Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
Sterne
22,327 Bewertungen
6,629 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

GG
7. Okt. 2021

this course changed my view on healthy eating and also instilled healthy cooking habits in me! I absolutely oved the simple , delicious and healthy recipes! definitely trying them out ! Thank you Maya

SD
6. Aug. 2020

I really enjoyed doing the course, Very elaborate and informative course. Things are simplified so much that anybody can understand the basics of nutrition which helps in making the wise food choices.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 6,635 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Elena S

17. Mai 2019

Really enjoyed all the information laid out very simply and was encouraging not judging.

von Jing X

21. Mai 2019

informative and easy to follow

von Hannah S

16. Jan. 2020

I enjoyed the first week as it delves into the science behind food but the last three weeks felt like common sense tips.

von Jessica S

18. Jan. 2016

Far too easy and far too basic for me. I would have hoped for a more in-depth and scientific look at food and nutrition.

von Biswajeet D

20. Mai 2019

wonderful any one want to great knowledge should do this course from stanford....

von Maggie W

6. Apr. 2020

This course allows me to mend my relationship with food and eating again. I used to be so caught up in just trying to lose weight and tried various of difficult-to-maintain diets and felt very discouraged when the result was not as pleasing as I wished. But after taking this course, it not only helps me relearn some of the fundamental knowledge about food but it also put me in a totally new perspective of how we should eat. It inspires me to cook at home more often and treat each meal as a celebration of food. I would definitely recommend this course everyone!

von Adderly D J v A

8. Dez. 2019

me gusto mucho, el contenido es muy fácil y las gráficas ayudan mucho a comprender mejor los temas, y la descripción de la profesora es facil de comprender. me gusta mucho por los subtitulos porque no se hablar ingles pero tengo los subtitulos en español y puedo comprender todo el material que estan hablando.

von Phuong N

23. Aug. 2021

Very informative! Thanks for having this course free so that more people who are starting to learn about eating properply (like me) will be able to get access to authentic and legit lessons on food ;)

von Cauan N

14. Mai 2021

Really good as an introductory guide to general human nutrition. Gives great insights on cooking, planning meals and health diet habits. It's a rather short course with actually impactful information.

von Alexander W

6. Dez. 2019

A bit short, didn't give me the feeling of accomplishment I wanted! Plenty more to add about Water. How and why it makes you feel hungrier being dehydrated or fills you up when you "feel" hungry. Some info on why "athletes" eat/ need more protein and maybe some info on how people work out their calories. i.e. Fat 1-2g per KF or Lean body mass. Protein about 1.4-.18g * bodyweight(in kgs). Then carbs fill up the remaining subtracted by your Metabolic rate + exercise/

von Ruslan Z

5. Okt. 2019

I don't trust health "experts" found on Internet but Coursera has some credibility, especially if course is published by Stanford University. That was a reason why I enrolled into it - wanted to get facts I can trust.

There was very basic information about nutritious, acid and proteins without scientific facts really. I found 1/3 of the videos are useful but remaining part is an interview (sic!) with journalist. Seriously, Dr. was asking opinion on the food from the writer. Not much science in this, isn't it? And a last thing I'd expect is a few hours of recipes - I'd rather prefer to hear for foundation which would help me to make a right decision when it comes down to cooking

Another thing caught my attention is statement that home cooking - is the only way to eat healthy. I love cooking but I don't have time to do so. Is there naive assumption that all restaurants cook from the processed food or was it a way to sell something?

For somebody who consider this course - it might worth for the basic information about what is the food. Don't expect science

von Sofia P D M

5. Mai 2020

I always thought I needed to have an IDEA on HOW to follow a HEALTHY diet, but I never felt like having the chance to spend some time on it.

When, due to the COVID pandemic, I had MORE TIME, I decided to check the possibility of doing some course on HEALTH and NUTRITION online. When I found THIS ONE, I immediately thought it would be WONDERFUL for me.

Since the moment I started, It got me "hooked", I found it so "easy going" and INTERESTING, that I wanted more, more and more of it! I just wanted to finish it the same day!

I even got a bit "pissed" cause at the beggining the QUIZZES were "locked" with specific dates, and I wanted to continue further and further, I did not want to wait. (I was even complaining about it everywhere I could).

But then, when I saw on Monday 4th May, that all QUIZZES were UNLOCKED, I was sooo HAPPY, I immediately continued and finished it all so HAPPILY.

It's a very SATISFYING course. Professor MAYA Adam, MD, makes it so SIMPLE and passionating to follow it, that you just want to go on and on with it. She's an AMAZING person and an incredibly GOOD MENTOR, I want to THANK HER and the Stanford University for having made this COURSE and having given people the chance to follow it onlie.

I HIGHLY recommend it to EVERYONE, no limitations, and AGAIN, I want to thank MAYA and all who contributed, for this great COURSE.

Sending you the VERY BEST regards from Spain!!

von Meharaj A

30. Mai 2017

Videos were simple,interesting and easy to follow and I finished it one day:). I appreciate Michael and Maya for including Indian food and Islamic view on diet .

I am a Muslim and born in south India. Based on that I would like to comment on few things;- Quran mentions that eat and drink( any healthy drink except alcohol) but do not transgress; It is more explained in Hadeeth, teachings of prophet Muhammed, peace be upon him that for a man a few morsels are sufficient; if he is still hungry let him fill his stomach with 1/3 food, 1/3 water and 1/3 air. It's a pity that in all developed countries we eat food for fun and pleasure.

In South India, Idli is made by soaking rice, black gram(urad dal or uzhunthu) , fenugreek seeds for a few hours, grinding it with salt, fermenting it overnight and steam boiling it the next day. It's balanced with any fresh ground chutney or sambhar(lentil soup) or Idli podi(lentil powder). What Maya showed is called pittu another south Indian dish. In easy blend pancake recipe, baking mix is typed as backing mix. In islamic culture, the theme is 'we are based on what we eat'.That's why it has more guidelines on what we eat and how much we eat and how eat. Unfortunately, we, muslims ignored that guidelines. In India, they are adopting western foods :(

Thanks! Looking forward to see more research on the way eat !

von Tracy A W

7. Juli 2020

The title is Introduction to Food and Health, and that's what it is - an introduction. The information is presented in a clear and concise manner, but in order to pass the quizzes, you have to pay attention and listen. I took the class because I realized that I have never had any formal training in how to eat, and I feel like I really gained some knowledge about that subject. Some of the information I did already know but maybe not in a detailed manner. What I didn't know was cleared up for me. Most importantly, I truly started to understand the reasoning behind eating whole foods instead of processed foods. And I've always felt like cooking was too hard or beyond my reach, but after listening and then watching the videos at the end, I feel like maybe it's not so hard. I haven't had that many successes in the kitchen, but the recipes presented were easy to understand, and not complicated and had simple ingredients. One thing, I wish those recipes included nutritional information so that we know what we're eating - for those of us who are weight conscious, etc. Also the instructor is very pleasing to listen to and I enjoyed her take on things. Thank you!

von Arina C

8. Nov. 2020

This course was a short introduction to health. It teaches the audience the importance of nutrition and its relationship between health and food we consume. I found this course interesting, with accessible, clear information, that can be understood by everyone. This online course is a great opportunity to get insights from nutritionists and change lifestyle, that can lead to significant improvements.

The course was consisted of video lectures, graded assignments and readings. The video lectures were clear, with lots of visuals and easy to watch and assimilate. The readings were entertaining and interesting to read. The assignments were all based on the video lectures with clear formulated questions.

My goal for this course was improving my lifestyle, by getting new information about health, food and nutrition and I think I accomplished it. I am very happy about completing the course, because it was worth the effort and time. I am very thankful to Coursera and Stanford University for creating this wonderful course.

von Xin S

5. Sep. 2017

I really appreciate this course! It took me about a month to finish it and I have learned. As a Chinese, I am not really a big fan of North American's fast food and diet, but now I am living in Canada, and the eating culture does affect my life style. I do notice that usually how little vegetables in a Canadian's meal after staying here for a few years. Thanks for this course that I have a clue that how bad fast foods are, the importance of plant-based food and the negative impact of unbalanced food structure to one's life. I hope more and more people can realize the truth of processed food. The most that I have learned from this course is the golden rule: 1/2 plant-based food, 1/4 protein and 1/4 rice or noodle. I have tried it for probably two weeks and it works for me. I have lost some weights and feeling better:) I have also learned how to cook some great dishes! Thanks Maya.

von Holly H

29. Aug. 2020

Michael Pollan's 7 words: EAT FOOD, NOT TOO MUCH, MOSTLY PLANTS totally simplies the current confusion around what to eat and how to construct your diet: keto?, paleo?, vegetarian?, etc. This course take a complex subjects and simplifies it and presents the most basic stepping stones. I feel that by following those 7 simple words and seeing processed foods for wrihat they are: profit makers for large companies - I can avoid processed foods, focus on whole foods & NUTRITION and enjoy my food experiences. No more second guessing every food choice I make!!!

von Sneha G

5. Dez. 2019

This is really nice course and sach a amazing information about nutrition . This is one part of nutrition . Its a good knowledge about food and nutrition field . Thanks coursera for provide this course .

von Raúl C C A

9. Dez. 2019

Me encantó es te curso, fue de gran ayuda, me ayudó a alimentarme mejor y nos es difícil de comprender, es muy importante tener conocimiento sobre este tema, definitivamente recomiendo el curso.

von zainab o k

30. Mai 2021

mostly people does not know the nutritional value of they eat, they just eat to fill their bellies . people should be educate on how to cook and eat right. this course was insightful

von Tran T K

6. Dez. 2019

Thank you, Doctor Maya, for this course. Every lesson is valuable and easy to practice. Everyone should join this course for better eating habits.

von Neil C

8. Dez. 2019

Very helpful and easy to understand.

von Laura F

7. Juni 2020

The course itself is pretty basic, but well-rounded overall. I think it is confusing to present a general course and then have the recipe/cooking section gluten-free. It may leave some people with the false sense that gluten free is superior. I think it would have been better to have the recipes a little more general and with a stronger focus on fresh foods and modeling the plating suggested in the course. The first recipe offered - gluten free crepes - could have been served rolled around berries and bananas, or at least served with some fresh fruit, rather than serving with Nutella and mentioning maple syrup as an option. It would have made more sense to fill them with applesauce, which was also mentioned, and plate with some fresh fruit drizzled with plain yogurt or something. It was interesting to look at two of the recipe videos, both of which used butter and added sugar, when the class itself recommended unsaturated fats and reducing added sugars. While I thought the information overall was good, the recipe section for week 5 seemed to send a mixed message.

von Эдуард Ц

28. Sep. 2021

​unscientific - almost purely motivational videos without any scientific basis or theory behind them. Professor of journalism as an expert - even more questionable. Lack of specifics - even list of products that are compared by amino acids so it's clear how to get all 9 essential from plant-based food. Finally, glycemic index doesn't lead to hunger - there are studies that prove that. Shouldn't be mentioned here.

von Lucy S

12. Mai 2019

Very biased view on nutrition, and not in line with latest research on sugar danger.