Chevron Left
Zurück zu Feminism and Social Justice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Feminism and Social Justice von University of California, Santa Cruz

4.8
Sterne
4,601 Bewertungen
1,192 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

"Feminism and Social Justice" is an adaptation of Distinguished Professor Bettina Aptheker's long-running course at UC Santa Cruz. In the course, Professor Aptheker presents a broad definition of feminism that serves to frame three significant events in the history of feminism and social justice: the Empire Zinc strike of 1951, the 1971-1972 trial of Angela Davis, and the #metoo Movement....

Top-Bewertungen

VK
16. Juli 2021

The course gave me various insights and exposure to feminist and black struggles in the American polity. I could some leads from the lessons which might be useful to work on my future research papers.

SS
22. Juni 2020

Everyone should take up this course because this course has a structured curriculum for feminism. The idea of feminism is something we have learnt from media, one will come to know about the meaning.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 1,205 Bewertungen für Feminism and Social Justice

von Jasmine G

30. Dez. 2020

This class was extremely inspiring. I am so glad I took this course. I learned so much more in-depth on feminism than I would have just googling or watching youtube videos. I began this course to gain a better understanding of the definition of feminism, but I learned throughout this course that the definition continues to evolve to represent all that is affected by sexual discrimination. Great course and amazing instructor. Thank you!

von ALEXANDRA D G

5. Aug. 2020

Phenomenal. I just wish it were longer or covered a range of other topics related to feminism and social justice such as elaborating on more theoretical concepts or general ideas along with the stories and narratives about women. The videos were also engaging and Ms. Aptheker was a fantastic lecturer. I wish the videos were more broken up but the content and learning experience did make up for the length. Thank you for the course.

von Crissie T

20. Juli 2020

A refreshing course indeed that explained the concepts of not just feminism in general, but how class, race, genders and ideologies are intertwined to become more than just a movement. The course also makes you become more aware of society in general and how a change should began from day one. Interesting course that I would recommend if you required a short course to get some intro to feminism, movements and social justice.

von Sofía G M

21. Juli 2020

I learned so much about the social justice movements that have brought us as humanity to where we are now, their background origins and the people (women) who started them. It definitely is a course that inspires you to be a better much more active member in society, giving you the tools to not only make a change in the world but in your own way on how you percieve life. Plus, Bettina Aptheker is a helluva woman! Love her!

von Carla K M

22. Mai 2020

This course is an excellent introduction into the very complex issues of intersectional feminism. The course is mainly historical, outlining and discussing specific events/movements in US history, rather than focusing on theory. I would highly recommend as Bettina's approach to the course's delivery is very engaging, and her first-hand experience of some of the discussed events make the lectures feel unique and specific.

von Christine P E

30. Dez. 2020

I was so inspired while taking this course. It left me wanting MUCH more! I will definitely be reading Bettina's books and following her as I can. I highly encourage the University to turn her teachings into more modules, that, I would be more than happy to pay for. I only wish I had heard of Professor Aptheker sooner. Her students at the University have seen first hand the best any person has to offer. What a treasure!

von Duygu N A

8. Juli 2020

Professor Aptheker is an amazing speaker and a very insightful professor. This course is very interesting and sheds light on the issues that are not recent at all but coming to light recently. It has given me a new perspective and understanding regarding social justice. It concerns everyone, everywhere. I hope everyone would listen to this and learn about these, and professor Aptheker does an amazing job teaching.

von Jessica R

7. Feb. 2021

Thank you so much for this opportunity!!! I learned so much and I am grateful to feel understood about this kind of issues. Even so I want to take next a course about the struggles of people of color, because as a white person I don't suffer half of the things they suffer and I want to understand their perspective of the world and how I can help to make it better!! Thank you so much for this opportunity, really!!

von Emma T C

4. Juli 2020

Not only is this course timely, it is extremely educational and based on facts and historical events. I learned of several historical events that I had never learned about in school (but I totally should have). I had already considered myself a feminist before I completed this course, but I have a much bigger understanding of feminism and social justice now. I highly recommend this course to anyone and everyone.

von Jessica M

27. Apr. 2021

Very powerful and very well laid out course. The examples given in each unit hit hard, and are easy to understand, and they inspire students to think more broadly, and to apply the content outside of the classroom. This course absolutely starts a dialogue concerning the oppression of women and the world around us all. I would definitely recommend this course. Bettina Aptheker is a breath of fresh feminist air.

von Khadijah S A

17. Mai 2020

The course is extremely beneficial for people who are just started to explore intersectional feminism. For people like me, who have studied some of this already, it serves as a brush-up course, and may even give another view to cases we've read about already. Or you might not know of the cases, and it'll add to things you do know. Regardless of your current level of knowledge, a course like this is still good.

von Antonio B

9. Mai 2020

Following these lessons form professor Bettina Aptheker has been one of the few pleasures of this sad 2020, I will always bring with me two key concepts: intersection and collective action.

Also, I will continue to work on my understanding of Angela Davis' theories, writings and life. SHe has become one of my philosophical hero, and I am sure she is one of the best person who walk this wicked, beautiful world.

von Utkrishti K

30. Juni 2020

I liked how the course was a reflection of several movements and analysing and reading about those so personally and objectively at the same time. Professor Bettina Aptheker is very skilled and and her personal experiences in these movements adds to the beauty. She highlights different perspectives for looking at these cases. I am very aware about several things now. I also loved her book recommendations.

von Shristi L

24. Apr. 2020

I feel "Feminism and Social Justice" course made me more aware and conscious about the ongoing as well as the past issues regarding the justice and rights for not only women but men too. The course was interesting from the beginning till the end. Professor Aptheker's thorough explanation about every topic was amazing!!!! To be honest, I thoroughly enjoyed learning every information! Thank you, Professor!

von shilpa s

20. Juli 2020

I have learnt a lot of things through this course, this course really helped me in changing my perspective. I will definitely recommend this course to as my people as possible. A huge huge thank you to Prof. Bettina for designing this beautiful course. I really loved her teaching skills, the way she taught us and presented this course was commendable. Thank you so much Coursera for this course.

von Judith D G

20. Dez. 2020

In little time, this course covered a time period from the 1950's through 2018 with clear themes emphasized regarding human rights, and especially women's rights, during the last 7 decades. The professor is not only highly knowledgeable on the topic, she has lived through and been involved in the issues of people's rights, systemic racism & sexism, and the legal barriers for most of her life.

von Victoria W

19. Juli 2020

This was such an awesome course. this is the first time I've used Coursera and it was so inspiring to be lectured by Bettina because of her involvement in the feminist movement. It was so great to hear her real, first hand experience along with facts of the cases. I also loved how she had specifically chosen cases which reflected intersectional feminism not the "white woman's feminism" story.

von PALLAVI P

14. Mai 2021

It's really a very awesome lecture. I am happy to learn so many new things related to feminism and social justice. The course was indeed very informative and full of interesting facts and case laws. The way ma'am explained things was commendable. I got clarity regarding small things which can make a worthwhile contribution to encourage me to write a research paper on social and legal issues.

von Lizeth G T L

26. Okt. 2020

Me gustó bastante este curso porque te explican muy bien la idea de lo que es el feminismo y como abarca muchos temas que a lo mejor yo no veía que se involucraban en esto, aparte del buen material que te dan para poder entender el tema y ver como este movimiento tiene sus raíces desde mucho antes de lo que pensábamos y que ademas, se conectan con muchos temas más sobre la justicia social.

von Paloma A d O

2. Feb. 2020

This is a fundamental fantastic course that should be presented in every basic school, every company, to everyone and everywhere. I want to thank Prof. Aptheker for a wonderful curriculum and for explaining in a clear way the fundamentals of interesection-feminism. I would like very much to have an extended curriculum and would appreciate eve more if could include other worldwide examples.

von Hossain M

3. Apr. 2021

For the beginner I mean those who do not have any knowledge about feminism and social justice this course will be really really so helpful. The course was very interesting. Personally, I have learned a lot of things. This course changed my mind about the concept of feminism and social justice. Professor B. Aptheker's presentation, storytelling method, analysis everything was so enjoyable.

von Olga L

24. Juli 2020

A must for all students! this is one of those essential subjects (along with psychology and environmental studies) that should be taught in schools. because we have to learn this (be exposed to this knowledge so to speak) to provoke thought process that will ultimately result in a change. In more changes, very much needed. Not too overloaded material and yet succinct and to the point.

von Raquel N C J

10. Aug. 2020

Just perfect, very useful to understand the feminist movement and some important cases for the cause. It is kind of revolting to see how much society has to improve to provide equality between different genders and races, but it is essential to recognize the importance of the movement for women in general, and also to find ways to make the world a better place for future generations.

von Brooke S

24. Sep. 2020

Professor Aptheker uses events from US history to concretely illustrate the ongoing feminist struggle for women's rights, safety, access to opportunities and resources, and representation in a way that highlights the intersections of gender, race, class, and settler colonialism. This course is an excellent introduction to historic and modern issues of feminism and social justice.

von Emma G

8. Apr. 2021

It provided me what I needed. Some of the questions in the quizzes were rather miniscule compared to the overall topic of the lessons and weren't really related to the topic of feminism and how the subject related to feminism. However, I learned a lot about how feminism has been treated in history and it offered me a new and interesting perspective on the definition of feminism.