Chevron Left
Zurück zu Feminism and Social Justice

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Feminism and Social Justice von University of California, Santa Cruz

4.8
Sterne
4,780 Bewertungen
1,217 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

"Feminism and Social Justice" is an adaptation of Distinguished Professor Bettina Aptheker's long-running course at UC Santa Cruz. In the course, Professor Aptheker presents a broad definition of feminism that serves to frame three significant events in the history of feminism and social justice: the Empire Zinc strike of 1951, the 1971-1972 trial of Angela Davis, and the #metoo Movement....

Top-Bewertungen

VK
16. Juli 2021

The course gave me various insights and exposure to feminist and black struggles in the American polity. I could some leads from the lessons which might be useful to work on my future research papers.

IS
11. Feb. 2020

This course was very impactful, I now understand the history of rape as a crime, the attitudes that have diminished and undermine women's rights. I am hoping that we will get things right as a people

Filtern nach:

1051 - 1075 von 1,225 Bewertungen für Feminism and Social Justice

von Muhammad F A K

30. Sep. 2020

GOOD.

von fatima u ❤

26. Sep. 2020

great

von Shuveksha S

27. Juli 2020

NICE!

von ERAM N

27. Okt. 2020

Good

von Raja l

30. Sep. 2020

good

von Vayshnavi P

15. Sep. 2020

GOOD

von ABHIRAMI S L

29. Juli 2020

Best

von GLORIYA V

25. Juli 2020

Good

von Uma M K

21. Juli 2020

Good

von SIVAGURU M S

20. Juli 2020

Good

von Mary C G

12. Juli 2020

good

von Turanur I

31. Mai 2020

best

von Dao D T

6. Okt. 2021

ok

von Mizna K N [ F E ]

30. Nov. 2020

5

von Simran S

8. Juli 2020

]

von ARVIND S

8. Juli 2020

N

von Kaia V

28. Jan. 2021

I appreciated the content of the course. Prof. Bettina Aptheker's lectures provided a solid though brief introduction to feminism and social justice with an excellent choice of particular examples with which to view historical intersections of feminism and social justice. The discussion questions were also useful to encourage application of the course content to the personal experience of the participants.

The multiple choice questions, however, sometimes tested outside knowledge which had not been introduced in the lecture, sometimes tested recall of obscure details that were not essential to the course goals, and even one question was phrased with such unclear grammar that it didn't make any sense. Overall, the multiple choice questions seemed to be poorly chosen and gave me a bad impression of Coursera as a learning platform.

von Sara B G

6. Apr. 2021

creo que es interesante conocer algunos casos históricos en los que las mujeres han dejado claro su valor y coraje y cómo la injusticia social ha tenido desde siempre un lugar grande dentro de la sociedad. Sin embargo creo que la profesora es un poco radical y de alguna manera dibuja a los hombres blancos como el enemigo, si bien es cierto minorías éticas dentro de la historia de Estados Unidos han sufrido opresión, esclavitud y desventajas en sus estilo de vida, mucho de eso parte del pasado y no creo que es necesario enfocarnos siempre en el pasado, debería haber lecturas enfocadas mas en los avances que estas comunidades han logrado a través de los años y que han aprendido de la lucha de sus ancestros

von Angela T

29. Apr. 2020

That was amazing! Thanks to professor Bettina Aptheker, I've learnt a lot. For exemple, I didn't know of the Empire Zinc strike, and I knew about the #metoo movement, but only from a mediatic point of view. The jurisdictional history of rape and the social reaction to the various cases that the professor mentioned were very interesting and helped me to compare the US situation with the Italian one. Finally, I loved the lecture about Angela Davis, even though I already knew about her and her experience. Bettina Aptheker's point of view on the intersectional feminism, together with her consideration on the concept of power, is very inspiring and it's the kind of feminism I'd like to fight for.

von Kimhong H

15. Mai 2021

A clearly articulated introduction to the symbiotic relationship between a philosophy of feminism, social justice and thereby social action as a critique of social constructs. The course helped me to understand that feminism is less a militant and contentious social movement as much as a social movement to value all humanity and to expose how social constructs may gender social injustice. The course left me wondering how the histories and social contexts of global realities outside that of just North America may enrich the conversation in this course.

von Fatima A

23. Feb. 2021

My interest in studying feminism has definitely increased because social Justice is all about being in the public space, and that is one such space where women are not actively seen or being a part of. I am a student of history and for me, it has always been important to dig a little deeper to understand the role of women in the historical events taught in colleges. I have realised that one has to research and read a little extra to understand the role of women in world events, like everything else it will take time but it's all worth it.

von Asma R

16. März 2020

This course offers such a multidimensional view of social movements and the role of feminism. It's just like an interwoven network.

I just wanted to gain more insight with regards to the MeToo Movement, but that's maybe because it is too recent and more events are yet to come!

Thank you for offering me the opportunity to learn and get more knowledgeable with regards to such inspiring movements. I just realized that my voice matters and that our voices can make the change, whatsoever!

von Dhwani

21. Mai 2020

The course was very interesting, extremely informative as it covered an intersectional feminist perspective. I especially enjoyed the movie and the lecture on Angela Davis' case as the professor was involved in it personally.

However, I would have preferred if the course had more lectures on more topics, it did cover the history of people from the Mexican heritage, the dynamics of race and class. I still feel that more topics could have been covered under different lectures.

von Karolina G

14. Juni 2020

The course was a very interesting introduction to the topic of Feminism and Social Justice. It has successfully shown how these two aspects are intertwined. Moreover, it covered a wide period of time, showing the changes which have occurred and how they have influenced other events. I have learnt a lot from this course, while enjoying it at the same time. On a side note, Bettina has a very soft-sounding voice and manner of speech, which makes the videos enjoyable to watch.

von B K

11. Aug. 2020

It's really a great privilege to have someone who was involved in some pivotal moments for feminism as a lecturer. It's also great to see that see has not lost her passion for these topics or her sense of fun! The intersectionality of feminism was highlighted, and the possibility of positively affecting the lives of many people, not just women, when women are accorded a more of an equal place in society. The struggle continues!