Chevron Left
Zurück zu Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Finance for Non-Finance Professionals von Rice University

4.8
Sterne
1,636 Bewertungen
337 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This short course surveys all the major topics covered in a full semester MBA level finance course, but with a more intuitive approach on a very high conceptual level. The goal here is give you a roadmap and framework for how financial professional make decisions. We will cover the basics of financial valuation, the time value of money, compounding returns, and discounting the future. You will understand discounted cash flow (DCF) valuation and how it compares to other methods. We also step inside the mind of a corporate financial manager and develop the basic tools of capital budgeting. We will survey the how, when, and where to spend money, make tradeoffs about investment, growth, dividends, and how to ensure sound fiscal discipline. Our journey then turns to a Wall Street or capital markets perspective of investments as we discuss the fundamental tradeoff between risk and return. We then synthesize our discussion of risk with our valuation framework and incorporate it into series of direct applications to practice. This course requires no prior familiarity with finance. Rather, it is intended to be a first step for anyone who is curious about understanding stock markets, valuation, or corporate finance. We will walk through all of the tools and quantitative analysis together and develop a guide for understanding the seemingly complex decisions that finance professionals make. By the end of the course, you will develop an understanding of the major conceptual levers that push and pull on financial decision making and how they relate to other areas of business. The course should also serve as a roadmap for where to further your finance education and it would be an excellent introduction of any students contemplating an MBA or Finance concentration, but who has little background in the area....

Top-Bewertungen

KH

Mar 28, 2020

Great Course, Very solid start for those who are trying to enter Finance world.\n\nIt makes you love this field if you are not familiar with it and have no previous experience.\n\nGreat Job Professor.

JS

Oct 02, 2019

Very good overview of finance. For everyone looking, this is not specific to personal finance, but rather a general view and introduction to the most general topics. And a great one at that!

Filtern nach:

301 - 325 von 335 Bewertungen für Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

von Abhishek K

Jun 29, 2020

Some more examples need to be given in certain cases. For ex- when he talked about tax shield of debts raising , there should be more examples related to industry experiences should have been given to make it more clear

von Vyom M

Jan 27, 2020

Overall the course was a very good introduction to the world of finance and valuations. However, I felt that weeks 3 and 4 were rushed a little bit. Professor Weston's way of explaining tricky concepts is very lucid!

von Urvashi

Jul 21, 2020

I learned a lot of things during this course. The conversation with a practitioner really gives you insights about the real world applications, and where our knowledge is applicable in the market.

von Jacinto D

May 04, 2020

This class is an excellent introduction to capital budgeting and finance. It is an excellent primer for understanding how businesses can use these tools to analyze transactions.

von Deborah R

Jun 23, 2017

Learned sooo much in this course. It taught me how to remain curious as the subject matter got more difficult. If you stick with it, you really learn to enjoy finance.

von Aman S

Mar 31, 2020

Excellent Course for those looking for enhancing their ideas and knowledge for Corporate Finance. The course beautifully explains all the topics right from the start.

von Patiphon S

Jun 17, 2020

This course help me a lot about understanding in basic Finance, but it will be perfect if more infographic and terminology are provided.

von Daniel C

Apr 03, 2020

Really high level introduction to financial concepts. The professor does a good job in building the intuition behind concepts.

von Paolo M C

Apr 14, 2017

Some concepts are a little difficult for a non finance person. However, so far it seems very interesting and useful!

von Michel

Mar 24, 2018

Good refresher on NPV, ROI, Cashflows.. Little bit shallow on "reading" income statement/ balance sheet.

von Sahil J

May 09, 2020

A couple of concepts like stock markets work, what are dividends should have been taught in detail.

von Aaron Y

May 04, 2020

Some of the test questions contained information that was not covered thoroughly in the chapters.

von Diego A G C

Aug 21, 2017

Very helpful, but defining essential concepts and additional real world examples would be useful.

von Bruno A F M

Nov 22, 2019

I think there should be more exercises, and better relation between theory and exercises

von Bassam E K

Jun 29, 2017

Very good course for non-finance professionals seeking management jobs.

von Sam W

Feb 13, 2018

Good course but lacking in back up for instructors if you get stuck.

von YASAR U P

Aug 29, 2019

Thank you . Some additional accounting examples may be helpfull

von BHATE C P

Jul 21, 2020

A really helpful course for beginners in Finance field.

von Ayleen M A H

Aug 22, 2019

Very helpful but would like to see more practice

von EKJOT S

Aug 01, 2020

question 7 in capstone quiz is wrong

von Akkas A

Jun 04, 2020

capstone project is to taught

von Jessica F

Aug 06, 2020

Wonderfully communicated!!

von Ganthi M r

Jul 12, 2020

Learning soo many things

von Brian M

Jul 02, 2020

Great course, thanks!

von Issa B A

Aug 24, 2019

free good Thank you