Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
Sterne
11,276 Bewertungen
3,249 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

NK

Feb 25, 2019

It was very informative course. It could have more quizzes and assignments. The way things were explained in the course was quiet interesting. Keep it up!! course. I really like this way of education.

TL

Oct 01, 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

Filtern nach:

2551 - 2575 von 3,219 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Juan J B L

Apr 02, 2018

It is a good place to start thinking about how to change your eating habbits. I looked for a course like this on YT but no luck. I didn't want to research diets, I wanted a holistic understanding of nutrition itself so I can make personally informed decisions. I want to understand how and why things work and don't work, rather than just trusting diet; this course really helped kick that off.

von LAKSHMI V

Oct 11, 2017

This course is presented in a neat and friendly manner. The simple language in explanation and illustration makes it enjoyable to delve into the course. I personally liked the way suggestions were presented in taking care of one's own and family health, rather than making it technical. I am glad I to have taken up and completed the course. Wishing many more delightful courses from Maya Adam.

von Deborah

Sep 06, 2016

This was an easy course and I found the information very helpful in making you aware of processed food. I think it could have been a bit richer by exploring some other areas of health and food. I felt like the main focus was on processed food. The good thing though I learnt so much about processed food and I'm making every effort to cut it and eventually eliminat it from my diet.

von Yixuan J

Jun 19, 2017

For an introduction course this is very clear and easy to understand. Some of the action plans, such as sensible substitution are very practical to adopt. I would wish this course to be more comprehensive, for example, not just focused on battling most common health issues in the US, but also health benefits of different vitamins or nutrition planning for different demographies.

von Yumiko Y

Feb 09, 2019

This course was easy to understand, gave me chance to recheck my eating habit. As a Japanese I thought I know a lot about nutrition, food and health issue, since my mother often taught me with these issues including how to cook. However to learn from a professional from the start made me more clear and gave me the confidence what I learn from my mother was overall correct.

von Jessica J

Nov 15, 2017

Very interesting introduction to health, understanding food labels, and how to make better choices. Everything was explained clearly and the structure was well prepared. I would have loved for it to further in depth into how the body is affected by different foods. I was also surprised and disappointed to see white sugar being suggested to use, especially in the recipes.

von Zainab K

Oct 23, 2016

It was a very helpful course, giving an insight about our routine when it comes to food and health. It gives an understanding of how to take care of ourselves in the best way possible, and how easily we are fooled by media and the society to ruin our health in the long run. It is more essential than we think, to maintain a proper diet, so thank you for this.

von Srinu L

Mar 20, 2019

It was comprehensive and targeted the key points regarding food and health. I do wish there was more discussion with policy regarding food in the US and how it can sometimes be difficult for some to find healthy and fresh food. Also, the topic of preparing food and cooking was discussed but more tips for managing time and effort would have been nice.

von Heather D

May 16, 2018

An excellent course, mostly for those new to the idea of eating healthily. I absolutely loved the first week which explained how food worked inside the body. I also was glad there was a list of books to read, documentaries to watch, and websites to use for continued science-based nutrition information. Thank you very much for providing this course!

von Frank J

Jun 07, 2016

Very interesting and enjoyable, I think the mix between information about food and recipes for healthy food is a good one. I do think that for example adding recipes to lectures about certain types of food would make it an even better combination. For people living outside the US, the information about healthy diets might seem a bit US centered.

von PRATEEK K D

Aug 26, 2019

explanation is excellent. i got to know much new things.

if you give some practical examples. and region wise available food and their dieting plan then it will be great. like i am from INDIA. here food are not same as like USA or other countries.

make a brief nutrition planning for different types of disease and daily exercise planning.

von Vivian W

Jul 12, 2019

It is a simple course with basic knowledge, principles and recipes that everyone can apply to improve their daily meal and health. As I've read a couple of nutrition books, I found the content is not intensively structured enough for me. But I would definitely recommend it to my friends who care about their health or eat not very healthy.

von Sharoon S

Oct 14, 2017

This was an interesting course. It was visually appealing, timed just right and mostly informative. I would have liked for this to be a bit more scientifically informative. There was a lot of feel good episodes which I personally felt didn't add to my take away. I do appreciate the course instructors positive demeanor and presentation.

von Sheryl W

Sep 16, 2017

It was an informative course and enjoyable. I would suggest that in the last two lessons recipes be added for vegans and those with dairy intolerance. It was good to see gluten free recipes but they need adapting for egg intolerance. I would recommend this course as it is informative and tries to put things forward in a helpful manner.

von Nancy I

Sep 10, 2018

I loved this course, i had so many new discoveries, so many different methods to prepare a healthy meal and to maintain a healthy lifestyle.

But i have a request, i need to put on a little weight coz i am underweight, if i could get recipe's for that i will be most grateful. Thanks again, you guys are doing a wonderful job over there!

von Akshay

Jan 22, 2020

Really nice course to begin for beginners. Gives basic understanding of food and changes the way you would look at food the next time after taking the course. Should go for this course even if its not related to your career tracks. Decent explanation and really emphasis on the difficulties we face in day to day life regarding food.

von Mansi K

Jan 29, 2016

I star reduced because it was somehow lacking in assignments and practical applicable steps to start eating healthy. A great base of information to build on and offer more in depth of what foods to eat and not to eat. Would also love more information on label reading and organic vs Other food. Extra Virgin vs Virgin Olive oil etc.

von Maggie W

May 05, 2017

I loved that a lot of the content was easy to understand and convenient to follow. The materials is definetely helpful for anyone who has interests in eating healthy or even losing weights. I was just a little surprised that the last week of this class turned into a series of cooking videos. Overall, this was an amazing course!

von Lauren B

Apr 12, 2016

If you are looking for advice on how to live a healthier life I believe this might be a great course for you. However, if you are looking for depth in the nutritional science this course will be unfulfilling. I stopped after the 3rd week of lessons because this course did not contain the scientific information I was hoping for.

von Vo N D

Dec 31, 2016

The course is very well managed and so informative from basic knowledge about foods and its nutrition then takes us a very fundamental but bold about nutrition and health. For those who does not like to read lot of books to come up with a simple and quick idea about how to have a health eating, this is a recommended one.

von Fabian H

Aug 11, 2016

Interesting topic and very good information

Not enough content (my opinion)

Tests where way to easy, I could take them all without first watching the videos, and my grade ist above 90%. The questions are (espacially in Week 3 and 4) easy to solve with logic and a basic intelligence. Please work on making it harder! :)

von Marwa E

Mar 11, 2017

Simple and practical

I really enjoyed this course and how it managed to focus on the beauty and enjoyment of food as a main point in making healthier choices when it comes to diet. I only hope there is another follow up more in-depth course with more information on micro-nutrients and hormonal influence on obesity.

von Jeyana M

Jan 19, 2016

In general, this course is great! Thank you so much for it.

Great lectures, great videos, animations and slides.

One thing I didn't like is the assumption, that cooking at home will do so much help in slowing down the obesity epidemic. Here in Ukraine most of us don't eat out, but obesity is prevalent nevertheless.

von Bhim R M S

Feb 02, 2020

Ever since I learnt about healthy eating, I became very captivated with the topic. I was very curious and my how food affects our health and how we can protect ourselves by eating right. This course has enlightened me about the various aspects that we have to consider when choosing what we eat and how we eat it.

von daniel h

May 02, 2018

A good way to start your research into what food is, what you can do with it and how food works in your everyday life. The videos are informative however lacking charisma to keep the student entertained.... This may not be a negative. This is about facts and Standford provides a good base to start from.

Thanks.