Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fibonacci Numbers and the Golden Ratio

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fibonacci Numbers and the Golden Ratio von The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.8
Sterne
929 Bewertungen
328 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Learn the mathematics behind the Fibonacci numbers, the golden ratio, and how they are related. These topics are not usually taught in a typical math curriculum, yet contain many fascinating results that are still accessible to an advanced high school student. The course culminates in an explanation of why the Fibonacci numbers appear unexpectedly in nature, such as the number of spirals in the head of a sunflower. Download the lecture notes: https://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/fibonacci.pdf Watch the promotional video: https://youtu.be/VWXeDFyB1hc...

Top-Bewertungen

BH
28. Okt. 2020

Great course concept for about one of the most intriguing concepts in the mathematical world, however I found it on the difficult side especially for those who find math as a challenging topic.

JR
12. Juli 2020

Someone has said that God created the integers; all the rest is the work of man. After seeing how the Fibonacci numbers play out in nature, I am not so sure about that. A very enjoyable course.

Filtern nach:

276 - 300 von 320 Bewertungen für Fibonacci Numbers and the Golden Ratio

von Yaprak O

8. Nov. 2019

Overall, an interesting course that cannot be found ordinarily in a classroom setting. Instructor explains the concepts well, and the personal element adds to the course. Gives new insight into the meaning of numbers and definitely helps improve certain math skills such as proving statements, geometry, algebra etc. Quizzes are easy, a light course in terms of assessments overall.. One downside is that the questions have no solutions posted (at least I could not find it) so we do not have a correct framework for answering these types of questions. Also, some videos had an excessive non-mathematical, historical and oriental side to them which did not exactly appeal to me. However, definitely a unique course that will provide you with a unique perspective.

von Deep P

30. Apr. 2020

This course did a great job of giving me an amazing understanding of the Fibonacci numbers and the golden ratio. I found it super interesting, and I was delighted whenever a connection was found between the two large subjects was found. One recommendation that I have to improve the course is to provide a little more assistance/hints with solving the HW proofs/problems. I found some of them tricky at times, and giving up made me feel unsatisfied, so help in solving or giving out strategies on how to do difficult proofs would be greatly appreciated.

von Paul M

27. Apr. 2018

I liked this course, and I discovered the amazing relationships one can derive for Fibonacci numbers and related entities. The lecturer is very clear, and if one does the exercises then one gets a good grasp of the subject. I gave it only four stars partially because the subject matter seems to be more a way to amaze your friends rather than doing something relevant. I would like to understand if it can be applied to real world problems. Maybe that's because I am not a mathematician!

von Mike H

5. Juli 2020

I enjoyed the course well presented and documented. One suggestion Professor Chasnov mentioned other Maths courses that are available. A problem I have being retired but interested in maths, what other classes are suitable, I often go into high school courses that I did years ago, or head off into really challenging areas that I have no chance of completing. I suggest that there should be a course tree maybe for number theory as a topic that gives guidance.

von Anne P

14. Juni 2020

An interesting course with enough 'easy' bits to counteract the very hard parts.

Only thought about improvements would be to see the lecturer smile. For example, he said he'd had fun in the course but his face indicated he was bored by it all. It's nice if you can show that you enjoy the work so students think it's interesting to do.

von Amber M

25. Mai 2021

Super interesting subject. As a person who hasn't taken calculus since high school, I found that some of the exercises were hard to follow, and wished there was more detailed explanations for those who wanted it. I still managed to pass comfortably with the help of the lecture notes and our good friend Google.

von Kim R

28. Mai 2020

Really enjoyed the enthusiasm and interest level of the professor. Math level was cumbersome at times, but overall gained an appreciation for these numbers and their beauty! Thanks for offering this course.

von Sophia R L

24. Juni 2020

All topics were very interesting and I love that there were real life examples and history incorporated into subject. The course was engaging and the material was fascinating & useful. I learned a lot!

von Utpal B

6. Juni 2018

This course blends the rational thinking of mathematics and the aesthetics of art in nature. Enjoyed it. Thanks Coursera and Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

von Catherine K

15. März 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. Interested in the Fibonacci Numbers and Golden Ratio and was looking for more information, this was clearly provided.

von Isaak C

2. Sep. 2020

It is a great course. If more real life examples of Fibonacci numbers and the Golden Ratio can be illustrated, it will be more fun.

von Devashish N

24. Juni 2019

Yeah, the course was fun and i knid of learned a lot of new stuff and I'm satisfied with that.

Good course to learn.

von Kush S

30. Juni 2019

Good Course with practical examples and mathematics applied to derivation and understanding of equations.

von Chandrakant N P

4. Juli 2018

It was very useful to enhance my knowledge of Golden ration. A very good delivery by Professor Jasnov.

von Roshni S

10. Aug. 2019

The course has given a deeper insight into the subject. It made me appreciate the subject more.

von Swetha S

29. Mai 2020

It's really interesting and fulfilled!! Thank you so much for this course.

von E

29. Juni 2017

Professor, thank you for sharing. Appreciate the opportunity.

von Ashwin K

13. Dez. 2016

Good course. More problems sets would have been great!

von Aditya h

10. Aug. 2016

More real world examples of Golden Ratio necessary

von AM

3. Sep. 2017

Give practical examples from history and nature!

von Rohan M

4. Aug. 2020

Interesting course with practical examples

von Jenshiyaa A A

6. Juli 2020

It is really interesting to learn .

von Shikhar b

18. Nov. 2016

good course, to learn something new

von Brian W

29. Dez. 2016

Great course! A little short.

von Rahul M

29. Dez. 2019

Very basic and short course.