Chevron Left
Zurück zu Feminism and Social Justice

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Feminism and Social Justice von University of California, Santa Cruz

4.8
Sterne
4,894 Bewertungen
1,237 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

"Feminism and Social Justice" is an adaptation of Distinguished Professor Bettina Aptheker's long-running course at UC Santa Cruz. In the course, Professor Aptheker presents a broad definition of feminism that serves to frame three significant events in the history of feminism and social justice: the Empire Zinc strike of 1951, the 1971-1972 trial of Angela Davis, and the #metoo Movement....

Top-Bewertungen

VK
16. Juli 2021

The course gave me various insights and exposure to feminist and black struggles in the American polity. I could some leads from the lessons which might be useful to work on my future research papers.

IS
11. Feb. 2020

This course was very impactful, I now understand the history of rape as a crime, the attitudes that have diminished and undermine women's rights. I am hoping that we will get things right as a people

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 1,244 Bewertungen für Feminism and Social Justice

von Julia M

25. Juli 2020

Bettina Aptheker is fantastic. Although this course is focused on feminism, Prof Aptheker brings a very strong intersectional angle as well. Her lectures are excellent and informed by not only her scholarly background, but her personal experience as an activist-scholar in key events like the Angela Davis trial.

von Adithi B

1. Mai 2021

This is an excellent course in history. It shows us how and why we live in this misogynistic world. Heartbreaking and a harbinger of hope at the same time, is what this class is. I only wish that it had focussed on women's struggles in countries outside the United States and encompassed the world as a whole.

von Maria F V

26. Jan. 2021

I loved the four classes delivered by Bettina Aptheker. If only there were more. I did this course in a week. I love it. We need to learn more from women like Bettina; we need to learn more about the history of the feminist movement because knowing our history is power. Thanks for an excellent master class.

von MADHUVADHANI M

25. Dez. 2019

The course "FEMINISM AND SOCIAL JUSTICE" provides a clear view about the various struggles and history of the feminist wave and social movement. Professor Aptheker, clearly explains all the aspects and the syllabus is also quite reasonable. This is a worthy course for people interested in feminist studies.

von ES G

20. Okt. 2020

This is such an amazing course for someone like me who is looking for an intersectional context on the issues surrounding feminism. The video lectures by Prof. Aptheker are engaging and wonderfully done in terms of content, format, and editing. Many thanks to the team who worked on developing this course!

von Andrés F H

3. Sep. 2020

Muy interesante toda la información y los casos presentados en el curso, ya que yo no sabía de ellos y el tener un punto de vista más objetivo del feminismo me dio a entender que yo, como hombre, también puedo ser parte de este movimiento para que lleguemos a la igualdad en todas las áreas de la sociedad.

von Lily

20. Mai 2021

A wonderful foundational understanding is given through this course which highlights the history of feminism and social injustice and thus explains how we are where we are today in society and what is still needed to be done. Very interesting, these are issues and events that everyone should be aware of.

von Martina S

22. März 2021

I really enjoyed the course! I especially appreciated hearing about the instructors life experiences and stories in relation to feminism. The lectures were interesting and informative. I just wish the course was longer so I could keep learning about this topic! Thank you for providing this content to us.

von Amanda C d S

4. Juli 2020

This course is very important to who wants to have an analysis of what is, feminism and refresh the concepts of a trully society free of patriarchalism. It has fundamentals analysis of the structure in relationship with society and the individual posture of a feminist - its about revolution of mentality.

von Kattya V O B

17. Juni 2020

La profesora es excelente y explica de una forma que capta totalmente tu atención, es fascinante cómo relata los hechos de una forma tan crítica, dinámica y que invita a la profunda reflexión. El material que incluyen y la lista de temas también es muy buena, me encantaría que fuera un curso más extenso.

von Consuelo S B

21. Apr. 2021

I loved how the course was thought. All the ideas that are presented in the first session are perfectly integrated during the other ones. I learned a lot of US history I was not aware of and of course, I exercised my critical thinking. Thanks to the very dedicated professor! I enjoyed this course a lot!

von PUI Y T

4. Feb. 2021

This course was something super interesting! As a person that does not know a lot about US history, it was interesting to learn about these powerful women that stood up for themselves and the rights of other women. Thank you for the course and educating me about the bases of feminism and social justice.

von Renge J

12. Sep. 2020

This course is amazing. I am a journalist with 20+yrs experience and covered gender issues for 10+yrs.

There are eye opening moments in this course. I strongly recommend that many adults who are interested in feminism and gender issues take this course. Cases are interesting and talks are powerful.

von Andy C A

22. Nov. 2020

This had been a helpful learning on gender, feminism and social movements. The topics were easy to understand especially that Professor Bettina has made the lectures in a simple and conversational manner. May you have more courses on gender such as in peacebuilding and conflict. Thank you very much!

von Mary B

27. Mai 2021

I​ enjoyed Professor Aptneker's style and sense of humour. I especially enjoyed the Salt of the Earth movie. This course was a good mix of lectures and video and was excellent covering feminism and social justice, with many examples. I'm glad I enrolled in this course and learned alot! Thank you.

von Roshna R

2. Aug. 2020

such an interesting course, basically I does't had much knowledge in this topic are, while through this awesome, enlightenment and informative four weeks enriched me a lot. No way the lectures by Bettina Aptheka really, really awesome. very happy to be the part of this course. loved it . Thankyou

von Colt N

4. Mai 2020

Lovely course - it was really full of such rich content and was exquisitely provided from the professor. I actually was hoping though for more readings on the matters as well as a review of the waves of feminism through history since I think each wave does have a profound impact on social justice.

von Jann M

23. Mai 2020

I could relate to all the issues surrounding the stories presented in this course. Having lived through those times it was really interesting to hear the detailed accounts presented about the events that happened and not just what the media presented about Angela Davis and Anita Hill. Thank you.

von Jacquelyn C M

31. Aug. 2021

I​ always wondered why Anita HIll subjected herself to the abuse she received, now I know that it wasn't her intention. This course is a wake-up call to anyone who hopes to advance in the world of politics, to keep their nose clean. This is quite a history lesson. I am glad I took the course.

von Jeniffer B P P

5. März 2021

I really learned a lot from this course, but what inspires me the most it that despite of being a woman and having said before that I was a feminist I didn't have the accurate knowledge and guidence about it. Now I can say that I will continue learning, reading and taking classes about feminism.

von Tushita R

2. Mai 2020

I absolutely loved this course. It was the right amount of engaging. The professor including actual events in the course and not only talking about factual information made it quite enriching. She herself being parts of certain feminist movements left in a sense of awe and admiration. Thank you!

von B B

26. Feb. 2020

Thoroughly rewarding. Thank You, especially to Bettina for developing and presenting the course. When I was 13 (in 1970) I never foresaw a time when I would be studying Angela Davis or the Soledad Brothers. Times have changed (slightly) for the better. But so much more to be done. Don't give up.

von Mark S

24. März 2021

I really enjoyed this course. The Professor was great! Her lectures were easy to understand, yet thought-provoking. I have always heard of the film "The Salt of the Earth" but never seen it. I am so glad I was introduced to it and to understand it's deeper meaning.

I wish the course were longer!

von ritika p

13. Juli 2020

It is a privilege to get to listen to Bettina Aptheker speak. She effectively binds the issues from the history to the present. The way she explained the intersectionality of feminism was seamless, well researched and graspable even to people with limited understanding of the feminist movement.

von ANJALI M

16. Apr. 2020

i loved this course. it talk about every aspect about the feminist movements and what has happened all over the years, how it started. you can understand how they started to campaign against all forms of injustice. i have understood so much from this course and i have learnt so many new things.