Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
Sterne
28,199 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

NP

22. Aug. 2021

Very informative! Thanks for having this course free so that more people who are starting to learn about eating properply (like me) will be able to get access to authentic and legit lessons on food ;)

TL

30. Sep. 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

Filtern nach:

6601 - 6625 von 8,054 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Yumiko Y

9. Feb. 2019

This course was easy to understand, gave me chance to recheck my eating habit. As a Japanese I thought I know a lot about nutrition, food and health issue, since my mother often taught me with these issues including how to cook. However to learn from a professional from the start made me more clear and gave me the confidence what I learn from my mother was overall correct.

von Kim L

12. Juni 2020

A good basic overview of nutritional concepts and some of the science behind transfats and different dietary conditions. Quite basic at times so can be completed fairly quickly and easily but it's short so nevertheless it's a great way to reaffirm existing knowledge, gain perspective on the food industry in modern society and fill in the gaps of your nutritional knowledge.

von Valentina Q

20. März 2021

A good introduction to Nutrition if you're new to this field and you're not familiar with basic stuff like the difference between carbohydrates, protein, and fats. Some of the topics were briefly explained, but I understand it's an introduction so it's okay. I think it gives the necessary information to get you interested in taking charge of your eating habits and health.

von Jessica J

15. Nov. 2017

Very interesting introduction to health, understanding food labels, and how to make better choices. Everything was explained clearly and the structure was well prepared. I would have loved for it to further in depth into how the body is affected by different foods. I was also surprised and disappointed to see white sugar being suggested to use, especially in the recipes.

von Thian Y F

2. Dez. 2022

It's good to know more about the importance of taking real food in our daily lives, not only for better health in long run, but also we can learn some basic cooking skills to cater our own at home. Besides, we get to know more about the macronutrients structure and how our body metabolize these materials. It's not new to me, but I learn new things from here! Thank you!

von Jamie V

7. Apr. 2020

This is a great course! Although it was mostly a review of things that I already knew, I highly enjoyed learning about the properties of macronutrients and how they are digested in the body. I also appreciated learning about processed food versus real food and the recipe videos. I would love to see more content about other nutrients and specific foods in the future!

von Nazareno M

29. Okt. 2022

i liked the course, and i also understand is an introduccion course, but i was more expecting for something more international but the most of the info in it was about what happend in the usa. nice (or not so nice, sorry) but there are some background that really doesn't appy to those who are living in another countries.... but anyway, it was really nice. thanks!

von Nick I

18. Apr. 2020

This course felt very basic, which I liked. I didn't really have any knowledge as far as nutrition goes so it was nice to have everything broken down to the most basic levels. I wish they would've jumped into a little bit more depth or maybe added 2 or 3 more modules. It's nice to know more, but it would've been better if I felt like I got even more out of it.

von Zainab K

23. Okt. 2016

It was a very helpful course, giving an insight about our routine when it comes to food and health. It gives an understanding of how to take care of ourselves in the best way possible, and how easily we are fooled by media and the society to ruin our health in the long run. It is more essential than we think, to maintain a proper diet, so thank you for this.

von Sonja Z

22. Juli 2022

Very well put together presentation. Gives a really good simple explanation of why you should preferably stick to whole foods, mostly plant based, rather than fall into the trap of fad diets or highly processed 'easy' meals. It is rather basic though, so it really is for beginners. The recipes and videos at the end are highly appreciated and fun to watch:)

von Alice S M W

28. Mai 2020

This is a very basic course but the ideas are put across very well and I feel I am able to explain my food decisions in clearer terms when talking to my husband. I even told my doctor recently that I prefer to eat in moderation than choosing low fat or low/sugar free products because they have replaced what they removed with even more unhealthy substitutes.

von Matteo R

20. März 2021

Excellent course for beginners, especially the part on moderation.

Only sore point, it lacks a part dedicated to dairy products and their use in the diet.

Also talk a little more about how to manage portions by differentiating breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Maybe talk a little bit about allergies and intolerances would be nice too.

Nice part about the recipes.

von Mónica L A R

22. Okt. 2021

The course indeed is very good as an introduction to Food and Health. Very friendly. Learned new things. I wish there were PDFS to complement knowledge. Even though the videos are very explicative and that is good. Recipes are great. Thanks for this opportunity. Maya´s recipes are very good and I hope to prepare them some day. Videos are very well made.

von Lucia S

30. Mai 2022

As the course name says it's an "Introduction" - if you already have some knowledge in the field, you won't find much new information you've haven't heard before. Still it helped me organize my knowledge in a coherent and complete way. It definitely gives you motivation to change your eating habits and becoming a reliable advisor for those around you!

von Srinu L

19. März 2019

It was comprehensive and targeted the key points regarding food and health. I do wish there was more discussion with policy regarding food in the US and how it can sometimes be difficult for some to find healthy and fresh food. Also, the topic of preparing food and cooking was discussed but more tips for managing time and effort would have been nice.

von Heather D

16. Mai 2018

An excellent course, mostly for those new to the idea of eating healthily. I absolutely loved the first week which explained how food worked inside the body. I also was glad there was a list of books to read, documentaries to watch, and websites to use for continued science-based nutrition information. Thank you very much for providing this course!

von Deleted A

7. Juni 2016

Very interesting and enjoyable, I think the mix between information about food and recipes for healthy food is a good one. I do think that for example adding recipes to lectures about certain types of food would make it an even better combination. For people living outside the US, the information about healthy diets might seem a bit US centered.

von arpit m

11. Mai 2020

This course is great to learn the basics of nutrition but it is majorly based on western diet and culture. That's why I feel it is more constraint to a certain audience in some cases. Nevertheless, I enjoyed and learned basic day to day health and food habits, which I will try to implement in my lifestyle.

Thanks and Kuddos for making us aware.

von PRATEEK K D

25. Aug. 2019

explanation is excellent. i got to know much new things.

if you give some practical examples. and region wise available food and their dieting plan then it will be great. like i am from INDIA. here food are not same as like USA or other countries.

make a brief nutrition planning for different types of disease and daily exercise planning.

von Vivian W

12. Juli 2019

It is a simple course with basic knowledge, principles and recipes that everyone can apply to improve their daily meal and health. As I've read a couple of nutrition books, I found the content is not intensively structured enough for me. But I would definitely recommend it to my friends who care about their health or eat not very healthy.

von Director S N

28. Juli 2020

Excellent teaching in basics. Instead of the emphasis on recipes towards the end, I would have preferred learning more about what to eat when, what can be a healthy mix for what time of the day, diet for the more active, for the people with different objectives of weight and fitness etc. Maybe you could have an advance course for this.

von Sharoon S

14. Okt. 2017

This was an interesting course. It was visually appealing, timed just right and mostly informative. I would have liked for this to be a bit more scientifically informative. There was a lot of feel good episodes which I personally felt didn't add to my take away. I do appreciate the course instructors positive demeanor and presentation.

von Sheryl W

16. Sep. 2017

It was an informative course and enjoyable. I would suggest that in the last two lessons recipes be added for vegans and those with dairy intolerance. It was good to see gluten free recipes but they need adapting for egg intolerance. I would recommend this course as it is informative and tries to put things forward in a helpful manner.

von Ana M

15. Aug. 2021

A very easy and friendly introductory course for basic nutrition. Could expand a little more on concepts related to nutrients and their importance to the functioning of the human body and prevention of specific diseases. eg. Besides obesity and diabetes, blood pressure and bone related diseases that are influenced by the diet we take.

von Nancy I

10. Sep. 2018

I loved this course, i had so many new discoveries, so many different methods to prepare a healthy meal and to maintain a healthy lifestyle.

But i have a request, i need to put on a little weight coz i am underweight, if i could get recipe's for that i will be most grateful. Thanks again, you guys are doing a wonderful job over there!