Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
9,844 Bewertungen
2,824 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

TL

Oct 01, 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

NK

Feb 25, 2019

It was very informative course. It could have more quizzes and assignments. The way things were explained in the course was quiet interesting. Keep it up!! course. I really like this way of education.

Filtern nach:

2651 - 2675 von 2,798 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Hans W

Sep 06, 2017

it was alright

von Tyler Y

Oct 15, 2016

Not a very high volume of material.

von Vita V

Jul 12, 2017

Для тех кто хоть иногда готовит и немного интересуется тем что он ест, курс полезен не будет.

von Carolina G d S C

Dec 23, 2016

The course should focus more in health professionals

von Kartika H

Mar 24, 2018

It has been helpful to learn more about cooking & the importance of cooking - but would be cool if the class can go more in depth!

von Sarah S

Jan 26, 2016

more scientific evidence would have been useful

von Evan C

Aug 02, 2017

Well produced and informative, but very very basic. I thought that it would be a little more in depth and require a little more study. I think I could have passed the quizzes without watching the videos.

von Andy N

Feb 03, 2016

If you have some basic knowledge about food and nutrition, then this course is not the right for you. It's very basic and sometimes trivial. But the lecturer and course itself was really nice.

von Jessie Z

Mar 16, 2016

It was filled with a lot of interesting, pertinent information but I did feel that there was not enough variety in terms of interviews and I do wish that she had delved more into some of the topics. I understand it was an overview but I often felt that it was very brief.

von muffinator

Jan 20, 2016

Helpful ideas, but could use some more practical suggestions.

von Mark K

Jun 23, 2016

This course should be longer and more in depth. However, I did find the readings quite useful and intriguing.

von Vika R

Sep 20, 2016

The course is a bit too basic, I expected to get deeper information about healthy eating than this course suggests. Thank you

von Valeria C

Feb 08, 2016

Interesting and well presented information. I wished the course had been more interactive and had spent more time on the chemistry of nutrition. Also the lectures and quizzes could have been longer.

von Felix B

Jul 03, 2017

I think, it gives a good overview over food and the health implications from eating less processed food for instance. However, I think a lot of the material is too much focused on the US. In a lot of countries (especially across Asia), people do not cook at home but eat at food courts, which do not use processed food and are equally healthy than what we would cook at home. Also, being interested in this topic, I think most of the concepts were rather basic and did not go into depth too much.

von Holger E

May 27, 2016

Interesting, but not so much new things to know when you've already learned about healthy food. It's ok.

It's quite hard because of the english language. :(

von Ondrej Š

Oct 25, 2016

This course provided me with some vital knowledge about health and nutrition, however, I consider it to be very short and rather shallow. The issues would require more coverage, than, with some weeks, 15 minutes for the whole week. Another issue is the tests. 50 % margin for passing the exam seems too easy. The videos have great graphics and the issues are well explained. Overaly 3/4 stars.

von Surraine B

Jan 30, 2016

Overall, I found this course to be a good refresher given my prior knowledge / skill base. I could see this course being very good for absolute beginners with little to no knowledge of nutritional concepts or cooking. I personally was looking for more advanced / in-depth information about nutritional science in order to better equip me to be a knowledgeable resource for my clients (with whom I primarily work around health / wellness related issues). Additionally, the cooking ideas / concepts were all practices that I already utilize in my own kitchen / feeding my own family. One section that I did find incredibly helpful was the discussion about the different types of fats.

As it stands, I would definitely recommend this course to a client, friend, or family member starting out at a beginner's level (like my fiance) or anyone who needs a refresher.

von Luís F d C F

Sep 26, 2016

Achei um tanto superficial

von Stacey O

Jan 04, 2017

This is all information I already have in my arsenal after researching health trends and learning more about how I should eat. I was hoping for something a little more detailed.

von Eduardo F P

Mar 07, 2018

Es un curso bastante básico pero útil para personas que se inician en temas nutricionales

von Luka O

Apr 12, 2017

I feel like it was rather short and not too detailed

von Paolo A

Jan 22, 2016

Way too basic. Only useful to people living in the US having extremely unbalanced diets.

von Daphne G

May 05, 2016

This was a very baseline introduction and basically a summary of Pollan's books and ideology. The positive is that is was very accessible in time and presentation however provides little insight to ins

von Swede C

May 20, 2016

I was hoping for something a little more scientific and a little less home-ec-y.

von Fernando D

Oct 18, 2016

I enjoyed the course but quite frankly, it was very basic.