Chevron Left
Zurück zu Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Finance for Non-Finance Professionals von Rice University

4.8
Sterne
2,190 Bewertungen
478 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This short course surveys all the major topics covered in a full semester MBA level finance course, but with a more intuitive approach on a very high conceptual level. The goal here is give you a roadmap and framework for how financial professional make decisions. We will cover the basics of financial valuation, the time value of money, compounding returns, and discounting the future. You will understand discounted cash flow (DCF) valuation and how it compares to other methods. We also step inside the mind of a corporate financial manager and develop the basic tools of capital budgeting. We will survey the how, when, and where to spend money, make tradeoffs about investment, growth, dividends, and how to ensure sound fiscal discipline. Our journey then turns to a Wall Street or capital markets perspective of investments as we discuss the fundamental tradeoff between risk and return. We then synthesize our discussion of risk with our valuation framework and incorporate it into series of direct applications to practice. This course requires no prior familiarity with finance. Rather, it is intended to be a first step for anyone who is curious about understanding stock markets, valuation, or corporate finance. We will walk through all of the tools and quantitative analysis together and develop a guide for understanding the seemingly complex decisions that finance professionals make. By the end of the course, you will develop an understanding of the major conceptual levers that push and pull on financial decision making and how they relate to other areas of business. The course should also serve as a roadmap for where to further your finance education and it would be an excellent introduction of any students contemplating an MBA or Finance concentration, but who has little background in the area....

Top-Bewertungen

KH
27. März 2020

Great Course, Very solid start for those who are trying to enter Finance world.\n\nIt makes you love this field if you are not familiar with it and have no previous experience.\n\nGreat Job Professor.

RM
16. Aug. 2020

This is a very well designed course. Taking you through basics and in the end puts you in a real business scenario where you are expected to take a decision based on the tools and concepts you learnt.

Filtern nach:

426 - 450 von 478 Bewertungen für Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

von Abhishek K

29. Juni 2020

Some more examples need to be given in certain cases. For ex- when he talked about tax shield of debts raising , there should be more examples related to industry experiences should have been given to make it more clear

von Vyom M

26. Jan. 2020

Overall the course was a very good introduction to the world of finance and valuations. However, I felt that weeks 3 and 4 were rushed a little bit. Professor Weston's way of explaining tricky concepts is very lucid!

von Urvashi

21. Juli 2020

I learned a lot of things during this course. The conversation with a practitioner really gives you insights about the real world applications, and where our knowledge is applicable in the market.

von Jacinto D

4. Mai 2020

This class is an excellent introduction to capital budgeting and finance. It is an excellent primer for understanding how businesses can use these tools to analyze transactions.

von Deborah R

23. Juni 2017

Learned sooo much in this course. It taught me how to remain curious as the subject matter got more difficult. If you stick with it, you really learn to enjoy finance.

von Aman S

31. März 2020

Excellent Course for those looking for enhancing their ideas and knowledge for Corporate Finance. The course beautifully explains all the topics right from the start.

von Neeraj D

12. Jan. 2021

Good course for non financial professionals. I really able to understand and practice some of the key concepts for financial reporting and income statement. !!

von James T S L

3. Sep. 2020

I enjoyed this course which explains financeial analysis in a simple and easy to understand way. The quizes and tests help reinforce the learning very much.

von Patiphon S

17. Juni 2020

This course help me a lot about understanding in basic Finance, but it will be perfect if more infographic and terminology are provided.

von Cemre A

16. Nov. 2020

Overall, this was a good course. But for me, it was hard. I had almost no knowledge in finance and it makes it hard to understand.

von Daniel C

3. Apr. 2020

Really high level introduction to financial concepts. The professor does a good job in building the intuition behind concepts.

von Paolo M C

14. Apr. 2017

Some concepts are a little difficult for a non finance person. However, so far it seems very interesting and useful!

von Michel

24. März 2018

Good refresher on NPV, ROI, Cashflows.. Little bit shallow on "reading" income statement/ balance sheet.

von Sahil J

9. Mai 2020

A couple of concepts like stock markets work, what are dividends should have been taught in detail.

von Aaron Y

4. Mai 2020

Some of the test questions contained information that was not covered thoroughly in the chapters.

von Diego A G C

21. Aug. 2017

Very helpful, but defining essential concepts and additional real world examples would be useful.

von Bruno A F M

22. Nov. 2019

I think there should be more exercises, and better relation between theory and exercises

von Marilyn C

18. Aug. 2020

It started quite interesting but by the last weeks it became quite flat and monotonic.

von Bassam E K

29. Juni 2017

Very good course for non-finance professionals seeking management jobs.

von Sam W

13. Feb. 2018

Good course but lacking in back up for instructors if you get stuck.

von YASAR U P

29. Aug. 2019

Thank you . Some additional accounting examples may be helpfull

von BHATE C P

21. Juli 2020

A really helpful course for beginners in Finance field.

von Tariq A H

22. Nov. 2020

Was very challenging going through the final week 5 HW

von Ayleen M A H

22. Aug. 2019

Very helpful but would like to see more practice

von EKJOT S

1. Aug. 2020

question 7 in capstone quiz is wrong