Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fashion as Design

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fashion as Design von The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
Sterne
2,132 Bewertungen
537 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Top-Bewertungen

SA

May 28, 2020

I would highly recommend this course for someone passionate about the industry. It's an Insightful course too deepen inside the fashion world, through history, identity, sustainability, and much more.

MP

May 16, 2020

Excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommended it to many. I am a mature student ( 55) and after this, I really feel I want to study a masters in fashion sustainability. Thanks for inspiring me.

Filtern nach:

476 - 500 von 536 Bewertungen für Fashion as Design

von Elza Y

Jul 31, 2018

g

o

o

d

von James B

Nov 04, 2017

Gr8!

von Dhiraj B

May 29, 2020

aws

von Maria A Q A

Jun 08, 2020

:D

von Carmen

Apr 01, 2019

S

von Susan G

Jul 31, 2020

The course was quite interesting though there were sections that were repetitive. As a instructor myself, I understand why one would set up lessons in this manner. A few of the videos were too lengthy. My favorite section of the course was the in-depth look at the suit manufacturing on Sevile Row in London. I hope to take more courses through MoMA and want to thank you for this opportunity.

von Marjolaine G

Dec 23, 2017

Very enjoyable course but I feel like it was heavily based on the exploration on items instead of waves of movements. Week 7 was the best week with the most actual questioning and exploration into fashion and deeper meaning. All in all, I still enjoyed it and learned a lot about the history of various clothing items.

Edit: Very high quality sources for videos and articles!

von Nadine Z

Mar 13, 2020

I am very happy that this course was offered and that you let so many different people have their say. However, I personally found some (only a few) contributions poorly structured and not very enlightening. One for example was the video "Designer Kerby Jean-Raymond on the Hoodie". I think that this video was not well done (for example: I did not like the scrolling part).

von Tanya B

Jun 05, 2020

I really liked the idea of making this course for us students to get to know about fashion sitting home as it fulfils the demand of giving knowledge and inspiration to young brains I honestly learned quite a things from here about its origin and evolution history is always interesting how that thing comes in fashion and all so for me I loved the idea of studying it

von Pamela J

Jul 29, 2020

I really enjoyed the course but am still waiting on corrections for to my grades to weeks 4, 5 & 6 quizzes. I have included detailed problems in the flag for comment file about the items that are effecting my grade negatively. Otherwise the overall content was very good and enjoyable. I would feel good about suggesting the program to others.

von Alejandra D A

Nov 11, 2017

What is really awesome and enlightening about this course is the approach to fashion items through their own design and the message for which they were created or have been used for. Each piece of clothing contains a sort of secret that we can discover or re discover in this course.

von Pedro O V

Nov 20, 2017

Nice selection of garments as examples and discussion points. Excellent points made through the whole course as to the modern discussions happening in the fashion world. Good introduction into thinking about fashion as a design discipline.

von Sarah V C R

Jul 20, 2020

I really enjoyed learning about the history of clothes and other items which are so familiar to us nowadays, but that have been considered a scandal or inappropriate in the past. The videos were my favorite part of the course.

von lynette m

Mar 13, 2020

Interesting if uneven coverage of the concept. The design element got lost almost entirely. The idea got away from the original premise, but this is not surprising given the enormity of the undertaking. Fun, but underwhelming.

von Cintia M

Apr 30, 2020

These weeks have contribute to my knowledge in fashion history. It as also helped me to appreciate way more each piece of garment and from know on, I'll keep researching on the course themes. Thanks!

von Kristal F

Jun 28, 2020

Gives an in depth view to the exhibition's items and their history- leaving you with a changed perspective on your own wardrobe, however, there is a big focus on the exhibition's items only

von 刘春燕

Jan 22, 2018

It is an interesting course which you can know the history and shift of meanings of fashion items. I really learn a lot through it.

von Athena I

Jun 24, 2020

I am not a person who likes to read a lot so I'd like more video and less reading. But that's still an amazing course thank you.

von Mohd R

May 31, 2020

I am thankful to the Fashion as design team I really want to appreciate All and thanks Coursera to provide us like this course's

von Roberto V

Apr 28, 2020

Great insights about iconic pieces of fashion and their connection with humanity - yesterday, today, and tomorrow!

von Luana G

May 23, 2020

Very interesting and well-built. Got to know many things I didn't imagine about lifecycle and history of clothes!

von Maureen S

Jun 18, 2020

wonderful course that has taught me the history of fashion and made me understand the stories behind fashion

von Yade r

Apr 24, 2020

i really had good experience learning fashion as design . it really add values to my wardrobe .

von veenamadhuri

May 22, 2018

i really got to know what are deep wonderful things that we never see in designs and clothes.