Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fashion as Design

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fashion as Design von The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
Sterne
2,134 Bewertungen
538 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Top-Bewertungen

SA

May 28, 2020

I would highly recommend this course for someone passionate about the industry. It's an Insightful course too deepen inside the fashion world, through history, identity, sustainability, and much more.

MP

May 16, 2020

Excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommended it to many. I am a mature student ( 55) and after this, I really feel I want to study a masters in fashion sustainability. Thanks for inspiring me.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 537 Bewertungen für Fashion as Design

von Alexandra D

May 29, 2020

I have to say the course was very enlightening and inspiring. MoMA is offering a great opportunity for anyone that is interested in learning more about fashion, what clothes stand for, how they are used, what they are meant for, how they are worn, how they are made and what is their impact in the world. For me it is worth the time and effort!

von Гребнева А С

May 28, 2020

Thank you to the teachers and staff who participated in the preparation of the program of this course for such an interesting and entertaining selection of topics. I did not miss a single minute while I was taking the course "Fashion and design". It was great! And I am happy that I have expanded my horizons and gained new knowledge.

von Nivetha S

May 29, 2020

Hi..I am always wanted to new things. In this course l have learnt about what we are wearing and why we wearing it and what it means and it changed my view about many things. I really like this course. Coursera content about fashoin as design course is exceed my expectations. Actually this course is really reflect on my wardrobe.

von Vagisha A

May 23, 2020

Even if you are not related to the fashion industry , this course is excellent as it dwells to the history and the timeline of items that we daily were like hoodie, sneakers, little black dress etc along with providing an insight into new technologies like the 3D dress.

It is such a fun course that you wouldn't want it to end .

von Laura G

Aug 28, 2020

Truly a creative insight into iconic fashion statements and clothing necessities. I particularly enjoyed the themes which dealt with sustainability and the frank discussions around the impact of fast fashion and consumerism on the environment and the people employed in these apparel factories working under unfair conditions.

von ERIKA C R

Oct 27, 2019

More than the theme of "Fashion" or "Haute Couture", I think the important thing is the socialism behind the story, behind the designers, the influence through the garments in our society; which is the important point of view to understand our natural psychology ... this course exceeded my expectations. Thanks to MoMa.

von Aditya M

Aug 16, 2020

Very Informative and a diverse course

It became a bit boring towards the end as i had my online school assignments and later it became a challenge to complete

but it was good.

My advice " Do not Procrastinate, finish the course in time".

Thank You, Paola Antonelli and Bruce (Coursera customer service, email help).

von Alba R M G

Dec 22, 2017

I loved the course, it is an incredible experience, I learned to observe the rpa and the accessories from other perspectives, analyzing their history and the reason for their creation.

I also learned a lot in relation to sustainable productions, to think more about the future and the environment.

Thank you.

von Elizabeth M

Jun 13, 2020

Excellent course. I have learned a lot and would to enrol for another one like this from MoMo or any other institution. the tutors gave us a lot of information and our knowledge of fashion and the fashion and design worlds has increased enormously. the readings were also excellent. Super course

von Lillian S

Feb 10, 2018

Thank for the opportunity to participate in this course, it was well developed and organized. I learned so much about the history of specific clothing items and have become more conscious about the apparel process. I hope to see more classes with this team in the future!

Sincerely,

Lillian Sharpley

von Andrea S G

May 03, 2018

Me encantó el curso, el material informativo es de primer nivel. Estoy muy contenta con todo lo realizado estas semanas!!! Felicito a Coursera y al MoMA el haber incluido este curso que no sólo habla de Fashion sino de historia y conciencia a la hora de elegir una prenda de vestir. Maravilloso.

von Andrea D

Nov 03, 2017

Incredibly fascinating, I really feel as though I learned a lot about the fashion industry, and about myself as well. I thoroughly enjoyed my course, and I think a lot of what I learned here will continue to influence and my consumption of clothes, as well as how I perceive fashion in general.

von Anamaria C F

Apr 26, 2020

Un curso muy bien estructurado con material video, lecturas y referencias. Interacción con otros alumnos, ejercicios de conocimientos y proyecto final para revisar el aprendizaje. Muy útil para los que trabajamos en el sector Retail y para los amantes de la moda y historia de la misma.

von Sharon L

Apr 04, 2018

This was a fantastic cours interesting especially if you are thinking of becoming a manager in a retail store. Designers interested in fashion and design.Lot's of information on well known designers,fashion identity and culture history. Fun information on 3D printing and so much more.

von Jeanne A C

Aug 10, 2020

This course has taught me to look at fashion - its history, its couturiers, its ongoing issues regarding labour practices, sustainability and cultural appropriation - with a deeper, wider perspective. It is both interesting and extremely enriching. I highly recommend this course.

von Karolina S

Sep 26, 2018

I highly recommend this course if you are interested in fashion and/or design. I learned a lot about its history and theory. The course changed my perspective on fashion and its issues. It also let me think of new ideas for projects and designs in my university and individual work.

von Itxazne A

Mar 04, 2019

I am so glad I have joined this wonderful course. My knowledge of fashion has considerably improved, specially when it comes to the social circummstances in which these iconic items were conveived. I recommend it to eveyone looking for a deeper insight in the last decades design.

von Cristina M

Apr 26, 2020

I loved this course, it was maybe for the first time when I never got bored of the contentent and when I couldn't wait to log in and study more. All the themes have such a good content easy to digest, straight to the point. Thank you ladies for putting all this together for us!

von Chantal M

May 06, 2018

This was an incredible course! I learned so much about the evolution of fashion and how the industry has grown and developed over the past century. It is incredibly well taught, and the videos give you a visual sense of what it is that you're learning. I would highly recommend!

von YING X

Apr 15, 2020

It is a great course for beginners. By use dozens of items which were important to the history of fashion, this course was able to introduce and articulate some essential concepts to the learner. The structure of the course is very clear and content is very informative.

von nicole v

May 22, 2020

Insightful course four anyone working in fashion but specially for Fashion Designers and Fashion Design Students. Gives a lot of background about well known fashion items. I learned a lot new things I didn't know and my view on certain items definitely changed. Thanks!

von Jayne E L

Aug 30, 2019

This class is more than what I expected. It is so interesting, and actually life changing. I find myself sharing the information I learned, especially the impact clothing has on the environment, but also it’s history. Fascinating. Thank you for such an excellent class.

von Yhara Z

Feb 21, 2020

This is an excellent course. I have learned so many new concepts and my perception of the fashion industry have changed through this class. I am definitely more aware about the kind of clothing I am wearing and will be more careful with new purchases. Thank you MoMA

von Deanna P

Aug 29, 2020

Great course for individuals who have a personal knowledge of fashion and want exposure to the various aspects of design, fashion history, designers' sources of inspiration, and a clear understanding of the complex state of fashion production. You will learn a lot.

von Lyubov K

Jul 13, 2020

I am very glad to have taken this course and thank its compilers. This course gave me not only knowledge about different aspects of fashion industry, but a lot of information for thinking and explorations. Thanks instructors of the course for their excellent work.