Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fashion as Design

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fashion as Design von The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
Sterne
2,206 Bewertungen
550 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Top-Bewertungen

SA

May 28, 2020

I would highly recommend this course for someone passionate about the industry. It's an Insightful course too deepen inside the fashion world, through history, identity, sustainability, and much more.

MP

May 16, 2020

Excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommended it to many. I am a mature student ( 55) and after this, I really feel I want to study a masters in fashion sustainability. Thanks for inspiring me.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 549 Bewertungen für Fashion as Design

von Tatiana D

Sep 18, 2020

Loved it, rekindled my love of fashion and it's importance to living. Especially precious to do the course during C19 Lockdown - a comfort course.

Hope I can visit MoMA soon

Best Tatiana

von Fatima F K

May 28, 2020

I really enjoy learning about the connection that Fashion as Design has with almost everything around us. The historic facts, the interviews and videos. I'm glad I took this class.

von Tresa M G

Jul 11, 2020

This course will be really useful for those who are really passionate about fashion. I will completely recommend this course to such people and I am 100% satisfied from this course.

von Züleyha K

Nov 05, 2018

A great course to start as a beginner and understand the concept from the start. Lot of great information and great sources, if you are interested I suggest you to take this course!

von Natalia K

Aug 20, 2018

A fresh look at the acute problems. Clearly described garments, given interesting facts and details from the history of clothing. I recommend for the expansion of personal knowledge

von Mariana T V

Sep 24, 2018

Tiene información muy completa sobre la historia detrás de las prendas que han construido a nuestra sociedad y su repercusión a nivel cultural, social, medioambiental y económico.

von Leslytimchenko

Aug 07, 2019

beautiful, as fashion designer we have to know the history of garments, some of them i really ignored its history, its important for us as creators and to understand de zeitgeist

von Janneke W

May 17, 2020

It was so much more than I expected, and truly changed my look on fashion. Very high quality and the additional readings are also very educational and fun. Highly recommend it!

von Narda M

Feb 16, 2018

I loved this course! It really help me to see fashion in a different way & understand why clothes are made for. If you work in fashion industry, this course will help you alot.

von Daniella B

May 13, 2020

Amazing course! I learned so much and opened my eyes about what we buy and why we wear some garments. I recommended to anyone who is really interested in Fashion and history.

von Jose D P

Apr 28, 2020

What a wonderful course! The material is very approachable for fashion enthusiasts or those simply interested in learning more about fashion. Very happy to took this course.

von Aline F P

Jun 15, 2020

The course is very dynamic, diverse and complete. I'm glad I could make it and get a closer understanding on the technologies, ideas and cultures behind many of the items.

von Lauren R F

May 31, 2020

A great course if you want to learn more about the fashion industry, its history and the cultural significance of fashion for different races, ethnicities and religions.

von richa C

Jul 12, 2020

I m really glad i did this course "Fashion as design by MoMa" it made me reflect back to fashion history and provided me a lens to look through a sustainable future.

von Sintija Z

Jul 04, 2020

Thank you opportunity to learn more about Fashion as Design. Course was very interesting, on the point and very easy study (videos, interviews and reading articles).

von amy o

Aug 20, 2020

This is a really fantastic overview of the role of fashion in global culture. It really covered alot of different eras and styles and was engaging and entertaining.

von Maria C B

Jun 01, 2020

I really enjoyed the class because it gave me an insight eye on a world that I love. It got deep and analyzed what best describes ‘fashion’ in its thousand facets.

von Jasmine S

Jul 03, 2018

This is an unbelievably awesome course! I have learned so much about fashion in ways I had never thought about it before. Thank you MOMA for this excellent course!

von Maxwell A

Jun 11, 2018

Really enjoyable and informative course. It was the first course I ever took "for fun", and I'm glad I took it. I learned a lot and enjoyed myself the entire time.

von Pamela G L

Jul 20, 2020

I love the course, it was easy to learn something new, it was entertaining and I learn a lot of every garment and accessory. I would like to study another course.

von Federica A

Jun 03, 2020

Such an amazing way to go deeper in such themes that were presented every week.

Very happy with the results and will definitely sign myself into another course.

von SREE D M

May 29, 2020

Coursera is very useful to gain more knowledge about subject . online fashion as design course is more information and used more effective time to spend in this

von Agustina S

May 04, 2020

It was a really good course. The amount and variety of content was manageable and carefully selected so that everything read was worthwhile. I really enjoyed it

von Panagiota S

Jun 06, 2020

I really enjoyed every single moment! It was an opportunity to expand my horizons and feel creative and productive and set new goals for my career development.