Chevron Left
Zurück zu Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Finance for Non-Finance Professionals von Rice University

4.8
1,115 Bewertungen
219 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This short course surveys all the major topics covered in a full semester MBA level finance course, but with a more intuitive approach on a very high conceptual level. The goal here is give you a roadmap and framework for how financial professional make decisions. We will cover the basics of financial valuation, the time value of money, compounding returns, and discounting the future. You will understand discounted cash flow (DCF) valuation and how it compares to other methods. We also step inside the mind of a corporate financial manager and develop the basic tools of capital budgeting. We will survey the how, when, and where to spend money, make tradeoffs about investment, growth, dividends, and how to ensure sound fiscal discipline. Our journey then turns to a Wall Street or capital markets perspective of investments as we discuss the fundamental tradeoff between risk and return. We then synthesize our discussion of risk with our valuation framework and incorporate it into series of direct applications to practice. This course requires no prior familiarity with finance. Rather, it is intended to be a first step for anyone who is curious about understanding stock markets, valuation, or corporate finance. We will walk through all of the tools and quantitative analysis together and develop a guide for understanding the seemingly complex decisions that finance professionals make. By the end of the course, you will develop an understanding of the major conceptual levers that push and pull on financial decision making and how they relate to other areas of business. The course should also serve as a roadmap for where to further your finance education and it would be an excellent introduction of any students contemplating an MBA or Finance concentration, but who has little background in the area....

Top-Bewertungen

JS

Oct 02, 2019

Very good overview of finance. For everyone looking, this is not specific to personal finance, but rather a general view and introduction to the most general topics. And a great one at that!

SC

Mar 26, 2018

Very good learning experience.\n\nThe course is ideal for people having an interest in Finance! No prior knowledge needed!\n\nThe Prof. makes sure you are involved throughout the lecture!

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 217 Bewertungen für Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

von j

Dec 11, 2016

Awesome content and execution. Focused delivery and student-friendly approach. Highly recommended!

von Fadia M S

Nov 12, 2017

Great Course, it gives very good insights and understanding of the finance world. I enjoyed it and I believe it will help me in my career.

von Andres P

Oct 20, 2016

Excelente curso!

von Joanne

May 26, 2018

this is a great head start for anyone transitioning into a new (or more financially based) career or academic training.

von Russell M

Jan 23, 2017

It's cool to do classes from prestigious universities, especially when learning how to be financially literate!

von Elie A

Jan 20, 2017

I really enjoyed this course as it simplifies the subjects and we build some excel sheets.

Thank you professor

von Martin E

Nov 21, 2017

Very good video lessons and the general outline of the course was "just right" in both timeline and content

von Akshay B

Feb 19, 2017

A very good course for those who don't have any Finance background but are interested in it. This course gives you an insight into the Financial Matters and helps you to make better decisions. Also the Mentor teaches in such a way that you find yourself familiar with this field. Very nice course and the way of teaching.

von María G R G

Mar 20, 2018

Excellent course!

The distribution of the subjects and the time that its invest in each one is ideal. One of the best teachers that i've seen, not only his knowledge but the way that he can traspass that knowledge and make you understand really difficult concepts.

von Ilya K

Oct 14, 2016

Very well structured and clear course. Professor is truly amazing

von Victor R G

Sep 08, 2017

It is a very interesting course and I have learnt a lot of new concepts about every day finance which will be useful for my career in the future.

von Olivia W

Jun 21, 2018

Super useful as an intro class for people who have some econ background.

von Jingwen W

Oct 15, 2016

Great course for somebody who wants to learn the basics about Finance.

von Pawel P

Dec 11, 2016

This is a full of content, very focused and well thought-out course. Mr Weston stays on topic and presents the material in a very coherent, logical, clear way.

von Mahsa J M

Feb 06, 2017

Amazing course. thank you.

von Cathy Q Z

Jul 21, 2017

Very nice course. The instructor is great and it's a perfect start for anyone who wants to learn the basic finance concept.

von Sameer A S

May 29, 2018

Its a great course, and i enjoyed the week 1 so far,

von Nikolaos P

Jan 11, 2018

Excellent course! High quality content and very nice presentation. Thank you

von Mayank P

Jun 15, 2017

very informative and well designed course that will provide you all the necessary finance info necessary if you are of an engineering or arts background.

von Shanshan W

Dec 21, 2017

Great class for non-finance professionals

von Keith A M

Apr 27, 2018

Really enjoyed the financial breakdown of publicly traded companies. Also, a way to show the overall health. Additionally, knowing and understanding interest rates is extremely beneficial. Even outside of the financial arena, knowing this information is beneficial.

von Raymond Y

Jul 18, 2017

Excellent presentation and explanation by the professor.

von Madhawa W

Jul 03, 2017

This is an amazing course! nicely structured with each week building on the past week and bringing everything together wonderfully in the end. Great for people who need a basic understanding in finance! Learned a whole lot without feeling like my head was being bombarded with facts

Highly recommended

von WEGELER M

Jun 01, 2018

Excellent.

von xiongfei z

Apr 14, 2018

very clearly and very logically