Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fashion as Design

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fashion as Design von The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
Sterne
1,978 Bewertungen
494 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Top-Bewertungen

SA

May 28, 2020

I would highly recommend this course for someone passionate about the industry. It's an Insightful course too deepen inside the fashion world, through history, identity, sustainability, and much more.

MP

May 16, 2020

Excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommended it to many. I am a mature student ( 55) and after this, I really feel I want to study a masters in fashion sustainability. Thanks for inspiring me.

Filtern nach:

451 - 475 von 493 Bewertungen für Fashion as Design

von Pedro O V

Nov 20, 2017

Nice selection of garments as examples and discussion points. Excellent points made through the whole course as to the modern discussions happening in the fashion world. Good introduction into thinking about fashion as a design discipline.

von Sarah V C R

Jul 20, 2020

I really enjoyed learning about the history of clothes and other items which are so familiar to us nowadays, but that have been considered a scandal or inappropriate in the past. The videos were my favorite part of the course.

von lynette m

Mar 13, 2020

Interesting if uneven coverage of the concept. The design element got lost almost entirely. The idea got away from the original premise, but this is not surprising given the enormity of the undertaking. Fun, but underwhelming.

von Cintia M

Apr 30, 2020

These weeks have contribute to my knowledge in fashion history. It as also helped me to appreciate way more each piece of garment and from know on, I'll keep researching on the course themes. Thanks!

von Kristal F

Jun 28, 2020

Gives an in depth view to the exhibition's items and their history- leaving you with a changed perspective on your own wardrobe, however, there is a big focus on the exhibition's items only

von 刘春燕

Jan 22, 2018

It is an interesting course which you can know the history and shift of meanings of fashion items. I really learn a lot through it.

von Athena I

Jun 24, 2020

I am not a person who likes to read a lot so I'd like more video and less reading. But that's still an amazing course thank you.

von Mohd R

May 31, 2020

I am thankful to the Fashion as design team I really want to appreciate All and thanks Coursera to provide us like this course's

von Roberto V

Apr 28, 2020

Great insights about iconic pieces of fashion and their connection with humanity - yesterday, today, and tomorrow!

von Luana G

May 23, 2020

Very interesting and well-built. Got to know many things I didn't imagine about lifecycle and history of clothes!

von Maureen S

Jun 18, 2020

wonderful course that has taught me the history of fashion and made me understand the stories behind fashion

von Yade r

Apr 24, 2020

i really had good experience learning fashion as design . it really add values to my wardrobe .

von veenamadhuri

May 22, 2018

i really got to know what are deep wonderful things that we never see in designs and clothes.

von Ayisha L

Apr 21, 2020

It changed the way I viewed fashion and has instilled a sense of sustainable responsibility.

von Olesya M

Mar 25, 2019

Made me think about fashion in a different light. There is so much more than meets the eye.

von Blessing E

Jul 27, 2020

well organized and easy to learn course. Thanks to all the organizers of this course.

von Joy S

Jan 14, 2018

interesting. Has a lot of reading and you need to read it or you won't pass quizzes.

von Bárbara I

Apr 19, 2020

Gracias, necesito saber como adquiero el certifcado.

von Radhvi K

Jun 24, 2019

just understood, Fashion with different eyes..!

von Eden R

Apr 18, 2020

Interesting, inspiring and recommendable.

von cat j

Apr 04, 2018

nicely made. great extra material

von THAMINA A P

Jul 01, 2020

It was an amazing course

von Connie Y

Jan 12, 2018

Good but a bit easy.

von Dhivya. J

May 11, 2020

It was very nice