Chevron Left
Zurück zu Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior von University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
Sterne
1,048 Bewertungen
249 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

All goods and services are subject to scarcity at some level. Scarcity means that society must develop some allocation mechanism – rules to determine who gets what. Over recorded history, these allocation rules were usually command based – the king or the emperor would decide. In contemporary times, most countries have turned to market based allocation systems. In markets, prices act as rationing devices, encouraging or discouraging production and encouraging or discouraging consumption in such a way as to find an equilibrium allocation of resources. We will construct demand curves to capture consumer behavior and supply curves to capture producer behavior. The resulting equilibrium price “rations” the scarce commodity. Markets are frequent targets of government intervention. This intervention can be direct control of prices or it could be indirect price pressure through the imposition of taxes or subsidies. Both forms of intervention are impacted by elasticity of demand. After this course, you will be able to: • Describe consumer behavior as captured by the demand curve. • Describe producer behavior as captured by the supply curve. • Explain equilibrium in a market. • Explain the impact of taxes and price controls on market equilibrium. • Explain elasticity of demand. • Describe cost theory and how firms optimize given the constraints of their own costs and an exogenously given price. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top-Bewertungen

FP

May 13, 2017

In the beginning I thought this was going to be a very basic course, but the way the professor explained the topics really make it interesting a practical, going beyond the classical economic theory.

KS

Sep 12, 2019

This was awesome. I did not know Firm Level Economics when I joined this course. The explanations were simple and Prof DeBrock explained really difficult concepts in a very easy to understand manner.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 243 Bewertungen für Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior

von Aninda B

May 02, 2016

Loved it throughout! If you have an introductory background of algebra and differential calculus, you will love this even more. Professor really knows his job, and he is doing great. Thumbs up! Thank you very much professor.

von Anurag P

Feb 21, 2016

good course to enroll in , will not disappoint you especially if you are new to economics , the instructor is very good and grading pattern is a lot of fun .not for economics major there is nothing in here for you folks ..

von Liu Y

May 14, 2020

loved Larry’s teaching. had fun:))

love Larry’s Transcripts

easy to follow especially for me with Dyslexia

particularly loves the graphs and special slides with importance that pull out the key points for me very helpful

von Jai P

Aug 31, 2018

The sessions were made very interactive and easy to follow, especially because of the graphical story telling ability of the Professor. It is not just boring equations, but a lively interaction. Thanks Prof. Larry!

von Akshay H

Dec 11, 2017

Excellent course by Prof. Larry Debrock!

How does a market work? How is the price of a product decided? When should you shutdown a firm? and a lot more.

This is the course to get introduced to Economics.

von Bruno C

Aug 09, 2017

Excellent professor.

Content well structured, videos, slides, quizz, assignments.

Support material and recommended reading also well structured.

Congratulations!

I was addicted until finishing in <2weeks!

von Fernando P

May 13, 2017

In the beginning I thought this was going to be a very basic course, but the way the professor explained the topics really make it interesting a practical, going beyond the classical economic theory.

von Konul M

May 29, 2020

Əvvəlcə qeyd etmək istərdim ki, çox yaxşı bir kursdur. Əminəm ki, bu kursda əhatə olunan materialın intensivliyi və dərinliyi gələcək karyeram üçün müsbət təsir göstərəcəkdir. Təşəkkür edirəm.

von Alireza A B

Feb 10, 2020

Concepts in this course are presented very thoroughly with real life examples and Larry is a great teacher! Learnt a lot in this course and looking forward to the second portion of the course.

von Val S

Apr 12, 2020

Professor DeBrock is one of the best teachers I have ever encountered. He makes a daunting subject understandable. I can't wait for more of the same in the next microeconomics course.

von Rakesh M S

Aug 23, 2017

Excellent course and very well explained every basic economic concept with real examples.

Thanks a lot Professor for allowing me to audit this course, wishing you a great success ahead!!

von Ekansh k s

May 19, 2020

Very well taught concepts, Complete coverage of syllabus. Communication from Larry or Per reviews, this course has provided a great experience towards learning economics. Thank you :)

von Sandra G R

Jan 07, 2020

I did not expect that the economic was so interesting, Larry is excelent in all the videos, and made me want to learn more about the economy, curves, marginal, revenue and shoutdowns.

von Neal S

Nov 26, 2017

Great class -- I have an undergraduate degree in economics. Of the many economics classes that I have attended in the past, this is by far one of the most enjoyable.

von Onkar I

Sep 22, 2019

Amazing course!! Prof.DeBrock is a highly experienced professor who teaches critical micoreconomics concepts in a really easy to understand and intuitive fashion.

von Kedar U

May 09, 2020

A very engaging course. Gets you intrigued from minute one. A must for all lazy mathematicians. [ you will know what I mean after you start this course ;) ]

von Himanshu G

Feb 12, 2020

Larry is a great teacher who builds your intuition. He also presents the material incrementally so that you understand the material. The exams are great!

von Omodiaogbe S

Feb 11, 2016

Great insights on the application of microeconomic theory to everyday decision-making. The application assignments makes the course more understandable.

von Siddharth J

May 10, 2017

It's a throrughly intriguing course with plenty of Economics treasure packed in nice and neat offering. It teaches you so much in such little time.

von Matthew S B

Sep 06, 2016

This was a great refresher on micro economics. The online format was easy to navigate and the content was challenging. Really enjoyed the course.

von Johanne P

Sep 12, 2019

Excellent explanations. I felt that the concepts are well explained. The additional reading and video materials were on point. Highly recommended.

von Colin F

Mar 21, 2017

worth your time and effort. some mathematical background required but professor Larry makes it very easy to understand the intuition behind the fo

von Kausar K

Mar 01, 2019

Learned a lot on Supply & Demand and different markets in this course. The course is well written/prepared and had a fun time going thru this.

von Pramod K

Sep 12, 2019

Professor DeBrock is a terrific teacher. He has the ability to explain complex concepts in a simple way using examples from everyday life.

von Anna M M

Jan 15, 2020

Professor Larry is an amazing Lecturer! I really enjoy this course and all the examples given on this course is very easy to understand.