Chevron Left
Zurück zu Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Finance for Non-Finance Professionals von Rice University

4.8
Sterne
1,494 Bewertungen
307 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This short course surveys all the major topics covered in a full semester MBA level finance course, but with a more intuitive approach on a very high conceptual level. The goal here is give you a roadmap and framework for how financial professional make decisions. We will cover the basics of financial valuation, the time value of money, compounding returns, and discounting the future. You will understand discounted cash flow (DCF) valuation and how it compares to other methods. We also step inside the mind of a corporate financial manager and develop the basic tools of capital budgeting. We will survey the how, when, and where to spend money, make tradeoffs about investment, growth, dividends, and how to ensure sound fiscal discipline. Our journey then turns to a Wall Street or capital markets perspective of investments as we discuss the fundamental tradeoff between risk and return. We then synthesize our discussion of risk with our valuation framework and incorporate it into series of direct applications to practice. This course requires no prior familiarity with finance. Rather, it is intended to be a first step for anyone who is curious about understanding stock markets, valuation, or corporate finance. We will walk through all of the tools and quantitative analysis together and develop a guide for understanding the seemingly complex decisions that finance professionals make. By the end of the course, you will develop an understanding of the major conceptual levers that push and pull on financial decision making and how they relate to other areas of business. The course should also serve as a roadmap for where to further your finance education and it would be an excellent introduction of any students contemplating an MBA or Finance concentration, but who has little background in the area....

Top-Bewertungen

JS

Oct 02, 2019

Very good overview of finance. For everyone looking, this is not specific to personal finance, but rather a general view and introduction to the most general topics. And a great one at that!

FS

Jun 21, 2020

James is a very passionate and communicative lecturer. I really love the way he presents the materials because it makes all the materials are easily digested and understood. Two thumbs up!!

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 306 Bewertungen für Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

von GARIP M

Aug 21, 2019

thanks

von SELCUK G

Aug 18, 2019

thanks

von Gökhan B

Aug 18, 2019

thanks

von ERAY K

Jul 25, 2019

Thanks

von Анна А

May 23, 2019

great!

von MEHMET S

Sep 01, 2019

thnks

von DILAN O

Aug 06, 2019

Thank

von Gourab A

Dec 11, 2019

Nice

von HASAN

Aug 31, 2019

good

von CEM

Aug 31, 2019

thk

von SONAT

Aug 29, 2019

..

von Uğur S

Aug 31, 2019

.

von VAHAP V

Aug 28, 2019

.

von AHMET Ö

Aug 27, 2019

.

von Craig E

Jan 30, 2019

V

von Vishesh A

Jun 20, 2020

Course content is presented in a well-organised and logical manner. It is an excellent course if you want to review concepts of capital budgeting (like NPV, IRR, WACC, cost of equity, cost of debt, and DCF analysis). The professor uses Excel to solve problems, and the capstone case is also Excel-based, which adds another layer to the course. Overall, this short course if very good for reviewing basic concepts of capital budgeting, but might seem slightly difficult for those who have absolutely no background in finance.

von Aljazi A | K

Apr 28, 2020

The instructor did a great effort summarizing the key concepts in finance in digestible manner. I loved the course so much & I'm glad to complete it.

However, I would like if there were some reference textbook shared with the students (even with added price); so we can practice more, and read the materials after the instructor.

I also faced huge shock at week 5 and some difficulties solving the capstone quiz, so if there were more example to practice it would be better.

von Steven B

Jan 03, 2020

I got to quite enjoy it and the presenter. I was particularly intrigued by his use of the light board and his apparent mirror writing. I almost didn't do this because the coursera guide was directing me to free trials and similar. I think that stand-alone courses like this should be easier to find. The helpdesk people did little to help and it was only after I escalated the whole thing that someone found a way that I could spend money...

von Joshua B

Aug 27, 2019

I took a sports finance course from my college three years ago. Finance for Non-Finance Professionals was a great course for me to recall the materials and equations. James Weston made the course enjoyable and informative. My negatives for the course is the difficulty of the capstone case and the length of each video, and therefore, each week. Overall, this was a great experience for me.

von Nallely G J

Oct 08, 2019

It is a good course for people like me who does not anything or just a small piece of finance concepts and application. But just for that reason some times it is difficult to follow the information, because this has a lot of finance terminology that as a beginner unknown. Even though I had a great time and a huge learning.

von Meenakshi D

Oct 29, 2019

Excellent course ware, interesting lectures, tough quizzes/project designed to give students a good grasp over fundamentals. Accounting ratios, forecasting, variance analysis should be covered in detail to bridge the skill gap and enhance job prospects. Renaming the course should increase the number of enrollments.

von Andrea C R

Jun 13, 2020

Great course. I learned a lot and for sure will recommend for people like me that wanted to start learning the basis for finance. However, be aware that in some cases you might need to look for further explanations of concepts outside the videos to be able to really answer quiz questions.

von Niveditha R

Apr 09, 2020

It explains all important topics related to financial modelling in a short and precise way. I felt few topics could be more elaborate with more examples. I would suggest this course to people who have limited time and want to start with the basics .

Thank You Professor James Weston.

von Alberto N

Apr 26, 2020

This course is is explained clearly by the professor. The videos where structured in a good manner and was clear to read and understand as the professor explained. There are questions in between the videos that help you take in some of the information given during the video.

von Lisa S O

Jun 01, 2019

It's nice and simple. Doesn't go too far into the technical details but enough to get you started should you ever feel to venture further into the field. Provides some thoughtful reading materials. The recording is clear and the professor tries hard to engage.

3.5 stars.