Chevron Left
Zurück zu Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Finance for Non-Finance Professionals von Rice University

4.8
1,082 Bewertungen
210 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This short course surveys all the major topics covered in a full semester MBA level finance course, but with a more intuitive approach on a very high conceptual level. The goal here is give you a roadmap and framework for how financial professional make decisions. We will cover the basics of financial valuation, the time value of money, compounding returns, and discounting the future. You will understand discounted cash flow (DCF) valuation and how it compares to other methods. We also step inside the mind of a corporate financial manager and develop the basic tools of capital budgeting. We will survey the how, when, and where to spend money, make tradeoffs about investment, growth, dividends, and how to ensure sound fiscal discipline. Our journey then turns to a Wall Street or capital markets perspective of investments as we discuss the fundamental tradeoff between risk and return. We then synthesize our discussion of risk with our valuation framework and incorporate it into series of direct applications to practice. This course requires no prior familiarity with finance. Rather, it is intended to be a first step for anyone who is curious about understanding stock markets, valuation, or corporate finance. We will walk through all of the tools and quantitative analysis together and develop a guide for understanding the seemingly complex decisions that finance professionals make. By the end of the course, you will develop an understanding of the major conceptual levers that push and pull on financial decision making and how they relate to other areas of business. The course should also serve as a roadmap for where to further your finance education and it would be an excellent introduction of any students contemplating an MBA or Finance concentration, but who has little background in the area....

Top-Bewertungen

JS

Oct 02, 2019

Very good overview of finance. For everyone looking, this is not specific to personal finance, but rather a general view and introduction to the most general topics. And a great one at that!

SC

Mar 26, 2018

Very good learning experience.\n\nThe course is ideal for people having an interest in Finance! No prior knowledge needed!\n\nThe Prof. makes sure you are involved throughout the lecture!

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 208 Bewertungen für Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

von Hasandeep S

Aug 29, 2019

very basics were covered and it helped me to grab at my own pace. Thank you!

von CEM

Aug 31, 2019

thk

von NURULLAH Ö

Sep 01, 2019

THANK YOU

von GUNAY A B

Sep 01, 2019

thank you

von GAMZE

Sep 01, 2019

great and simple courses. Thanks James Weston

von MEHMET S

Sep 01, 2019

thnks

von VASFI F K

Sep 02, 2019

thanks

von AHMET O

Sep 02, 2019

thansk

von Javier S

Oct 02, 2019

Very good overview of finance. For everyone looking, this is not specific to personal finance, but rather a general view and introduction to the most general topics. And a great one at that!

von FERAS A M

Nov 20, 2018

v

von Claudia G

Jul 25, 2018

The course is well prepared and the teacher is very good, the exercises however are not 100% explained and in the tests there could be issues

von Denise

Aug 29, 2017

great course!

von Paolo M C

Apr 14, 2017

Some concepts are a little difficult for a non finance person. However, so far it seems very interesting and useful!

von Bassam E K

Jun 29, 2017

Very good course for non-finance professionals seeking management jobs.

von Diego A G C

Aug 21, 2017

Very helpful, but defining essential concepts and additional real world examples would be useful.

von Julian H

Jan 10, 2018

Great course!

von Sam W

Feb 13, 2018

Good course but lacking in back up for instructors if you get stuck.

von Sekhar R

Jun 26, 2018

Its a good place to start. I would recommend this to a friend who has no clue whatsoever about finance and is looking at possibly heading in a new direction. Videos are well sized, clear and articulate. Homework assignments are well designed for this level. Although I would have liked it more had the capstone quiz given me the opportunity to work independently with the numbers given in the case rather than giving me a template to work with. Seemed a little spoon fed to me. All in all a good course to pursue for beginners.

von Deborah R

Jun 23, 2017

Learned sooo much in this course. It taught me how to remain curious as the subject matter got more difficult. If you stick with it, you really learn to enjoy finance.

von Michel

Mar 24, 2018

Good refresher on NPV, ROI, Cashflows.. Little bit shallow on "reading" income statement/ balance sheet.

von Lisa S O

Jun 01, 2019

It's nice and simple. Doesn't go too far into the technical details but enough to get you started should you ever feel to venture further into the field. Provides some thoughtful reading materials. The recording is clear and the professor tries hard to engage.

3.5 stars.

von Guillaume L M

Jun 08, 2019

R

von Ivan L

Jul 24, 2019

Very good course that tackles the most important parts of finance and accounting in a firm. The only problem I had was that a lot of technical terms were somewhat poorly explained, and week 3 was a bit confusing. Still, I would recommend this course to anyone that is interested in finance.

von MELIH Y

Aug 01, 2019

thank u

von Ayleen M A H

Aug 22, 2019

Very helpful but would like to see more practice