Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fashion as Design

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fashion as Design von The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
Sterne
1,287 Bewertungen
323 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Top-Bewertungen

MP

May 16, 2020

Excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommended it to many. I am a mature student ( 55) and after this, I really feel I want to study a masters in fashion sustainability. Thanks for inspiring me.

CR

Dec 02, 2019

Highly practical and ambitious material challenging us to think about the current landscape of fashion, as well as the future, and how we can improve the the industry with sustainable practices.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 335 Bewertungen für Fashion as Design

von Georg R

Oct 14, 2019

Perfect! Very very interesting themes, nice videos & materials. Perfect balance of workload and the quizzes. Learned a lot!

von Ece z

Feb 19, 2019

I learned many of thinks in this issue. I am sure it will help to me in my working life and social life. Thank you so much.

von sogol j

Mar 21, 2018

It was really great to learn new things of fshion world and see other side of it in very easy and interesting way.thank you

von Constanza A

Dec 19, 2017

Excellent course! The themes are very interesting an very well developed. The readings and videos are easy to understand.

von Amira M

Nov 19, 2019

Brilliantly curated content makes this course one of it's kind. Thanking the coursera team in bringing knowledge to many

von Shaf A

May 18, 2020

I love the course! Even though i find it difficult to read in quarantine, texts were kept short and interesting videos!

von David G M

Apr 12, 2019

Very interesting approach to fashion and all its related dimensions. I was not too much into the topic, and I loved it.

von Denise A

Feb 22, 2018

I thought the course was really informative. It gives fashion a human face and is important for the future. Thank you!!

von Maureen W

May 01, 2019

I just finished class 4. I love MOMA and I love the ideas, challenge to thinking. Inspirational, exciting. Thank you!

von Anna C G

Mar 10, 2020

So so cool! I really learned many interesting and very important things about the Fashion world, I recomend it 100%!

von Mahmudul H K

May 15, 2020

It's a awesome course. It's really help a student a lot. What's the impact of fashion on us it's describe truely.

von eva s

Mar 25, 2020

very interesting course, I really enjoye the time while watching and reading all the materials that they offer :)

von Clara Z

May 08, 2018

some historical information and most important is that I learned how to look at a item from various perspective.

von Marloes W

Aug 14, 2019

Interesting and eyeopening subjects in this course. Only for people with above average English language skills.

von LAURA M

May 27, 2020

Thanks for the chance to learn so many topics in the wonderful fashion world, it has been a great experience.

von Funmi S

May 08, 2020

Absolutely a must for everyone who wears clothes. I got to know about the 'items'. So worth my time and data.

von Keitchyna C

Apr 11, 2020

Super cours très intéressant et riche avec beaucoup de notions culturelle, différentes références historique.

von Janvi r

Apr 05, 2020

It's very helpful for me also for my future. It gives me alots of information about new designer and artists.

von Dalima K

Aug 13, 2019

I loved it. Got to know alot of things that I wouldn't have been able to . I look forward to do more courses.

von Jessica C

Apr 22, 2020

Great intro course that presented fashion through its history, cultural and future development perspective.

von Charles K

May 20, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed learning about many aspects of fashion and design that I did not know about beforehand.

von Ekaterine K

May 11, 2020

Thanks a lot . This 7 week was really interesting and full of useful information. Good Luck for Everyone.

von Fernanda D G

Mar 05, 2020

Thank you so much! I loved the course!!! I so glad to have taken the course. I learned a lot!! thank you!

von Lena L

Jul 02, 2018

So many fascinating bits of information. A great course for people interested in both design and fashion.

von Kirsten H N

Dec 13, 2017

Very informative course. I learned so much about fashion items, the history behind them and their impact.