Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fashion as Design

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fashion as Design von The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
Sterne
1,217 Bewertungen
309 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Top-Bewertungen

MP

May 16, 2020

Excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommended it to many. I am a mature student ( 55) and after this, I really feel I want to study a masters in fashion sustainability. Thanks for inspiring me.

CR

Dec 02, 2019

Highly practical and ambitious material challenging us to think about the current landscape of fashion, as well as the future, and how we can improve the the industry with sustainable practices.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 315 Bewertungen für Fashion as Design

von Yukiko S

Feb 14, 2020

Fashion as Design course from MoMA was such a wonderful learning experience. The course challenges the learners about the deeper knowledge of fashion from design perspective and the passion for it. This made me feel like I was one of the learners at the lectures in the video which helped me to concentrate on the learning itself rather than anything else like taking the certificate or experiencing an online course. The wide variety of topics kept me highly motivated.

von Власова В В

Mar 10, 2019

Thank you for such an amazing and informative course. I'm not sure that I would have learned so many details, interesting facts, meanings and role of fashion, if I had not enrolled in a course "Fashion as design". You opened my eyes to what fashion items depict and what revolutionary role they carried in their time. But most importantly you made me notice the environmental issues and rethink my way of consumption. Thanks again!

von Pooja k

Mar 19, 2019

The course was an eye opener to the fashion world. I learned the history behind each trend which we follow till date . It was a great platform to explore the world of garments, fabrics , trends ,style . From day to day turtle necks and jeans to bespoke couture, the course gave an insight to everything. Thank you mentors and team of course era for giving me the opportunity to gain knowledge and grow .

von Anna M

May 08, 2020

The course has a good selection of Fashion Items from the exhibition that are either iconic or known otherwise. The material covers a wide range of items, some in more detail, others just touched and provides external additional reading resources. What was important for me - the course also touches the aspect of required mindset change for circular fashion.

von Chen L

Nov 20, 2018

This course is very informative and educational. It exposed me to the histories of different iconic fashion garments, as well as the reality of the fashion industry. It made me think hard on what kind of life style I would like to lead in the future concerning my fashion choices and reflect on what kind of impacts my actions so far have already imposed.

von Helena K

Jan 07, 2019

This course is just excellent! I already knew that MoMa has a great archive and produces greatly curated work but the way this course is put together is fascinatingly interesting not only for fashion and design lovers like myself but also for people interested in learning about contemporary culture and modern history. Definitely a 5 star worth course!

von Maria F

May 16, 2020

Wonderful course, very complete with respect to the mentioned garments, it is very nice to take the time to interview designers and to be able to understand their point of view, which inspired them, their methods, it is fascinating. I highly recommend it if you want to learn a little more about the origins, changes and where a garment could go.

von Vagisha A

May 23, 2020

Even if you are not related to the fashion industry , this course is excellent as it dwells to the history and the timeline of items that we daily were like hoodie, sneakers, little black dress etc along with providing an insight into new technologies like the 3D dress.

It is such a fun course that you wouldn't want it to end .

von ERIKA C R

Oct 27, 2019

More than the theme of "Fashion" or "Haute Couture", I think the important thing is the socialism behind the story, behind the designers, the influence through the garments in our society; which is the important point of view to understand our natural psychology ... this course exceeded my expectations. Thanks to MoMa.

von Alba R M G

Dec 22, 2017

I loved the course, it is an incredible experience, I learned to observe the rpa and the accessories from other perspectives, analyzing their history and the reason for their creation.

I also learned a lot in relation to sustainable productions, to think more about the future and the environment.

Thank you.

von Lillian S

Feb 10, 2018

Thank for the opportunity to participate in this course, it was well developed and organized. I learned so much about the history of specific clothing items and have become more conscious about the apparel process. I hope to see more classes with this team in the future!

Sincerely,

Lillian Sharpley

von Andrea S G

May 03, 2018

Me encantó el curso, el material informativo es de primer nivel. Estoy muy contenta con todo lo realizado estas semanas!!! Felicito a Coursera y al MoMA el haber incluido este curso que no sólo habla de Fashion sino de historia y conciencia a la hora de elegir una prenda de vestir. Maravilloso.

von Andrea D

Nov 03, 2017

Incredibly fascinating, I really feel as though I learned a lot about the fashion industry, and about myself as well. I thoroughly enjoyed my course, and I think a lot of what I learned here will continue to influence and my consumption of clothes, as well as how I perceive fashion in general.

von Anamaria C F

Apr 26, 2020

Un curso muy bien estructurado con material video, lecturas y referencias. Interacción con otros alumnos, ejercicios de conocimientos y proyecto final para revisar el aprendizaje. Muy útil para los que trabajamos en el sector Retail y para los amantes de la moda y historia de la misma.

von Sharon L

Apr 04, 2018

This was a fantastic cours interesting especially if you are thinking of becoming a manager in a retail store. Designers interested in fashion and design.Lot's of information on well known designers,fashion identity and culture history. Fun information on 3D printing and so much more.

von Karolina S

Sep 26, 2018

I highly recommend this course if you are interested in fashion and/or design. I learned a lot about its history and theory. The course changed my perspective on fashion and its issues. It also let me think of new ideas for projects and designs in my university and individual work.

von Itxazne A

Mar 04, 2019

I am so glad I have joined this wonderful course. My knowledge of fashion has considerably improved, specially when it comes to the social circummstances in which these iconic items were conveived. I recommend it to eveyone looking for a deeper insight in the last decades design.

von Cristina M

Apr 26, 2020

I loved this course, it was maybe for the first time when I never got bored of the contentent and when I couldn't wait to log in and study more. All the themes have such a good content easy to digest, straight to the point. Thank you ladies for putting all this together for us!

von Chantal M

May 06, 2018

This was an incredible course! I learned so much about the evolution of fashion and how the industry has grown and developed over the past century. It is incredibly well taught, and the videos give you a visual sense of what it is that you're learning. I would highly recommend!

von YING X

Apr 15, 2020

It is a great course for beginners. By use dozens of items which were important to the history of fashion, this course was able to introduce and articulate some essential concepts to the learner. The structure of the course is very clear and content is very informative.

von nicole v

May 22, 2020

Insightful course four anyone working in fashion but specially for Fashion Designers and Fashion Design Students. Gives a lot of background about well known fashion items. I learned a lot new things I didn't know and my view on certain items definitely changed. Thanks!

von Jayne E L

Aug 30, 2019

This class is more than what I expected. It is so interesting, and actually life changing. I find myself sharing the information I learned, especially the impact clothing has on the environment, but also it’s history. Fascinating. Thank you for such an excellent class.

von Yhara Z

Feb 21, 2020

This is an excellent course. I have learned so many new concepts and my perception of the fashion industry have changed through this class. I am definitely more aware about the kind of clothing I am wearing and will be more careful with new purchases. Thank you MoMA

von Sharmin S

May 15, 2020

I recommend this course to all the fashion and design lovers. The best part of the course is each week you have a theme to learn and a discussion forum where you share your thoughts.

"Fashion is the armor to survive the reality of everyday life." —Bill Cunningham

von Gabrielle S R

May 29, 2018

This course is very informative and I highly recommend it to anyone who is considering a career anywhere in the fashion industry. The course is structured and the readings and videos complement each other wonderfully. You will not be disappointed in this course!