Chevron Left
Zurück zu Feminism and Social Justice

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Feminism and Social Justice von University of California, Santa Cruz

4.8
Sterne
5,313 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

"Feminism and Social Justice" is an adaptation of Distinguished Professor Bettina Aptheker's long-running course at UC Santa Cruz. In the course, Professor Aptheker presents a broad definition of feminism that serves to frame three significant events in the history of feminism and social justice: the Empire Zinc strike of 1951, the 1971-1972 trial of Angela Davis, and the #metoo Movement....

Top-Bewertungen

VK

16. Juli 2021

The course gave me various insights and exposure to feminist and black struggles in the American polity. I could some leads from the lessons which might be useful to work on my future research papers.

SS

22. Juni 2020

Everyone should take up this course because this course has a structured curriculum for feminism. The idea of feminism is something we have learnt from media, one will come to know about the meaning.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 1,344 Bewertungen für Feminism and Social Justice

von Antonio B

9. Mai 2020

Following these lessons form professor Bettina Aptheker has been one of the few pleasures of this sad 2020, I will always bring with me two key concepts: intersection and collective action.

Also, I will continue to work on my understanding of Angela Davis' theories, writings and life. SHe has become one of my philosophical hero, and I am sure she is one of the best person who walk this wicked, beautiful world.

von Zuzanna S

7. Mai 2022

Very interesting course that provides a lot of valuable information in short time. You can easily complete it within 3 or 4 days. It addresses important events in feminism's history and show the difficulties women used to face as well as why while our situation is now better, it's still not good. It encouraged me to learn more about feminism and stay active in that field, for me and everyone who needs it.

von Utkrishti K

30. Juni 2020

I liked how the course was a reflection of several movements and analysing and reading about those so personally and objectively at the same time. Professor Bettina Aptheker is very skilled and and her personal experiences in these movements adds to the beauty. She highlights different perspectives for looking at these cases. I am very aware about several things now. I also loved her book recommendations.

von Shristi L

24. Apr. 2020

I feel "Feminism and Social Justice" course made me more aware and conscious about the ongoing as well as the past issues regarding the justice and rights for not only women but men too. The course was interesting from the beginning till the end. Professor Aptheker's thorough explanation about every topic was amazing!!!! To be honest, I thoroughly enjoyed learning every information! Thank you, Professor!

von shilpa s

20. Juli 2020

I have learnt a lot of things through this course, this course really helped me in changing my perspective. I will definitely recommend this course to as my people as possible. A huge huge thank you to Prof. Bettina for designing this beautiful course. I really loved her teaching skills, the way she taught us and presented this course was commendable. Thank you so much Coursera for this course.

von Judith D G

20. Dez. 2020

In little time, this course covered a time period from the 1950's through 2018 with clear themes emphasized regarding human rights, and especially women's rights, during the last 7 decades. The professor is not only highly knowledgeable on the topic, she has lived through and been involved in the issues of people's rights, systemic racism & sexism, and the legal barriers for most of her life.

von Victoria W

19. Juli 2020

This was such an awesome course. this is the first time I've used Coursera and it was so inspiring to be lectured by Bettina because of her involvement in the feminist movement. It was so great to hear her real, first hand experience along with facts of the cases. I also loved how she had specifically chosen cases which reflected intersectional feminism not the "white woman's feminism" story.

von Knowledge D

14. Mai 2021

It's really a very awesome lecture. I am happy to learn so many new things related to feminism and social justice. The course was indeed very informative and full of interesting facts and case laws. The way ma'am explained things was commendable. I got clarity regarding small things which can make a worthwhile contribution to encourage me to write a research paper on social and legal issues.

von Lizeth G T L

26. Okt. 2020

Me gustó bastante este curso porque te explican muy bien la idea de lo que es el feminismo y como abarca muchos temas que a lo mejor yo no veía que se involucraban en esto, aparte del buen material que te dan para poder entender el tema y ver como este movimiento tiene sus raíces desde mucho antes de lo que pensábamos y que ademas, se conectan con muchos temas más sobre la justicia social.

von Paloma A d O

2. Feb. 2020

This is a fundamental fantastic course that should be presented in every basic school, every company, to everyone and everywhere. I want to thank Prof. Aptheker for a wonderful curriculum and for explaining in a clear way the fundamentals of interesection-feminism. I would like very much to have an extended curriculum and would appreciate eve more if could include other worldwide examples.

von Hossain M

3. Apr. 2021

For the beginner I mean those who do not have any knowledge about feminism and social justice this course will be really really so helpful. The course was very interesting. Personally, I have learned a lot of things. This course changed my mind about the concept of feminism and social justice. Professor B. Aptheker's presentation, storytelling method, analysis everything was so enjoyable.

von Olga L

24. Juli 2020

A must for all students! this is one of those essential subjects (along with psychology and environmental studies) that should be taught in schools. because we have to learn this (be exposed to this knowledge so to speak) to provoke thought process that will ultimately result in a change. In more changes, very much needed. Not too overloaded material and yet succinct and to the point.

von Raquel N C J

10. Aug. 2020

Just perfect, very useful to understand the feminist movement and some important cases for the cause. It is kind of revolting to see how much society has to improve to provide equality between different genders and races, but it is essential to recognize the importance of the movement for women in general, and also to find ways to make the world a better place for future generations.

von Brooke S

24. Sep. 2020

Professor Aptheker uses events from US history to concretely illustrate the ongoing feminist struggle for women's rights, safety, access to opportunities and resources, and representation in a way that highlights the intersections of gender, race, class, and settler colonialism. This course is an excellent introduction to historic and modern issues of feminism and social justice.

von Emma S

18. März 2022

It provided me what I needed. Some of the questions in the quizzes were rather miniscule compared to the overall topic of the lessons and weren't really related to the topic of feminism and how the subject related to feminism. However, I learned a lot about how feminism has been treated in history and it offered me a new and interesting perspective on the definition of feminism.

von Farheen I

5. Apr. 2021

Interesting topics succinctly explained, pushing you to critically think about the events of the world and its impact on the agency of women and men and how the systems in place are filled with inherent biases that make social justice extremely difficult to achieve.

Would love to take more courses from Professor Aptheker, it was an absolute honor and delight to learn from her.

von Mathx

3. Nov. 2019

I am trying to get the basics of Feminism correct - and this course helped me build a historical context of the movement. I found it very useful and even though the context is American (just an observation not a criticism) but there are so many paralells with the situation in my country. I guess all I can say is that it was perfect - and now I am looking for the next level

von Rachel H

23. Nov. 2020

i found the course really really interesting. I've read quite a lot about feminism but the course opened by eyes to the intersectionality of discrimination and with that feminism. The description of the history of these events was very clear and the personal testimony compelling. Thank youvery much. I'm really glad I took the course. I've learnt such a lot. Thank you

von Eike F

20. Mai 2020

Thank you, this course was really interesting, eye opening and should be mandatory for everyone. It changed my view on Feminism completely, helped me understand where my difficulties were with it before (regarding ints interconnectedness with class, race and all other forms of oppression) and resulted in a much better historical understanding of how this all came about.

von Jemima B

2. Okt. 2020

This was a fantastically accessible course that covered a wide and comprehensive history of feminisism. It was a good length and the lectures were engaging, particularly as Bettina drew on her own experiences. The combination of quizzes and discussion points was a good way of making sure you both recalled the facts and contextualised and reflected on what you learned.

von Ema R M

1. Dez. 2020

It can give us a more complete vision of how the world is changing over the years through these 3 "hitos" that Bettina Aptheker mentions, in relation to the empowerment of women, and justice between races and minorities.

It gave me another vision of how the feminist revolution is impacting different layers of society: equal rights, equality in class, race, poverty.

von Patricia d R C P

8. Aug. 2020

Curso excelente con información no solo interesante, sino consciente de la situación y las circunstancias que incluso ahora se siguen viviendo, de interés general pero especialmente a las abogadas o estudiantes de derecho, pues le da un cimiento al tema del feminismo, no hablando de odio; sino de como ha evolucionado y de su importancia para vivir en un lugar mejor.

von Anna J

10. Jan. 2021

Excellent course. I will return to it for sure and do more reading around. I will also recommend it to others. Great insight to the feminist and social justice history, especially interesting and exciting NOW after the Trump Supreme Court Nomination and after Joe Biden becoming president.

I love the mix of lecture & movie, facts & personal comments, past & present.

von Haley C

15. Mai 2020

This course was so informative! I really appreciated that it provided an intersectional perspective on feminism and its history, and I learned about key events in more detailed ways than I'd heard about them previously. I would definitely recommend this class if you're interested In the history of feminism and how it connects to feminism and social justice today.

von MARÍA R G

31. Mai 2020

Este ha sido uno de los cursos más interesantes que he realizado hasta el momento. No solo he aprendido con él sino que, como persona nacida en España los 90, he descubierto muchas etapas y casos de la lucha de la mujer que no conocía hasta el momento. Quizás se deba a que la lucha de los derechos de la mujer se limita al derecho a voto para la agenda educativa.