Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fashion as Design

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fashion as Design von The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
Sterne
1,962 Bewertungen
491 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Top-Bewertungen

SA

May 28, 2020

I would highly recommend this course for someone passionate about the industry. It's an Insightful course too deepen inside the fashion world, through history, identity, sustainability, and much more.

MP

May 16, 2020

Excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommended it to many. I am a mature student ( 55) and after this, I really feel I want to study a masters in fashion sustainability. Thanks for inspiring me.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 491 Bewertungen für Fashion as Design

von Tiffany C

May 28, 2020

An awesome way to learn more about fashion, history, and behind-the-scenes of what fashion as design really is. This course might become dated in a few years but the information is still completely valid and raises good points about the fashion industry.

von Грудко М

Sep 11, 2018

This course has helped me to plunge into the history of fashion, to find out what actually is a casual wear and the importance of being eco-friendly in the modern world. Grateful to The Museum of Modern Art of useful and interesting training program.

von Lily M

Dec 04, 2019

The course has continued to improve my love for fashion, and it has made me more passionate to not only be bold in what I wear but be educated in what I'm wearing. I feel so much smarter when it comes to talking about fashion and different cultures.

von Lacie M

Jul 12, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I learned so much about fashion that I didn't know I wanted to know. I love learning about the history of items and people. This course brought me the best of history of fashion and those in fashion.

Thank you MoMA!

von chhavi v

Jul 29, 2019

It was an amazing course that gave me insight into something I am looking forward to studying in college. I am currently a junior and always wanted to do something regarding design. This course definitely gave me a feeling of that subject area.

von Monique

Mar 02, 2020

Totally amazing course. I learned so much and got new perspective on my clothing and accessories, while learning new trends in fashion. Coursera helped me stay on schedule and the videos and readings provided were interesting and informative.

von Leslie M

Jun 04, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. It opened my eyes to so many issues facing the world - and how small moves can motivate change. It also made me look at my wardrobe differently - putting new meaning behind pieces I never really thought about.

von Tadea S I J

Jan 04, 2019

I really loved it because you get to aknowledge a lot of things about fashion that most of us ignore and are kind of essential to designing. I really recomend this course for any fashion lover or designer interested in the fashion industry.

von Tashi P

Mar 10, 2020

It is a very well laid out course. I really enjoyed all the topics covered under this course. The topics were so relevant and especially for someone Like myself who is new to the world of fashion found “is fashion modern” very intriguing .

von Jorge H L

Jul 15, 2020

Phenomenal! I highly recommend it. If you are just getting started in the world of fashion, this is a great first step, get some knowledge under your belt. This is a great way to learn, I hope this way of education extends even further.

von ShaMecha S

Jun 22, 2020

This course made great usage of technology with videos, photos, and reading materials. Sometimes it felt a bit long but in the end the time was worth it. If you have even a remote love a fashion, this is a good course to work through.

von Sandra M

Aug 23, 2018

This course was truly amazing experience, so much more than what I expected. The sea of information is gathered in such smart, consistent, organized way that it is impossible to even think anything is omitted. I applaud to its creators!

von Victoria B C

Jun 06, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I now see my clothes in a completely different way. It has been an eye opener regarding the impact that fashion has on our society and environment. I will highly recommend this course to my friends.

von C d g

Apr 19, 2020

this class was interesting for me.

i have to say, I look fashionably different and a little more expert.

every class, every week, was better than the previous one. Interesting, interesting, interesting, and everything was so exciting.

von Jenny P M A

Jan 13, 2020

Me encanto este curso supero mis expectativas creo que es emasiado buieno y agradezco a Coursera y a Rhe Museum of Modern Art por esta Gran oportunidad Mucghas Grcias a las Docentes.Mucgas gracias de verdad

JENNY MORENO AVELLANEDA

von Suyenne S H

Nov 10, 2019

This course has given me the kind of depth I've been looking for the study of fashion design, clothing construction and its history. I definitely recommend especially for those interested in the research aspect of fashion design.

von E P

Jul 02, 2018

I learned a lot from this course, and it had one of the more active discussion groups I've seen in a Coursera course. I love that it went into the details of the exhibition and into how the exhibition was conceived and curated.

von Simona V T

May 21, 2020

Thank you for sharing such an amazing material! Every single topic was interesting, made me think more about garments lifecycle and ethics. Clothes are not clothes enymore, every single piece have the story behind. Thank you!

von Jaci S

Jun 02, 2020

This class was not just informative about the history of fashion, yet insightful on many current issues of sustainability and took a deep dive into how we purchase and what we wear today. I would highly recommend this class.

von Julia L

Jun 02, 2020

A fabulous exploration of clothing items replete with historical anecdotes that might enable you to win a gameshow..... LOL; simply a great lens through which to examine fads, fashions, and ones own wardrobe. Delightful.

von Sabrina L B

May 19, 2020

It was such an incredible course. It's amazing how a simple garment has so much history behind it. Every time I wear an item I will remember where it came from, the materials used and who wore it.

Very satisfied!

Sabrina

von Soraia M

Jun 20, 2020

Excellent course! I am not a keen on fashion, nor I do not follow trends. But this course help me to understand the magnific world oof fashion and how a simple cloth is an expression of resistance, rebellion, and love.

von Patti C

May 14, 2020

I was totally engaged through the course and loved the mix of media that was used. It opened up my eyes and mind to so many facets of the fashion industry including history, ethics and design. Super highly recommended!

von Claudia C

Jan 15, 2018

A really interesting and easy to follow course, perfect for professionals but also for general culture. Opened up my mind and made me think about certain things from different perspective. Really really enjoyed it!!!

von Alice-Mae D

Jun 27, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and I would definitely recommend it! It has made me look at clothing items with more of an open mind! I've deepened my understanding of the fashion industry and the history of clothes. :)