Chevron Left
Zurück zu Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Finance for Non-Finance Professionals von Rice University

4.8
1,092 Bewertungen
213 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This short course surveys all the major topics covered in a full semester MBA level finance course, but with a more intuitive approach on a very high conceptual level. The goal here is give you a roadmap and framework for how financial professional make decisions. We will cover the basics of financial valuation, the time value of money, compounding returns, and discounting the future. You will understand discounted cash flow (DCF) valuation and how it compares to other methods. We also step inside the mind of a corporate financial manager and develop the basic tools of capital budgeting. We will survey the how, when, and where to spend money, make tradeoffs about investment, growth, dividends, and how to ensure sound fiscal discipline. Our journey then turns to a Wall Street or capital markets perspective of investments as we discuss the fundamental tradeoff between risk and return. We then synthesize our discussion of risk with our valuation framework and incorporate it into series of direct applications to practice. This course requires no prior familiarity with finance. Rather, it is intended to be a first step for anyone who is curious about understanding stock markets, valuation, or corporate finance. We will walk through all of the tools and quantitative analysis together and develop a guide for understanding the seemingly complex decisions that finance professionals make. By the end of the course, you will develop an understanding of the major conceptual levers that push and pull on financial decision making and how they relate to other areas of business. The course should also serve as a roadmap for where to further your finance education and it would be an excellent introduction of any students contemplating an MBA or Finance concentration, but who has little background in the area....

Top-Bewertungen

JS

Oct 02, 2019

Very good overview of finance. For everyone looking, this is not specific to personal finance, but rather a general view and introduction to the most general topics. And a great one at that!

SC

Mar 26, 2018

Very good learning experience.\n\nThe course is ideal for people having an interest in Finance! No prior knowledge needed!\n\nThe Prof. makes sure you are involved throughout the lecture!

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 211 Bewertungen für Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

von Tejas A

Jun 29, 2017

Aboslutely great course

von Jinfeng G

Mar 31, 2018

Great course for an overview of finance knowledge.

von Adelin.M G

Dec 10, 2016

Excellent course :)

von Valentina R

Jun 13, 2017

Very nice corse, useful for professionals with no economic background.

von Diptarka M

Aug 16, 2017

I am an Electrical Engineer working in the mining industry. I am currently in a managerial position and frequently need to make decisions on whether to implement a certain project or not and what benefit would it bring to my company. I learnt a great deal from this course. I thoroughly enjoyed Prof. Weston's each lecture. There was so much enthusiasm in his voice that kept me hooked to this course and nudged me towards earning my verifiable certificate. Thank you and keep bringing such nice courses.

von Jagannathan I

Sep 19, 2017

An awesome course to get introduced to the exciting world of finance!!

von María G R G

Mar 20, 2018

Excellent course!

The distribution of the subjects and the time that its invest in each one is ideal. One of the best teachers that i've seen, not only his knowledge but the way that he can traspass that knowledge and make you understand really difficult concepts.

von Santosh R

Apr 05, 2017

Great course, learned a lot about reading financial statements and basics of conducting business valuation and investment assessment, very nicely done!

von Robin D Z

Jun 03, 2017

Great lectures. Step by step explanations, easy to understand.

von Victor R G

Sep 08, 2017

It is a very interesting course and I have learnt a lot of new concepts about every day finance which will be useful for my career in the future.

von Olivia W

Jun 21, 2018

Super useful as an intro class for people who have some econ background.

von Jingwen W

Oct 15, 2016

Great course for somebody who wants to learn the basics about Finance.

von Joanne

May 26, 2018

this is a great head start for anyone transitioning into a new (or more financially based) career or academic training.

von Russell M

Jan 23, 2017

It's cool to do classes from prestigious universities, especially when learning how to be financially literate!

von Silas

Jan 09, 2018

Even for a real non-professional this course is excellent! I always was interested in this field, but taking this course has helped me so much, since it explains important measurements and calculations very simple.

von Pawel P

Dec 11, 2016

This is a full of content, very focused and well thought-out course. Mr Weston stays on topic and presents the material in a very coherent, logical, clear way.

von Mahsa J M

Feb 06, 2017

Amazing course. thank you.

von Anupam D

Mar 08, 2017

Outstanding course material

von Kevin Y I H

Jul 23, 2018

The teacher did a great job explaining difficult concepts in a way they can be understood by non-finance professionals. I learned a lot of tools I can use in both my job and daily life.

von abhinav k

Sep 27, 2018

nice course

von Katey B

Nov 19, 2018

Very informative and easy to understand

von himanshu k

Dec 03, 2018

Very well explained and heads down to Rice University for making the course

von BARIŞ T E

Dec 02, 2018

I gained insight in financial issues with the help of the course. It is practical and easy to follow.

von Suril S

Dec 03, 2018

This is a good course for non-finance professionals to begin with. The professor is very knowledgeable, clear, and gives real world examples. Although, I would have loved to have more practice quizzes based on concepts after each week.

von Marian G M

Apr 15, 2019

Fantastic course