Chevron Left
Zurück zu Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Finance for Non-Finance Professionals von Rice University

4.8
1,115 Bewertungen
219 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This short course surveys all the major topics covered in a full semester MBA level finance course, but with a more intuitive approach on a very high conceptual level. The goal here is give you a roadmap and framework for how financial professional make decisions. We will cover the basics of financial valuation, the time value of money, compounding returns, and discounting the future. You will understand discounted cash flow (DCF) valuation and how it compares to other methods. We also step inside the mind of a corporate financial manager and develop the basic tools of capital budgeting. We will survey the how, when, and where to spend money, make tradeoffs about investment, growth, dividends, and how to ensure sound fiscal discipline. Our journey then turns to a Wall Street or capital markets perspective of investments as we discuss the fundamental tradeoff between risk and return. We then synthesize our discussion of risk with our valuation framework and incorporate it into series of direct applications to practice. This course requires no prior familiarity with finance. Rather, it is intended to be a first step for anyone who is curious about understanding stock markets, valuation, or corporate finance. We will walk through all of the tools and quantitative analysis together and develop a guide for understanding the seemingly complex decisions that finance professionals make. By the end of the course, you will develop an understanding of the major conceptual levers that push and pull on financial decision making and how they relate to other areas of business. The course should also serve as a roadmap for where to further your finance education and it would be an excellent introduction of any students contemplating an MBA or Finance concentration, but who has little background in the area....

Top-Bewertungen

JS

Oct 02, 2019

Very good overview of finance. For everyone looking, this is not specific to personal finance, but rather a general view and introduction to the most general topics. And a great one at that!

SC

Mar 26, 2018

Very good learning experience.\n\nThe course is ideal for people having an interest in Finance! No prior knowledge needed!\n\nThe Prof. makes sure you are involved throughout the lecture!

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 217 Bewertungen für Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

von Craig E

Jan 30, 2019

V

von Mayank M

Feb 02, 2019

Hello everyone,

I am a person from technical background who had an interest towards finance. The course started with the basic idea is to how actually things work in the field of finance and accounting, to financial statements and basics of how stock market works. I am satisfied to say that I got to learn a lot through the course and the instructor James Weston was quite through and simple to understand. I would recommend this course to every Non-Finance professional or student out there. Thank you Coursera!

von Marian G M

Apr 15, 2019

Fantastic course

von Colleen H

Mar 11, 2019

Very helpful course. I have a liberal arts background, but the instructor makes the content and concepts easy to digest for anyone. It's a well-organized course so you feel like you're building on what you're learning each week. It definitely made me feel more confident in my career change from the non-profit space to business. I highly recommend this course.

von Charles R

Mar 04, 2019

Excellent course.

von Leo S

Mar 07, 2019

Great course. Highly recommend.

von Gaurav G

Feb 05, 2019

Very inforamative

von 薛俊

Mar 10, 2019

The first e-learning course I took from Coursera, it's so great and interesting.

Thanks for the Faculty of Rice University to provide the well prepared and presented content.

von Jaime N M

Feb 14, 2019

Very happy with the overall content, organization and curriculum of the course. It has allowed me to pear inside the world of finance from a theoretical and practical point of view. The exercises and problems presented proved challenging enough to seek external resources to further my understanding and of the appropriate level to not fall into frustration. Thank you Cousera, Rice university and Professor Weston for putting together this course.

von abhinav k

Sep 27, 2018

nice course

von Katey B

Nov 19, 2018

Very informative and easy to understand

von Kevin Y I H

Jul 23, 2018

The teacher did a great job explaining difficult concepts in a way they can be understood by non-finance professionals. I learned a lot of tools I can use in both my job and daily life.

von Matteo V

Feb 18, 2017

Fantastic course that gives you an overview of all the financial tools needed to evaluate companies and projects performance

von Rahul S

Jun 26, 2017

I had no background of Finance before I enrolled for this course except that I had good mathematics base. I found this course very beneficial as it explained the fundamentals of Finance in a very understandable language and pace. The course structure is well organized and it is absolutely worth enrolling. This course is coming handy to me for my CFA preparations as it has built a strong understandings of basics.

von j

Dec 11, 2016

Awesome content and execution. Focused delivery and student-friendly approach. Highly recommended!

von Rodrigo R

Jul 26, 2017

Excellent professor

von Olabowale G

Mar 14, 2017

FIve Stars

Excellent course information

Course Instructor - Excellent

von Fadia M S

Nov 12, 2017

Great Course, it gives very good insights and understanding of the finance world. I enjoyed it and I believe it will help me in my career.

von Ajay A

Jan 25, 2017

The professor provides an excellent overview of finance. I work in a different industry but the examples provided gave me great insight and gave me an appreciation into finance. I can see myself using the tools provided in my own personal finances, and also evaluating different types of assets.

von Miguel S

Sep 13, 2017

This course exceeded my expectations and I strongly recommend for all non-finance professionals. I particularly enjoyed the teacher's ability to explain even the more intricate concepts.

von Andres P

Oct 20, 2016

Excelente curso!

von Gomathy P

Dec 03, 2016

I enjoyed the course a lot and is very inspiring to pursue my degree in finance.

von Tejas A

Jun 29, 2017

Aboslutely great course

von Jinfeng G

Mar 31, 2018

Great course for an overview of finance knowledge.

von Cathy Q Z

Jul 21, 2017

Very nice course. The instructor is great and it's a perfect start for anyone who wants to learn the basic finance concept.