Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
Sterne
24,522 Bewertungen
7,128 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

JJ

22. Jan. 2021

Love how Maya presented the course and I especially love the cooking sessions featuring her cute kids. I am looking forward to reading her book or if she has any YT account featuring more home cooking

VI

18. Jan. 2021

It was an interesting and informative, at a basis level, course. The information is easy to understand and the new gained knowledges tend to remain in your memory, due to short and interactive videos.

Filtern nach:

401 - 425 von 7,175 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Gurudutt K

16. Dez. 2020

Awesome course. Both Maya and Michael were fantastic. Loved the short, information packed, videos. Loved the Note feature. Quizzes were good too. Need a more indepth course too. This was truly very basic. Many thanks for a fantastic learning experience. I have started eating healthy...the proof of the course!

von Kyle H

7. Mai 2020

For a beginner in nutrition this course is great! Everyone should know what they are eating, just like they should know what their health is telling them, since food can be directly tied to your health. Great beginners course, great guest, great instructor, great school, and great information. Cannot complain!

von Tamar J

7. Apr. 2019

I had very basic knowledge about food and nutrition. I hate cooking at home and think that it isn't worth spending time on... But after this course I think I revise my findings and try to eat more healthy and cook at home. I have many questions, this is basic course and recommended for starters in this field:)

von Adalis F

20. Jan. 2018

Wonderfull done, the explanation by MD Maya Adam and the observations of Tim Dang are fantastique: claire and very well ilustreted, It is so interesting to learn better how, when, where, and what to eat , if you have a general idea, with this training you will be more accure that you eat healthier and better.

von niky L

26. Nov. 2016

I'm a student form China exactly. I thought it may be difficult for me to learn in English originally, but illustrated with the lively and vivid cartoon, the course is more efficient and thorough to understand. Anyway, thanks all who provide such a exquisite and meaningful course for us to learn about. Thanks.

von Maria I V

20. Jan. 2016

I really enjoy the course. I learn a lot of things about food that i didn't know.

On the other hand I realized I was wrong about the amount of food we eat , the portions and the way of thinking about food.

It's a very interesting course, the material is very clear. I enjoyed very much!!!

Greetings from Colombia

von JHEZICA A B

3. Mai 2020

Es un curso básico pero muy completo, un viaje introductorio con tips esenciales para mejorar estilos de vida y aproximarnos a opciones más saludables. Me reconforta saber que voy por buen camino en mi relación con loa alimentos sin caer en compras potenciales de alimentos orgánicos y que cuestan mas dinero.

von Meghan E

21. Apr. 2020

Maya's videos at the end were a great way to reinforce the idea that WE are in charge of what food goes into our bodies. And also, the foods don't need to be super glamorous or fancy, tasty and nutritious do not have to be opposites! Great introductory course to learning about how to fuel our bodies. Thanks!!

von Derek J B

12. Sep. 2017

Just what I needed to take better control of my relationship with food and what I put in my body. I walked away with a basic understanding of nutrition and am more empowered than ever to cook. It's true, we make cooking out to be an arduous task but in reality it's fun, rewarding, and it can be pretty simple.

von jagdish s

9. März 2021

The contents and the way of teaching with practical examples by Maya is excellent. Nutrition and its components calories and nutrients is explained nicely. Maya had given the course a deep learning way by inducting the friendly home environment which reflects the sincerity, utmost interest and the workshops.

von marie t

11. Apr. 2020

This was a really good, clear and concise introduction to food and health. I thought the information was presented well and in a manner that was not overbearing or fanatical but rather, honest and achievable. I would recommend this course to those who need inspiration for creating a healthy lifestyle change.

von Rafael A

9. März 2016

The course is great for beginners in nutrition, it helps dissolve a lot of the misinformation in the food industry today and can help change our eating habits with some helpful tips and lessons. A follow-up course would be needed to really expand and touch upon the many subjects this course introduces us to.

von ankur p

24. Dez. 2018

This course really introduces the basics of food & health in a very simple yet effective manner. Great thing is, it goes in to details which are necessary without making it too technical. It also covers a little bit of history, basically as a introductory course which is adds value to the overall knowledge.

von Aditya h

12. Juni 2016

Fantastic content!. Prof Maya condenses healthy eating into concrete and simple item sets -

1.What food items to eat and what to avoid

2. Where to find them in the Supermarket, how to read the nutrition labels on packaged food

3. Healthy cooking with minimal ingredients

4. Awesome recipes for healthy dishes

von KATHERINE B

10. Mai 2022

Es un excelente curso, que nos permite educarnos como alimentarnos sobre todo eliminar las grasas trans, tomar agua en ves de jugos azucarados y sobre todo que nuestra dieta sea sana con consumo del 50% de vegetales y con ejercicio fisico nos ayudara a mantenernos con buena salud y excelente estado fisico.

von Sofia P B

16. Aug. 2021

I actually enjoyed watching the short videos in this course. I finished it within a week, because it is not too hard. It is like an appreciation course about food and health food choices. However, as a graduate of food science, I don't like the part where they slightly portray processed foods as bad foods.

von Amel

25. Juli 2021

From this course I got a lot of new knowledge, starting from where we do a healthy diet, how to choose foods that are suitable for diet, processing food properly, the importance of cooking food at home instead of having to buy fast food out there, healthy types of food for we consume to improve our health

von Быкова В А

30. Juni 2021

С​амое главное достоинство этого курса – его простота. После прослушивания курса не появляется паники формата "я все делаю неправильно". Появляется понимание, какие полезные привычки можно внедрить в свою жизнь. Курс понравился, активно рекомендую знакомым, помешанным на диетах и новых модных ограничениях.

von maria i i

16. Aug. 2017

I thought everything about this course was important. With so many new trends, diets, books, "research" theories, etc; its very good to learn what actually matters. I would recommend this to every single person I know that is not completely sure if they're eating the "right way" that supports their health.

von Sarah W

12. März 2017

This quick course helped me FINALLY understand the importance of nutrient-rich foods and how they are used in the body. It repeats a lot of information I've heard throughout my life, but explains the WHY behind it. I feel confident to make much better decisions about my food and, therefore, overall health.

von Joyce C

12. Jan. 2021

I certainly learned a lot in this course. Congratulations to Dr. Adam and the staff! It was a very simple way of educating those who are at a loss on the practical aspects of healthy eating. I definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve their diet. Thank you for offering this for free!

von Sherrye B

19. Okt. 2020

Maya does an excellent job of explaining food nutrition and how I can have a healthier lifestyle. I especially like the fact that she gave me take-away recipes and showed step-by-step videos of their preparation. I tried several new things and they proved to not only be simple and healthful but delicious!

von Abigail R

23. Jan. 2018

It's a great course! I've learned a lot about healthy eating and I have been inspired to eat better. Eating healthy is hard, in my opinion, because unhealthy food is all around you, is cheaper, and looks very appealing. However, in this course, she made eating healthy look appealing and not too expensive.

von Angélica S

1. Apr. 2016

I recommend widely this course, it reaches very important information about our western diet and how can we improve it to a healthy diet. As a Physician I got important tips for my patients, most of them have metabolic syndrom; and obviously I want to apply this information to me and to my family health.

von Roshni n

13. Mai 2022

it felt like a great guide for starting being conscious of our eating habits, food choices along with some insights of why and how the food we consume affects our lifestyle and body in long or short term.Instructed greatly by Dr.Maya , the alternative healthy recipes just added a subtly good touch to it.