Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
10,286 Bewertungen
2,940 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

CS

Aug 27, 2019

Very informative and useful. I'm from India and I look forward to study more about nutritional values of different foods. This course gave me a head-start and information to pursue my goal. Thank You!

NK

Feb 25, 2019

It was very informative course. It could have more quizzes and assignments. The way things were explained in the course was quiet interesting. Keep it up!! course. I really like this way of education.

Filtern nach:

2551 - 2575 von 2,899 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Jessica J

Nov 15, 2017

Very interesting introduction to health, understanding food labels, and how to make better choices. Everything was explained clearly and the structure was well prepared. I would have loved for it to further in depth into how the body is affected by different foods. I was also surprised and disappointed to see white sugar being suggested to use, especially in the recipes.

von Bart V

Oct 23, 2017

The course is nicely presented with clear speakers. It gives a good and basic overview of what includes healthy foods and the problem with processed foods. The use of visual aids in the form of pictures, graphs and short video clips definitely works well with this kind of topic. As an introduction or reminder of good eating habits, this course does its job just fine.

However, I did expect more depth. The source material was very short and simple, and the few academic parts (such as the graphics charts and chemical bonds making up some of the nutrients) were quickly glossed over. This also led to many quiz-questions being almost trivial because the answer was pretty much impossible to get wrong. For example, there are many questions of the following kind: "Q: What is true about vegetables? A: 1.They contain a variety of healthy nutrients. 2. It's better to eat only meat. 3. Processed foods are far healthier. 4. They contain extreme amounts of calories. 5. Supplements are much more effective sources of vitamins." These kinds of questions do not add any value to the assignment in my opinion. I felt that a little more depth at least would be good (without having to go overboard), and maybe some extra scientific articles (the extra suggested material are all full books, which is a lot to plow through).

However, since I understand the course is not meant to be an 8-week academic investment but an introduction to get people interested in topics concerning food and food habits, this course does a fine job of that, and I like the enthusiasm of the speakers! And they do often provide the simple material with statistics, which is good.

von Meghana R

Feb 27, 2018

It's very basic and mostly general knowledge but its good to be reminded

von RUBI Y

Feb 22, 2018

With the absolutely wonderful lecture, students and learn a lot from the course.But hopefully there will be more professional and advance information involved.

von Mahmoud A

Feb 12, 2018

Informative to an extent . needs more details .

von Edgar G G

Mar 06, 2018

Es un curso adecuado para conocer más sobre la dieta correcta y hacer un análisis en ello

von Michelle B

May 11, 2018

Great, very short, introduction to health. A very good starting point. I would love to learn a lot more, but I think this is something you can go through in an hour and take something away from. Would not pay for this certificate, but would still recommend taking!

von Heike S

Feb 26, 2018

A good course with good hints and recipes :-)

von Affan E

Feb 09, 2018

It was a very helpful course for me as i am becoming a nutritionist. Getting new ideas and oNgoing things in nutrition was a good thing to learn. It is a course filled with knowledge and practically how things are in the world.

von Lucas v d M

Mar 05, 2018

Content is nice, but at the end way too easy.

von Kat G

Sep 26, 2017

A good introduction. I was hoping for something a little more scientific, but for anyone just starting on a healthy lifestyle, it would be great!

von Amanda M

Nov 07, 2017

This class was a good introduction for people who are looking to make healthier eating habits. It did not provide as much education as I would have liked it to but number of course hours, it makes sense.

von Sayaka

Dec 08, 2017

I finished the course. It was very fun and easy to understand.

von Heather D

May 16, 2018

An excellent course, mostly for those new to the idea of eating healthily. I absolutely loved the first week which explained how food worked inside the body. I also was glad there was a list of books to read, documentaries to watch, and websites to use for continued science-based nutrition information. Thank you very much for providing this course!

von Sushanna W

Apr 28, 2018

Excellent! Very practical and informative!

von Tulasi L

Nov 29, 2017

EXCELLENT

von Hemanth R

Sep 10, 2017

Really helpful d out across in easy and comprehensive language. Fun experience

von Emmanuel R O

Mar 10, 2018

quite an interesting course.

von Peter L

Jan 17, 2018

its short but informative!

von Bessie G

Feb 01, 2018

Easy understanding, very interesting. Could be better if more information about nutrition is provided.

von Fatimo A

Feb 22, 2016

I liked everything about this course, from the presentation, to the method of teaching. It was great.

von Jennifer G O P

Oct 05, 2016

It had very basic information but interesting and I liked how the subject was explained.

von Роман

Feb 20, 2016

I really enjoyed the course, but i found out that there is not enough information about such aspects as vitamins, minerals and what happens to them while cooking, what methods of cooking are healthier, which helps most to preserve most of the nutritions and why, etc...

Nevertheless, I really appreciate your job and it was amazing feeling to spend some time with you because it was helpful and i enjoyed listening to your speech, voices and the culture overall. The knowledge will certainly be useful! Will suggest this course to my friends :)

Kind regards from your russian student!

von Genise W

Jul 24, 2017

F

von srinivas g

Apr 23, 2017

Thanyou for the course .its informative. I wish there is more metabolic description and consumer behaviour