Chevron Left
Zurück zu Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Finance for Non-Finance Professionals von Rice University

4.8
Sterne
1,503 Bewertungen
307 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This short course surveys all the major topics covered in a full semester MBA level finance course, but with a more intuitive approach on a very high conceptual level. The goal here is give you a roadmap and framework for how financial professional make decisions. We will cover the basics of financial valuation, the time value of money, compounding returns, and discounting the future. You will understand discounted cash flow (DCF) valuation and how it compares to other methods. We also step inside the mind of a corporate financial manager and develop the basic tools of capital budgeting. We will survey the how, when, and where to spend money, make tradeoffs about investment, growth, dividends, and how to ensure sound fiscal discipline. Our journey then turns to a Wall Street or capital markets perspective of investments as we discuss the fundamental tradeoff between risk and return. We then synthesize our discussion of risk with our valuation framework and incorporate it into series of direct applications to practice. This course requires no prior familiarity with finance. Rather, it is intended to be a first step for anyone who is curious about understanding stock markets, valuation, or corporate finance. We will walk through all of the tools and quantitative analysis together and develop a guide for understanding the seemingly complex decisions that finance professionals make. By the end of the course, you will develop an understanding of the major conceptual levers that push and pull on financial decision making and how they relate to other areas of business. The course should also serve as a roadmap for where to further your finance education and it would be an excellent introduction of any students contemplating an MBA or Finance concentration, but who has little background in the area....

Top-Bewertungen

JS

Oct 02, 2019

Very good overview of finance. For everyone looking, this is not specific to personal finance, but rather a general view and introduction to the most general topics. And a great one at that!

FS

Jun 21, 2020

James is a very passionate and communicative lecturer. I really love the way he presents the materials because it makes all the materials are easily digested and understood. Two thumbs up!!

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 307 Bewertungen für Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

von Wit W

Dec 18, 2019

Great material. The instructor made a very boring subject somewhat fun. I still think bankers are evil but at least I appreciate their work a bit more :)

von Mayank P

Jun 15, 2017

very informative and well designed course that will provide you all the necessary finance info necessary if you are of an engineering or arts background.

von Rani R

Jan 12, 2018

Solid class and a great teacher that breaks this down into easily digestible classes with practice quizzes that test your understanding of the material.

von antonio b

May 20, 2020

The professor is very prepared and enthusiast. He makes the learning very effective and enjoyable. Good topic, clearly explained with great experience.

von Santosh R

Apr 05, 2017

Great course, learned a lot about reading financial statements and basics of conducting business valuation and investment assessment, very nicely done!

von Matthew T

Jun 27, 2020

Excellent lecturer, keeps the content compelling. Good worked examples and helpful quizzes to apply your knowledge. Video length seems just right.

von Victor R G

Sep 08, 2017

It is a very interesting course and I have learnt a lot of new concepts about every day finance which will be useful for my career in the future.

von Deep S

Jun 08, 2020

One of the best finance course I have done up until now, I would recommend this course who have an interest in finance and want to learn basics.

von Tan C M

Dec 09, 2019

Definitely ithe course provided knowledge & informations to the learner!I had learn somethings new & hopefully,this may make my work smoothly !

von Will K

Feb 13, 2020

Professor Weston was a terrific instructor... I related to the way he explained things and his walkthroughs of problems were very thorough

von Fadia M S

Nov 12, 2017

Great Course, it gives very good insights and understanding of the finance world. I enjoyed it and I believe it will help me in my career.

von Charity B

Mar 27, 2019

This is an excellent course taught by an excellent Professor. It was easy to follow and very interesting. I highly recommend this course.

von DEEPAK K S

Feb 10, 2019

This had been a great learning experience. I wish Prof. James keep providing such courses with Financial Aid option for students like me.

von Omri G

Feb 08, 2017

A great introduction to finance concepts such as DCF, NPV, IRR, discount rates, and the usage of these in the capital budgeting process.

von Yana S

Jun 08, 2020

Amazing course and a great professor! Recommend to anyone who wants to study Finances but does not know where to start from! Thank you!

von Priya M

Jun 17, 2020

I learned a lot in this course about the finance field. Professor Jones was really superb in teaching and very engaging lectures.

von Raghuram N

Oct 21, 2019

Great course for beginners who are interested in learning about key basics of finance. Instructor teaches the concepts very well

von AHMET

Jul 31, 2019

It conveys the topic as fun as possible and with nice examples. Concepts are told in such a manner that it makes a great sense.

von Yi T Y

Jul 22, 2019

Exactly what I needed to increase my financial knowledge. This will give me a good base to continue on other financial courses.

von Beng H S

Apr 02, 2017

This is one of the classes that I would recommend to anyone whom is interested to horn their skills and knowledge on finance.

von Mario G

Jun 08, 2019

Excellent basic course for non financial professionals. I have learned how to apply some tools into my day to day activities

von Matteo V

Feb 18, 2017

Fantastic course that gives you an overview of all the financial tools needed to evaluate companies and projects performance

von Cathy Q Z

Jul 21, 2017

Very nice course. The instructor is great and it's a perfect start for anyone who wants to learn the basic finance concept.

von Rahul N

Jun 08, 2020

Brilliant for people who have no background of Finance or people from Science Background. Thanks to James for such classes

von Joanne

May 26, 2018

this is a great head start for anyone transitioning into a new (or more financially based) career or academic training.