Chevron Left
Zurück zu Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Finance for Non-Finance Professionals von Rice University

4.8
Sterne
2,031 Bewertungen
446 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This short course surveys all the major topics covered in a full semester MBA level finance course, but with a more intuitive approach on a very high conceptual level. The goal here is give you a roadmap and framework for how financial professional make decisions. We will cover the basics of financial valuation, the time value of money, compounding returns, and discounting the future. You will understand discounted cash flow (DCF) valuation and how it compares to other methods. We also step inside the mind of a corporate financial manager and develop the basic tools of capital budgeting. We will survey the how, when, and where to spend money, make tradeoffs about investment, growth, dividends, and how to ensure sound fiscal discipline. Our journey then turns to a Wall Street or capital markets perspective of investments as we discuss the fundamental tradeoff between risk and return. We then synthesize our discussion of risk with our valuation framework and incorporate it into series of direct applications to practice. This course requires no prior familiarity with finance. Rather, it is intended to be a first step for anyone who is curious about understanding stock markets, valuation, or corporate finance. We will walk through all of the tools and quantitative analysis together and develop a guide for understanding the seemingly complex decisions that finance professionals make. By the end of the course, you will develop an understanding of the major conceptual levers that push and pull on financial decision making and how they relate to other areas of business. The course should also serve as a roadmap for where to further your finance education and it would be an excellent introduction of any students contemplating an MBA or Finance concentration, but who has little background in the area....

Top-Bewertungen

KH
27. März 2020

Great Course, Very solid start for those who are trying to enter Finance world.\n\nIt makes you love this field if you are not familiar with it and have no previous experience.\n\nGreat Job Professor.

RM
16. Aug. 2020

This is a very well designed course. Taking you through basics and in the end puts you in a real business scenario where you are expected to take a decision based on the tools and concepts you learnt.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 446 Bewertungen für Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

von Owais S

7. März 2018

This was the first online course which I have ever taken, and I have to say that I absolutely loved it! The course is informative; the professor is excellent; the tests are relevant and practical, and the course is fairly priced -- especially compared to some of the other courses available on Coursera. The online material -- as in videos, documents, links and transcripts work very well -- and it has certainly led me to believe that I have received value for enrolling. I recommend this course to students and individuals who have a basic knowledge of economics (opportunity cost, etc) and have a basic interest in accounts and finance. Highly recommended! Thanks Professor Weston, Rice University and Coursera for a wonderful course! :)

von Kaitlyn L

28. Aug. 2020

James Weston's teaching style is great - he's enthusiastic, knowledgable, and simplifies the complex. As someone who was slightly intimidated by the concept of learning finance (which I have to do as a prerequisite for my graduate program), this was very easy to follow and grasp. This is basically a crash course for everything you need to know to get started on capital budgeting, taught in a logical, easy-to-digest format. Highly recommend to anyone that wants to get the basics down and can do the work with confidence by the time the course is over.

von Kevin H

27. Nov. 2019

The course in general covers the most essential topic in finance that regular non-finance folks may wonder: how finance helps a company run by providing the tools and methods for the management to make sound decisions. The instructor goes through all the topics with clear and easily understood explanations while giving insights about the practical use in the finance field. Overall, I genuinely enjoy the learning process in this course, and I would like to express my gratitude to Professor James and Ms. Christine for sharing their knowledge with us.

von Mayank M

2. Feb. 2019

Hello everyone,

I am a person from technical background who had an interest towards finance. The course started with the basic idea is to how actually things work in the field of finance and accounting, to financial statements and basics of how stock market works. I am satisfied to say that I got to learn a lot through the course and the instructor James Weston was quite through and simple to understand. I would recommend this course to every Non-Finance professional or student out there. Thank you Coursera!

von Enrique A P E

7. Sep. 2020

Professor Weston was great at keeping me interested since he's able to explain all the financial terms in a way that someone who has never taken finance course beforehand could understand. The course was also structured in way that facilitated this understanding with more advanced topics introduced until later weeks while also helping reinforce previous subjects by touching upon them again. I'm now even more interested in going deeper into many of the topics. Thank you!

von Deleted A

2. Apr. 2020

This is my first finance course where I have learnt the basic concepts, principles and tools to analyze finance problems. Overall this course is well-designed and the professor is very engaging. The final capstone case is a nice one to put everything together, although more clarification would be helpful. It would also be useful if some concepts and terminology could be explained more clearly via more practical examples. Thanks for the efforts for creating this course.

von Jaime N M

14. Feb. 2019

Very happy with the overall content, organization and curriculum of the course. It has allowed me to pear inside the world of finance from a theoretical and practical point of view. The exercises and problems presented proved challenging enough to seek external resources to further my understanding and of the appropriate level to not fall into frustration. Thank you Cousera, Rice university and Professor Weston for putting together this course.

von LUA C H

25. Nov. 2020

Great course overall. Professor James Weston was articulate and interesting, often giving real-life examples or different ways to explain the points he was trying to bring across. I believe I now have a basic understanding of the underlying principles of finance. Would recommend Prof Weston to conduct intermediate and advanced level finance courses so students (like myself) could continue to build on the principles taught in this course.

von H3nry_T

21. März 2021

definately one of the best online courses I took. its available to audit and provides some solid information and is nicely presented. explanations were clear and the reading material was actually quite good. my financial literacy was already quite good but this actually made it even better. I've always understood financial statements and the stock market however I now under stand the maths behind valuation models. very beneficial.

von ABHIJIT S

4. Apr. 2020

Good Day

Dear Sir , Ma'am ,

I sincerely thank Rice University and Coursera Platform for this opportunity .

Thanks and Warm Regards.

ABHIJIT SENGUPTA

Portfolio URL :

https://about.me/abhijitsengupta

Website : www.pactolianconsulting.com

E - Mail : abhijit@pactolianconsulting.com

Kolkata , India

Skype : abhijit.sengupta357

Ph. : + 91 33 25907110

Cell : + 91 9163863607

Whatsapp : + 91 8017648297

+ 91 6290750012

von Iain S

15. Apr. 2019

This is the best introduction to Finance I've ever received, and I worked alongside a Finance department for two years! The Finance concepts are made easy to understand and the quizzes are challenging enough to keep you going without being put off. I'd recommend this course to anyone who wants to understand how finance in business works, as the depth it goes to is pretty impressive for how short the course is.

von Jennifer R H

6. Sep. 2020

Finance may not be easy, as always, but it is still worth learning when it comes to math-related terms. It helps grow the knowledge of bonds, stocks, cash flows, initial investments, etc. as well as math formulas related to finance. Plus, I can use Excel to help make complicated things easy (ie. NPV, IRR). I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in finance, but with no experience (just like me).

von Deleted A

9. März 2017

Excellent course to give an overview of the Financial World. If you want to know the finances of your project or what the Finance Department in your organization does, this is the course to take. The course strikes the right balance between theory and practical examples and perfect for learners with little or not Financial experience. A big thanks to Professor Weston. Loved and enjoyed the course.

von Patrick M

18. Sep. 2020

This is a great course for non-finance professionals. The course expectations can be met even with a working schedule and other outside commitments. The time level required to complete is reasonable. The instructor does an excellent job presenting the material and the capstone project brings it all together in a "real world" environment at the end. Overall I enjoyed the class very much. Thanks!

von Qiuyang J

21. Juni 2020

Would one hundred percent recommend this course, professor Weston is really good at explaining details of vague concepts and provide you with many questions to practice.

One thing I would say is that the final capstone case is harder than expected, so you might need to consult your previous notes and read the context very carefully. Overall, great class I have ever taken online!

von Sitanshu P

11. Juni 2020

The way the professor has explained things is really noteworthy. Understanding the concepts to initiate more reading is the most important aspect i found in this course. Please suggest more reading resources if possible. Forums need to be more active as well.

Thank you for introducing finance. I will definitely make use of this knowledge for further transactions with finance.

von Adlirrahman A M

22. Juli 2020

Mr. James Weston is such a great instructor! I was able to understand most of these materials because of how clear the deliverance to us (viewer). Slight problem with The Capstone Case which has several 'unclear' instructions/questions. But overall it was challenging. As long as you follow the course carefully, you will pass all the assignments with great understanding.

von Colleen H

11. März 2019

Very helpful course. I have a liberal arts background, but the instructor makes the content and concepts easy to digest for anyone. It's a well-organized course so you feel like you're building on what you're learning each week. It definitely made me feel more confident in my career change from the non-profit space to business. I highly recommend this course.

von Bimal M

4. Apr. 2020

Delighted to learn the basics of Finance in a very effective manner which I could not have learnt thru the books. Really the teaching methodology leaves the long lasting positive punch on my mind and examples relates to the basic understanding. Quizzes are really nice and test and revises our understanding of the subject. Thanks and Regards____ Bimal Mehta

von Abraham C B

30. Apr. 2020

Si nunca has estudiado finanzas y quieres empezar a conocer las herramientas financieras para tomar decisiones de proyectos este es el curso ideal. Si nunca has visto nada de finanzas, al inicio vas a batallar porque todo es nuevo pero todo está muy bien explicado y a lo largo de las 5 semanas vas a tener las bases para tomar decisiones.

von Shreya S

4. Juli 2020

One of the interesting courses I've attended. It incorporates all the basic concepts involved in a finance environment, and helps you get a clear idea about applying them in all sorts of firms. It also consists of an assignment i.e a capstone example where we need to apply all the concepts in a real life scenario, which is interesting.

von miq@novozymes

22. Apr. 2020

1) It's not boring

2) It's very helpful

3) It's very easy to follow

Prof. Weston did a terrific job in making this course very easy to follow and understand, particularly for someone with non-finance background like myself. The videos and materials are also well-made and are much better than those in other courses I've applied before.

von bruce a

19. Sep. 2019

This is definitely the course to start off in Finance for Non-Finance Professionals. I sample other courses and never felt satisfied as with this course. I'm definitely going to sign up for other Corporate Finance Courses, but this course gave me the confidence and solid foundation to build upon my newly corporate finance acumen.

von kurt e

11. Nov. 2020

I've finished this course so fast because all classes were prepared qualified. The lecturer is so qualified and competent. All topics was taught easily to understand for a beginner. Moreover, there are "Finance in Field" videos at the end of each week. These interviews are very useful to understand real life examples.Thanks you.

von Dhaval B

5. Mai 2020

I was a beginner in finance. I was intimidated by financial terms. This course does a wonderful job in breaking down the complexities and displaying it in a very simple and understandable manner. The practicality of this course is also amazing. The discussions with an actual practitioner were the best parts of this course.