Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fashion as Design

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fashion as Design von The Museum of Modern Art

4.9
686 Bewertungen
152 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Top-Bewertungen

AB

Apr 09, 2018

This course is excellently taught and very engaging, I have enjoyed it immensely and cant wait to do further courses produced by MOMA! Great course, I would highly recommend it :)

MI

Apr 17, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. I love the facts and new things I have learned about garments and items that I use in my every day life but also other objects from other cultures.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 152 Bewertungen für Fashion as Design

von Marloes W

Aug 14, 2019

Interesting and eyeopening subjects in this course. Only for people with above average English language skills.

von Dalima K

Aug 13, 2019

I loved it. Got to know alot of things that I wouldn't have been able to . I look forward to do more courses.

von Lazaros O

Aug 17, 2019

So inrtesting nice to be a part of this .

von AIDA B S H

Aug 15, 2019

Very well designed!

von Donia N M E S

Aug 28, 2019

رائع بالفعل

von Kateryna P

Jul 03, 2019

great course, I strongly recommend it!!

von Jayne E L

Aug 30, 2019

This class is more than what I expected. It is so interesting, and actually life changing. I find myself sharing the information I learned, especially the impact clothing has on the environment, but also it’s history. Fascinating. Thank you for such an excellent class.

von Farida K

Aug 28, 2019

I never thought gaining this much knowledge at free cost would be possible. Thank you for everything. It was an eye opening course.

von Judy W

Sep 12, 2019

This is a fantastic course and very informative, learned a ton about fashion and worth to revisit many articles and videos in the future. Highly recommend it.

von Julian C

Jun 12, 2019

I LOVE THIS COURSE VERY VERY MUCH, SO SAD ITS ALREADY OVER, I LEARNED INCREIBLE NEW THINGS AND I HOPE CONTINUE BUILDING THAT KNOWLEDGE

von Muhammad E B A J

Sep 30, 2019

Basic understanding of fashion that is very informative.

von Mariella F

Sep 30, 2019

This course is so informative for ANYONE who's interested in Fashion, whether you're a professional in the field or an amateur fan like me. I enjoyed every weekly course. I'm now returning to NYC to hopefully visit the MoMA and look at their collection through this research team's eye and with the knowledge I've acquired during these month and a half.

von dylan t l d

Oct 07, 2019

I really like the short and direct way that the teachers spoke, clearly and informatively. And the new artistry I learned about is so COOL! This was a great course and i couldn't wait to get back to work on it. I will be looking at other MoMa course on here.

von Olesya M

Mar 25, 2019

Made me think about fashion in a different light. There is so much more than meets the eye.

von veenamadhuri

May 22, 2018

i really got to know what are deep wonderful things that we never see in designs and clothes.

von Connie Y

Jan 12, 2018

Good but a bit easy.

von Alejandra D A

Nov 11, 2017

What is really awesome and enlightening about this course is the approach to fashion items through their own design and the message for which they were created or have been used for. Each piece of clothing contains a sort of secret that we can discover or re discover in this course.

von Marjolaine G

Dec 23, 2017

Very enjoyable course but I feel like it was heavily based on the exploration on items instead of waves of movements. Week 7 was the best week with the most actual questioning and exploration into fashion and deeper meaning. All in all, I still enjoyed it and learned a lot about the history of various clothing items.

Edit: Very high quality sources for videos and articles!

von cat j

Apr 04, 2018

nicely made. great extra material

von Joy S

Jan 14, 2018

interesting. Has a lot of reading and you need to read it or you won't pass quizzes.

von 刘春燕

Jan 22, 2018

It is an interesting course which you can know the history and shift of meanings of fashion items. I really learn a lot through it.

von Pedro O V

Nov 20, 2017

Nice selection of garments as examples and discussion points. Excellent points made through the whole course as to the modern discussions happening in the fashion world. Good introduction into thinking about fashion as a design discipline.

von Lisa L

Jun 29, 2018

thank you!

von Radhvi K

Jun 24, 2019

just understood, Fashion with different eyes..!

von qingjian w

Jun 21, 2019

Good intro for fashion