, to build, o create, to pay and the impacts of any decision for the rest of the world. Im really impressed and proud of the content.

von SANDRA A

Dec 04, 2018

Muy contenta, me ha encantado y muy agradecida por comprender la moda y sus orígenes históricos profundos , que bueno sería poder encontrar formaciones relacionados en temas a la moda sostenible, textiles sostenibles, emprendimientos de marca en moda sostenible .. Gracias por esta maravillosa oportunidad.

von Mariela R

Feb 25, 2018

I really loved this course. I've learned so much about some items that I didn't have any idea. It's great to see the other side of fashion, that one that it is not the one we are used to. The course reveals the social side of fashion, fashion as an expression, as a weapon to survive, as a cultural tool.

von Anca

Apr 17, 2020

This was a great course - interactive, with stories that make concepts easy to understand and memorise. It changed the way I looked at fashion and now I'm more aware not only at my fashion choices, but on how they influence the environment and people around the globe.

von Jeanneth J

Apr 17, 2020

Excellent course. It expanded my knowledge on how art and fashion are intertwined. Most importantly it helped me see the possibilities in sustainability in the fashion industry and the environmental footprint fashion creates

von Maryhelen R

May 06, 2018

Excellent introduction to the world of fashion -- its history, designers, their design motivations and philosophies. This is done through readings, interviews and videos highlighting a wide range of selected garments and accessories. Many important themes such as heroes, expression, modesty, silhouettes and couture are covered in conjunction with the items. More information on the items items discussed can be found in the exhibition catalog, Items: Is Fashion Modern? which is written by two of the instructors, Paola Antonelli and Michelle Millar Fisher (Museum of Modern Art, New York, 2018). If you are a serious student of fashion or one who is just beginning to explore its complexities, this catalog is an terrific addition to your library

von Yovani D V

May 25, 2020

Thank you for opening up a broader picture of fashion design, many times when you talk about "fashion" you only think about what is trend during the summer or fall, or why you visit outdated. Actually, the course taught me to have a more artistic perspective on the course, a provider of my knowledge from the origin of fashion, the meaning of the garments, the identities they have, their meaning and their enormous potential expression. The course has changed my thinking about fashion design, in which I now see it more deeply and give it the respect it deserves like all art.

von Hites K

Mar 31, 2020

[‎04‎:‎09‎ ‎PM, ‎31‎/‎03‎/‎2020] Hites: Fashion is a one way to show own interpretations on front the society as designer ideology ...

Like when designer inspired by nature they want to our strength & power of our nature.

So this types of ideology to show stories so here

[‎04‎:‎27‎ ‎PM, ‎31‎/‎03‎/‎2020] Hites: As per mine Coursera is a one good way to explore so many thing from fashion industry... Here I know so many new things regarding to fashion ... So I'm very glad to do this course

von Aleksandra S

May 07, 2020

The Fashion as Design course, with its abundance of learning materials, has shifted the way I perceive fashion as a whole. It has made me compartmentalize the garments and focus on individual pieces, forcing me to analyze my own closet, my daily approach to the way I shop, I treat my garments and it definitely changed my outlook on the lifecycle, responsibility and ethics so undeniably linked to the fashion world nowadays, the design, the production, the materials choice and the disposability.