Chevron Left
Zurück zu Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Finance for Non-Finance Professionals by Rice University

4.8
658 Bewertungen
148 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This short course surveys all the major topics covered in a full semester MBA level finance course, but with a more intuitive approach on a very high conceptual level. The goal here is give you a roadmap and framework for how financial professional make decisions. We will cover the basics of financial valuation, the time value of money, compounding returns, and discounting the future. You will understand discounted cash flow (DCF) valuation and how it compares to other methods. We also step inside the mind of a corporate financial manager and develop the basic tools of capital budgeting. We will survey the how, when, and where to spend money, make tradeoffs about investment, growth, dividends, and how to ensure sound fiscal discipline. Our journey then turns to a Wall Street or capital markets perspective of investments as we discuss the fundamental tradeoff between risk and return. We then synthesize our discussion of risk with our valuation framework and incorporate it into series of direct applications to practice. This course requires no prior familiarity with finance. Rather, it is intended to be a first step for anyone who is curious about understanding stock markets, valuation, or corporate finance. We will walk through all of the tools and quantitative analysis together and develop a guide for understanding the seemingly complex decisions that finance professionals make. By the end of the course, you will develop an understanding of the major conceptual levers that push and pull on financial decision making and how they relate to other areas of business. The course should also serve as a roadmap for where to further your finance education and it would be an excellent introduction of any students contemplating an MBA or Finance concentration, but who has little background in the area....

Top-Bewertungen

SC

Mar 26, 2018

Very good learning experience.\n\nThe course is ideal for people having an interest in Finance! No prior knowledge needed!\n\nThe Prof. makes sure you are involved throughout the lecture!

MH

Oct 07, 2018

This course as the title suggests is actually required for non finance professionals to get an understanding of concepts in Finance. A very good and well structured course.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 of 149 Reviews for Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

von Rodrigo R

Jul 26, 2017

Excellent professor

von Owais S

Mar 07, 2018

This was the first online course which I have ever taken, and I have to say that I absolutely loved it! The course is informative; the professor is excellent; the tests are relevant and practical, and the course is fairly priced -- especially compared to some of the other courses available on Coursera. The online material -- as in videos, documents, links and transcripts work very well -- and it has certainly led me to believe that I have received value for enrolling. I recommend this course to students and individuals who have a basic knowledge of economics (opportunity cost, etc) and have a basic interest in accounts and finance. Highly recommended! Thanks Professor Weston, Rice University and Coursera for a wonderful course! :)

von Rafael B

Sep 21, 2017

This was an excellent course and I highly recommend it to others!

von Federico B

Apr 20, 2018

A really great course, every notion is explaine in a very simple and understandable way.

von Aaron J

Dec 11, 2016

I really enjoyed this course as a non-Finance professional. This is enabling me to better communicate with Finance resources on my team - on their terms.

von Rafael C H

Aug 20, 2017

excellent

von Olabowale G

Mar 14, 2017

FIve Stars

Excellent course information

Course Instructor - Excellent

von Gomathy P

Dec 03, 2016

I enjoyed the course a lot and is very inspiring to pursue my degree in finance.

von Tejas A

Jun 29, 2017

Aboslutely great course

von Jinfeng G

Mar 31, 2018

Great course for an overview of finance knowledge.

von Santosh R

Apr 05, 2017

Great course, learned a lot about reading financial statements and basics of conducting business valuation and investment assessment, very nicely done!

von Robin D Z

Jun 03, 2017

Great lectures. Step by step explanations, easy to understand.

von Raunak P

Nov 11, 2017

This is a very well developed course and also my first online course. It's really easy to follow and keeps you engrossed. The topics are very well threaded and makes the entire learning experience fascinating.

von Felipe d J C G

Mar 31, 2018

Excellent instructor and the content of the course w

von Sadiq A B

Jan 22, 2018

good course to do

von Prakash G S

Aug 26, 2017

Excellent course for Non-finance professionals to learn about important financial terms.

von Omri G

Feb 08, 2017

A great introduction to finance concepts such as DCF, NPV, IRR, discount rates, and the usage of these in the capital budgeting process.

von Rani R

Jan 12, 2018

Solid class and a great teacher that breaks this down into easily digestible classes with practice quizzes that test your understanding of the material.

von Anupam D

Mar 08, 2017

Outstanding course material

von Jairo S R

May 25, 2017

Very good course! Awesome professor with great materials and exams to take. Totally worth it

von Silas

Jan 09, 2018

Even for a real non-professional this course is excellent! I always was interested in this field, but taking this course has helped me so much, since it explains important measurements and calculations very simple.

von Marian G M

Apr 15, 2019

Fantastic course

von Iain S

Apr 15, 2019

This is the best introduction to Finance I've ever received, and I worked alongside a Finance department for two years! The Finance concepts are made easy to understand and the quizzes are challenging enough to keep you going without being put off. I'd recommend this course to anyone who wants to understand how finance in business works, as the depth it goes to is pretty impressive for how short the course is.

von Shahmeer U

Apr 21, 2019

It improved my skills a lot and cleared concepts of finance.

von Charity B

Mar 27, 2019

This is an excellent course taught by an excellent Professor. It was easy to follow and very interesting. I highly recommend this course.