Chevron Left
Zurück zu Feminism and Social Justice

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Feminism and Social Justice von University of California, Santa Cruz

4.8
Sterne
5,104 Bewertungen
1,279 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

"Feminism and Social Justice" is an adaptation of Distinguished Professor Bettina Aptheker's long-running course at UC Santa Cruz. In the course, Professor Aptheker presents a broad definition of feminism that serves to frame three significant events in the history of feminism and social justice: the Empire Zinc strike of 1951, the 1971-1972 trial of Angela Davis, and the #metoo Movement....

Top-Bewertungen

VK

16. Juli 2021

The course gave me various insights and exposure to feminist and black struggles in the American polity. I could some leads from the lessons which might be useful to work on my future research papers.

SS

22. Juni 2020

Everyone should take up this course because this course has a structured curriculum for feminism. The idea of feminism is something we have learnt from media, one will come to know about the meaning.

Filtern nach:

1126 - 1150 von 1,297 Bewertungen für Feminism and Social Justice

von Mizna K N [ F E ]

30. Nov. 2020

5

von Simran S

8. Juli 2020

]

von ARVIND S

8. Juli 2020

N

von Kaia V

28. Jan. 2021

I appreciated the content of the course. Prof. Bettina Aptheker's lectures provided a solid though brief introduction to feminism and social justice with an excellent choice of particular examples with which to view historical intersections of feminism and social justice. The discussion questions were also useful to encourage application of the course content to the personal experience of the participants.

The multiple choice questions, however, sometimes tested outside knowledge which had not been introduced in the lecture, sometimes tested recall of obscure details that were not essential to the course goals, and even one question was phrased with such unclear grammar that it didn't make any sense. Overall, the multiple choice questions seemed to be poorly chosen and gave me a bad impression of Coursera as a learning platform.

von Sara B G

6. Apr. 2021

creo que es interesante conocer algunos casos históricos en los que las mujeres han dejado claro su valor y coraje y cómo la injusticia social ha tenido desde siempre un lugar grande dentro de la sociedad. Sin embargo creo que la profesora es un poco radical y de alguna manera dibuja a los hombres blancos como el enemigo, si bien es cierto minorías éticas dentro de la historia de Estados Unidos han sufrido opresión, esclavitud y desventajas en sus estilo de vida, mucho de eso parte del pasado y no creo que es necesario enfocarnos siempre en el pasado, debería haber lecturas enfocadas mas en los avances que estas comunidades han logrado a través de los años y que han aprendido de la lucha de sus ancestros

von Angela T

29. Apr. 2020

That was amazing! Thanks to professor Bettina Aptheker, I've learnt a lot. For exemple, I didn't know of the Empire Zinc strike, and I knew about the #metoo movement, but only from a mediatic point of view. The jurisdictional history of rape and the social reaction to the various cases that the professor mentioned were very interesting and helped me to compare the US situation with the Italian one. Finally, I loved the lecture about Angela Davis, even though I already knew about her and her experience. Bettina Aptheker's point of view on the intersectional feminism, together with her consideration on the concept of power, is very inspiring and it's the kind of feminism I'd like to fight for.

von Victoria S

4. Dez. 2021

I found the course to have value and discovered elements of the issues with which I had not been familiar. It would be prudent to update some of the information with regard to events which have taken place since the #metoo movement, the testimony of Professor Christine Blasey Ford during her grilling regarding Kavanaugh. How has the election of Kamala Harris as the first female VP and woman of color to hold an office of that magnitude in the US and the numbers of women who are now in congress helped to empower women and encouraged them to be a greater collective force?

von Kimhong H

15. Mai 2021

A clearly articulated introduction to the symbiotic relationship between a philosophy of feminism, social justice and thereby social action as a critique of social constructs. The course helped me to understand that feminism is less a militant and contentious social movement as much as a social movement to value all humanity and to expose how social constructs may gender social injustice. The course left me wondering how the histories and social contexts of global realities outside that of just North America may enrich the conversation in this course.

von Fatima A

23. Feb. 2021

My interest in studying feminism has definitely increased because social Justice is all about being in the public space, and that is one such space where women are not actively seen or being a part of. I am a student of history and for me, it has always been important to dig a little deeper to understand the role of women in the historical events taught in colleges. I have realised that one has to research and read a little extra to understand the role of women in world events, like everything else it will take time but it's all worth it.

von BRIAN P

7. März 2022

Should really be a 5 star rating, I'm just sad the course ended so soon. Bettina Aptheker has a gift as a lecturer. She explains with ease difficult concepts in a plain language that allows for total absorbtion and comprehension. She really is a star. I'd give a fifth star to hear from other activists like Angela Davis, or even a contemporary soldier of justice. Maybe hear about 'White feminism' cons and alternatives, and I'd like to know who's door I need to kick in to bring about justice!

von Asma R

16. März 2020

This course offers such a multidimensional view of social movements and the role of feminism. It's just like an interwoven network.

I just wanted to gain more insight with regards to the MeToo Movement, but that's maybe because it is too recent and more events are yet to come!

Thank you for offering me the opportunity to learn and get more knowledgeable with regards to such inspiring movements. I just realized that my voice matters and that our voices can make the change, whatsoever!

von Dhwani

21. Mai 2020

The course was very interesting, extremely informative as it covered an intersectional feminist perspective. I especially enjoyed the movie and the lecture on Angela Davis' case as the professor was involved in it personally.

However, I would have preferred if the course had more lectures on more topics, it did cover the history of people from the Mexican heritage, the dynamics of race and class. I still feel that more topics could have been covered under different lectures.

von Karolina G

14. Juni 2020

The course was a very interesting introduction to the topic of Feminism and Social Justice. It has successfully shown how these two aspects are intertwined. Moreover, it covered a wide period of time, showing the changes which have occurred and how they have influenced other events. I have learnt a lot from this course, while enjoying it at the same time. On a side note, Bettina has a very soft-sounding voice and manner of speech, which makes the videos enjoyable to watch.

von B K

11. Aug. 2020

It's really a great privilege to have someone who was involved in some pivotal moments for feminism as a lecturer. It's also great to see that see has not lost her passion for these topics or her sense of fun! The intersectionality of feminism was highlighted, and the possibility of positively affecting the lives of many people, not just women, when women are accorded a more of an equal place in society. The struggle continues!

von ZHONG W

14. Aug. 2019

A great experience of learning the history and movements about Feminism and social justice. Professor Aptheker makes this course amazing. She quotes the original saying of the people who once in the movements, and just state the history and cases, making all the student could think their own thoughts about it, but not just get her opinions. I hope this kind of course will be opened and accepted in my country.

von Beata E K

11. Aug. 2020

I loved this course. Bettina is a very inspirational woman and hearing her talk about all these groundbreaking moments in women's history while she took part in them personally was truly educative for me. What was missing, in my opinion, was to present a broader context of the particular parts of this course. Each component was highly detailed, however, all together they weren't spanned.

von Gustavo A C A

17. Aug. 2020

It's an excellent introduction to the intersectionality of feminism and its social function. I would prefer the quizzes to be a little more insightful, as some questions don't call for reflection, but on repetition, but I suppose as an introduction to, well, feminism and social justice, it really achieves its purpose. The professor is also really interesting and makes excellent points.

von Xinyue Z

21. Apr. 2019

A very brief introduction to feminism history, not a good option if you want a detailed and broad study. I was actually sort of interested in why feminism has become stigmatized in some way but didn't get an answer. Nevertheless it was a great course and helped me a lot to learn some key historical events of feminism and see how women have struggled to obtain today's achievement.

von Younes O

24. Nov. 2019

first of all, thank you for the effort you have put into this course to make it accessible to us. It was an insightful learning experience; I managed to see how feminism started as a local fight for the basics of living and has grown into an international battle for women's rights regardless of their class, race and religion.

I am looking forward to the next learning experience

von Gustavo S d S

19. Juli 2020

The course brings us clear aspects about Feminism and Social Justice, with historical context and practical examples of cases, judgements and movements that happened in the last and current centuries. It is well-detailed, but the pace can be a little bit slow sometimes. The quizz assignments could be more elaborated and test different knowledges. But a great course overall.

von Dalia J

19. Nov. 2020

It's a lovely course covering different notions of feminism and social justice. Nonetheless, it also gives quite a subjective view due to the personal participation in most of the covered events by the lecturer themselves and does not provide a chronological overview of the developments in the feminist ideology which would have been handy. Thank you!

von Judith K

3. Sep. 2020

Definitely an important topic and intresting lecture. The only thing I missed was more background information, especially internet links or essays to read. Really focused on the US History and culture. What I would have like to see is a more connection from the first week (theoretical feminism) to the really practical lectures in the following week.

von faryal k

9. Sep. 2020

In this course I learned that in justice anywhere is threat to be justice anywhere. We should continue our struggle till the goal have been achieve.

Second I learn that women are not weak they can do everything in their live. Because Evey person have there own life own desires .so we should support them to achieve their goals of life.

von Sehrish

17. Mai 2020

I found the course contents interesting and informative. It is delivered in a prominent way. Not only it includes the cases from the past but it also highlights the movements happening in the current decade. I will recommend this course to everyone who is interested to learn the true meaning of feminism and its history.

von Samantha J

27. Apr. 2020

Very good course! Learned a lot about American history and the Feminist Movement as well as the importance of Social Justice. Apthekar is a great lecturer and story teller it was a treat to learn from her. Very much worth the time invested. I wish there was more reading material in the assignments/ suggested books.