Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
Sterne
28,199 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

SR

12. Juli 2022

learned alot on this course. Very knowledgeable and full of healthy recipes. Great way to start your goal. Along with excersice and healthy eating you are on your way to a great healthy mind and body.

PE

18. Okt. 2021

This course taught me a lot about the components of food! Processed and non-processed food which was the best food of all. I will be happy to spread this healthy dietary ways to my family and friends!

Filtern nach:

6676 - 6700 von 8,052 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Michelle B

11. Mai 2018

Great, very short, introduction to health. A very good starting point. I would love to learn a lot more, but I think this is something you can go through in an hour and take something away from. Would not pay for this certificate, but would still recommend taking!

von p u

9. Juni 2020

very useful as an overview for beginners who have very less idea on nutrition. but i wouldn't recommend it for someone who wants to gain expertise in diet planning ( for themselves or other). its very basic and helps bursting some common myths and misconceptions.

von Mitch B

30. Jan. 2016

Great information, but in some instances I would have liked to see the course delve a little deeper into the topic. This was a minor concern however, overall it provided the information that mattered, and did so in a simple and "easy to digest" manner. Well done!

von Julia S

24. Juli 2017

A pretty good course for beginners, or for those who simply wanted to be more educated on food and nutrition for the daily person. It is a little simple for those who have approximately a high school level knowledge of biology, but nevertheless, contains good ti

von Charl l R

7. Apr. 2019

Very simple yet informative course to familiarize yourself with the basics of nutrition. It really gives you the opportunity to also think about what you put into your body, and gives you the knowledge necessary to make better decisions regarding your own diet.

von surya p

2. Juli 2022

An excellent introduction to health, nutrition, and food. But the point of focus is mostly about western food, which I couldn't relate to most of the time. Nevertheless, I did enjoy the course's strong foundation regarding health, consumption, nutrition, etc.

von dv

7. Mai 2020

I already knew most of this, but it is very helpful and I like the easy A.

It's nice to have an easy course once in a while and it will still look good on a resume.

And it's nice to have what you already know reinforced. Though I do wish it had more content.

von Victoria A R

11. Juni 2017

El curso me pareció muy interesante y dinámico. Preferiría que en los cuestionarios pusieran preguntas de mayor reto y omitieran las que verdaderamente no tienen ningún sentido.

Felicitaciones! Me encanta coursera y me inscribiré a otro curso.

Gracias y saludos.

von STUTI K

6. Dez. 2021

i came to learn many important things as nutrients their requirements, amount in our plate ,what to eat and what to avoid, buy what and what not, right way to check ingredients list over the packaging and many more thank you for this course i really enjoyed.

von Mostafa E

28. Aug. 2017

this amazing and useful course is a great opportunity for everyone to really know more about food and how to improve the quality of it for a better health with amazing and very easy and useful explanation. it was really great opportunity to take this course

von Ginny B

4. Okt. 2021

Well presented with not too much information per session. For people who haven't got much basic knowledge about nutrition and healthy eating in practical terms. Just a refresher if you have done any health education or home economics classes at school.

von Anjali H

26. Dez. 2020

I like the information provided here but being an individual keen on nutrition, all this information was rather basic for me. I would have preferred a more detailed course. Nevertheless I quite enjoyed it and Maya seems very sweet and talented. Thank you.

von Yokebec S

9. Juni 2017

All the videos are very well produced and the information is easy to understand. Maybe is a good idea explore more content because a lot of information is available free in the documentary "In defense of food" (Michael Pollan) also in these video lessons.

von Shannon R

10. Aug. 2016

Good course. It would be nice to have 1 or 2 healthy meal recipes at the end of the course as an example. I like that I can work on the course as I have time. The only downside is posting comments for each chapter because it is not an active discussion.

von Miguel A P G

22. Juli 2020

Al inicio creí que no serviría, pero la información es un repaso de lo que mucha gente recomiendo - pero no todos practican.

Me gusto porque al final fue muy practico para conversar y persuadir a las personas que cambien a una alimentación más saludable

von Ana J

17. Apr. 2021

Very informative and good introduction to healthy eating. However, would have liked to have gone a bit further in gaining a better understanding of how different vitamins and minerals obtained from a plant and protein based diet supports good health.

von Jiwan T

8. März 2018

Great course to learn about the history of the western diet, contemporary debates and the implications on health and disease. Highly recommend this course for anyone interested in learning about one of the most important aspects of our health - FOOD!

von Pragya S

18. Mai 2021

This course will be very helpful for people who want to switch to a healthy and nourishing lifestyle. Provides valuable insights on how to choose the right ingredients and prepare a healthy diet plan. Really helped me kick start my health journey.

von J. P S

9. Juli 2020

The course has given an overview of the food and health to be adopted by people for a healthy life. The presentations were very useful in quick understanding and the notes have helped to go through them for more clarity before hearing the videos.

von Julie T

18. Nov. 2019

This course is interesting and provides a basic understanding of healthy eating, with simple tips, supported by science-based evidence. The structure of the course is well-though, which makes it easy to follow. Thank your for creating this course!

von Shruti N

16. Nov. 2018

This course provides an overview about food trends, nutrients and composition. It provides a basic understanding of the main food groups and what makes them healthy/unhealthy. There are helpful tips on how to start leading a healthier lifestyle.

von stannor

13. Juni 2020

An interesting short course which makes you conscious about what you are eating. Next time you know what is on your plate, and you decide whether to have it or not.We all learn something from this course. Thank you Maya Adam and Micheal Pollan

von Amit J

1. Aug. 2020

Quite an intriguing course. I completed it in two sittings. Could not help myself. As the course progresses it's gets interesting. I believe if you genuinely wants to start living a healthy life this course will surely help you achieve that.

von Rares M

1. Juli 2018

The course was very helpful and informative. Nevertheless the level of information delivered in the first session was way higher than the sessions to follow. Overall, it was a good course, but it could benefit from more in-depth information!

von Neha v

20. Sep. 2017

Being a mother i want to give best food to my kid and my family. There is no comparison to tasty and healthy food. What I learnt in this course is how to choose and prepare a healthy food and make it a habit to include it in your daily diet.