Chevron Left
Zurück zu Feminism and Social Justice

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Feminism and Social Justice von University of California, Santa Cruz

4.8
Sterne
5,103 Bewertungen
1,279 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

"Feminism and Social Justice" is an adaptation of Distinguished Professor Bettina Aptheker's long-running course at UC Santa Cruz. In the course, Professor Aptheker presents a broad definition of feminism that serves to frame three significant events in the history of feminism and social justice: the Empire Zinc strike of 1951, the 1971-1972 trial of Angela Davis, and the #metoo Movement....

Top-Bewertungen

VK

16. Juli 2021

The course gave me various insights and exposure to feminist and black struggles in the American polity. I could some leads from the lessons which might be useful to work on my future research papers.

IS

11. Feb. 2020

This course was very impactful, I now understand the history of rape as a crime, the attitudes that have diminished and undermine women's rights. I am hoping that we will get things right as a people

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 1,297 Bewertungen für Feminism and Social Justice

von Alice D

31. Jan. 2020

Amazing! This course really put the current feminism and social justice movements into a historical context for me and gave a really great overview but also insight into some of the theoretical framework. I really enjoyed Professor Aptheker's teaching, her personal stories and sensitivity. Thank you so much for sharing this important resource, respect.

von Cristina R

15. Aug. 2021

It was a short course unfortunately, but I learnt a lot! So, thank you very much for the discussions: there were some historical events I was not aware about. Moreover, I liked very much how all the discussions where so well structured and how well argued the points were. I became instantly glued to my computer, just wanting to listen to more of it.

von Michelle M R L

13. Aug. 2020

La Doctora Bettina Aphteker me conmovió y llamó mi atención desde el primer video, hizo que me diera cuenta de la importancia del feminismo y la justicia social en la actualidad. Cada caso que compartió en las sesiones, fue muy interesante y comprendí la importancia de conocer los antecedentes del feminismo actual. Recomiendo ampliamente este curso.

von Theresa S

26. Apr. 2020

Very eye-opening and informative. Professor Aptheker is easy to follow and explains in great detail how feminism and social justice movements are intertwined. This course really makes you think about our society and how women have made such profound impacts and also sheds a light on the inequalities and disparities many women are still facing today.

von Radhika T

30. März 2021

It helped me understand and view the entire concept of feminism and social justice in a new perspective; how everything is interconnected and the effect it has in the long run on people, races, classes, and even internationally. It broadened my existing idea about the said topics. And the course was dealt with beautifully and in easy, simple terms.

von ARACELY A M

17. März 2022

En mi opinión este curso me ayudó a entender muchas cosas en nuestra sociedad, tanto erróneas como correctas, asimismo a identificarlas y saber qué puedo hacer para cambiarlas y más que nada ayudarme a mi a crecer como persona, como mujer, y saber que tengo libertades y aspiraciones, que puedo lograr uchas cosas con disciplina y mucha dedicación.

von Sarah J C

20. Okt. 2020

The course was well planned and detailed. It was also enticing because it enlightened me with a brief history of feminism and social justice. It made me realize that it is a universal issue that crosses vast cultures. It was easy to understand despite being from another country. It was still relatable with the social context in my own country.

von Ritika P

31. Mai 2020

This course is a must for all people out there who want to get information about social justice and feminism its just a scratch on the surface but a much needed start up on the subject matter. Helps you form your own opinion based on actual life events. and the instructor Dr.Apthekar was really wonderful and amazing person who has inspired me.

von Odily L A G R

15. Aug. 2020

I loved it. It was challenging because of the range of subjects one has to keep in mind, but it is totally worth it. It definitely changes the way you perceive the world and the course is a strong foundation for you to get familiarized with these theories and gets you motivated to learn more on your own. Thank you for this beautiful course.

von Sandy B

8. Nov. 2020

so thought provoking-This was recorded in 2018--it is now 2020 & Joe Biden & Kamala Harris have just bee elected in US. Let's hope for change. I am a Canadian & we are greatly affected by US politics--we in Canada are not immune to any of this--as a women-as a white women--I have my own #metoo story & I can now tell the world. Thank you.

von Adriana M

17. Okt. 2020

It was very lovely to listen to professor Aptheker’s lectures and I’m very happy that I have got to got to learn more in depth about feminism and social justice it’s because it is important to know the history and where the movement started and how it has changed through the years so I will definitely recommend this course to my friends

von Gillian M B

30. Sep. 2021

This introduction to the events that triggered some of the most notable 'waves of feminism' was incredibly informative. Professor Aptheker's storytelling style was engaging and the content was both enlightening and motivating. Completing this course feels like an important step in my personal journey as a voice for gender equality.

von Nicolls F

6. Okt. 2020

I highly recommend it. It provides you with a grounded perspective on what feminism and social justice mean and represent. Definitely, everyone should be informed and know about feminism and the struggle that has been brewing so that women and in general all people have a voice and vote with equal power in all spheres of human life.

von Siena B

1. Dez. 2021

I found this course extremely interesting and enjoyable. the different lectures gave me the opportunity to learn about stories I had not been given the opportunity to learn about before. I particularly like the discussion forum as it was really interesting to read the responses and thoughts of other people enrolled in the course.

von Rajdeep K

9. Juli 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the learning experience thanks to the wonderful way the spokesperson delivered the lectures. The empathy and cause behind the topic was well understood as the topics were aptly sorted to align towards helping students learn about the misshapenings and how to overcome injustice by coming forward together.

von Daniel R

9. Juli 2021

I loved this course. The lectures are amazing and to the point. Everything was easy to understand. I just wish i was able to purchase the certificate because i know with it id be able to help alot of people if i had it but at this time im unable to do so , therefore i am just really grateful that i was able to learn for free.

von ZAZADENIMES

24. Nov. 2020

Je voudrais exprimer toute ma reconnaissance au professeure Bettina Aptheker ! Même en tant que française j'ai vraiment apprécié les cours qui sont très bien construits et très intelligemment menés. Pour ma réflexion personnelle et ma propre culture, je suis absolument ravie d'avoir participé à ces cours. Merci beaucoup !!!

von Vince S

21. Aug. 2020

I like the course and highly recommend it to others. I found it interesting, enjoyable and a lot of fun. It is a serious topic but I had such a strong interest in the course material that it was fun to learn the subject. The teacher is wonderful and does a great job of clearly and accurately presenting the course material.

von Doreen M

19. Apr. 2020

Very insightful. all-encompassing approach to feminism: it's reach and it's impact on social justice.Helps one to think deeply and critically about the roles women are assigned and why and the value that they could add if they to be seen as equally human, therefore equally competent, equally ambitious and equally rewarded.

von Emma

14. Juni 2020

This is a great starting point for anyone interested in learning more about Feminism. Each lecture is dedicated to understanding the social context and significance of key moments in the Feminist movement, and connects common themes of intersectionality and the historic oppression of women to each event. Highly recommend!

von María G

31. Mai 2020

This is a course that everyone should take. It allows you to expand tha perspective you have about feminism and a lot of historical events. Not only that, but it is also an inspitation to continue raising our voices and work for the change we want to see in the world. We may can´t do everything, but we must do something.

von Umashankar S

3. Aug. 2020

As per me most of the students are not aware about the terms and movements of women of 20th century that led to mass movement and is still prevalent till today which has helped a lot to women to fight various forms of discrimination. Salt of the earth, Angela Davis case & metoo movement origins are explained here well.

von Maya S

5. Juli 2020

Not only are the lecture videos engaging and really well done, the material explored is discussed at length so you have a really deep-seated knowledge of the subject matter. This course is meant for everyone, and I would highly recommend it. It is informative, and truly focuses on topics that should be common knowledge.

von TRINIDAD J L

1. Aug. 2020

fue un curso muy interesante con un recorrido tanto cultural, racial y de género muy particular. Creo que logra ver distintas perspectivas de la discriminación tanto de género como su intersección con estos otros elementos para entregar una aproximación mucho más detalladas sobre las implicancias de la justicia social.