Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
Sterne
24,984 Bewertungen
7,254 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

AE

21. Juni 2018

It was an amazing course that allowed for me to be much more conscious of what I was eating and pushed me to strive to achieve a healthier lifestyle. Overall, it was very entertaining and informative!

TL

30. Sep. 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

Filtern nach:

476 - 500 von 7,302 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Annigje F

28. Jan. 2016

I liked this information, but I wouldn't call it a 'course'.

I'm a certified PT and I benefit from the information, but many books have been written about the subjects as well.

I, personally, loved the information given, as it gave me a touch-up on my knowledge and tips to give to my clients.

von Joanisabel F

12. Aug. 2021

LOVE that Michael Pollan is Maya's collaborator in this. Solid foundation, and I'm left with some awesome questions to ask myself when I'm shopping and consuming food. Inspirational information. My favorite question to ask myself is and one that I will cherish: "Is this food worthy of me?"

von Bhawna K

3. Okt. 2020

I felt grateful the way the course was delivered. Provision of notes n the classes were commendable. Coursera is a reliable and a great platform to uplift knowledge and build career in the suitable streams.Special thanks to Stanford University n MAYA ADAM Mam for delivering the lectures😇

von Heather M R

7. Juli 2020

I really enjoyed this course because i'm a short order cook and i cook usually when i get home for my sick husband. We both are trying to eat healthier and i get to teach him about portion sizes. I plan on taking what i learn to my job! Thank you so much and i plan on taking more courses!

von Omkarr D H

25. Dez. 2018

this is a wonderful start to know the science of the food we eat. this not only opens your eyes to the facts commercialism has hidden us from but also allows us to be more aware, as to what 'food' really is and what is not. I highly recommend it to all in every walks of life and all ages.

von Kevin H

30. Okt. 2016

I didn't come away from this course with a ton of technical knowledge or a complete understanding of nutrition, but I'm pretty sure the point of this course was to teach a simple set of guidelines to eat healthier and navigate today's environment regarding food. And it did that just fine.

von Ashley-Lynn

5. Mai 2016

Fun, quick and easy course that had useful information for beginners and those with more experience alike. Don't expect to learn a lot about the physiology and chemical science of food, but has some great useful information for anyone looking to make healthier choices in their everyday li

von Raffaello B

3. Juli 2020

This course give an important and exhaustive panoramic in the world of food. A world who is too much influenced by media and bad habits. As an healthcare professional, it's very important to give right advices to my patients, expecially for what concerns dismetabolic syndrome prevention.

von Wendi J S M

18. Okt. 2020

I really liked the course, it helped me a lot to improve the nutritional health of my family and above all it is very interesting to learn about the correct way to eat. I hope to continue with these courses that are very useful in people's lives, thank you very much for the opportunity.

von IFY I

1. Apr. 2018

Very very good course. The contents are so easy to understand and I like the fact that you are texted on your learning. Dr.MAya really knows her stuff and I enjoyed the course really well, as it was very clear, no systems or audio problems. Thank you for making this course this great.

von Tadahiro Y

12. Dez. 2016

The teacher`s pronunciation is really clear and easy to follow.And the movie makes me really relaxed and motivated me to the healthier life.This course is useful to change your view to foods.

After this lesson,I became to avoid fast food restaurants and try to eat vegetables and fruits.

von Daniel N G Y

25. Feb. 2016

I am 25 years old, and 6 month ago I went to the cardiologist because I was having high blood pressure. Since then I tried to change my eating habits, but choosing which foods to eat became a task that I didn't know was so hard. With this course actually became a lot easier. Thank you!

von Tharun K R B

22. Jan. 2016

This course changed the way I think about food. I became more informed about the choices of food in my daily life. I respect the views of Dr. Maya Adam and Mr. Pollan on cooking. It is a really short course and I have already recommended this course to several of my colleagues at work.

von Twinkle N

17. Jan. 2021

This course covered a lot of useful, important and easy to follow tips to improve your diet and overall health. A good reminder that we have been allowing manufacturers and marketers to rule what we purchase and what we put into our bodies. Lots of good info on reading labels as well.

von Deleted A

16. Feb. 2020

I absolutely loved doing this course. I learnt so much about nutrition. I learnt the importance of consuming real food, the after effects of consuming processed foods, the benefits of cooking and eating home cooked meals and most importantly, the significance of eating in moderation.

von Jo K

30. Sep. 2018

Full of eye-opening and helpful information presented in a clear, positive way. I've already changed my eating and shopping habits for the better with very little effort and the video recipes are wonderful. I hope Maya has a YouTube channel or something! Thanks for a fantastic course.

von Daniela M

4. Juni 2022

Excelente curso. Las clases son bastante claras, gracias a los excelentes profesores (la profesora Maya y su invitado Michael) y a los videos explicativos con ilustraciones incluidas.

100% recomendado para las personas que queremos iniciar los conocimientos académicos sobre nutrición.

von Ruchi D

20. Sep. 2020

This Course is really good for someone like me who knows very little about food and it's nutrients. It provides all the basic information regarding food which you need to know staring from all basic components of food to how to create healthy food habits. Enjoyed learning new things.

von Jan S

5. Okt. 2020

Browsing through the simple and entertaining course allows a student to dig in the general topic of nutrition, food and health. For a person like me - a semi-pro gym attendant, young student who wishes to eat and steer his life in a healthy and conscious way - this course is a must!

von Nicoleta D

11. Sep. 2019

The course was very well presented and it helped me realise the importance of home cooked food in relation to health. The recipes presented in the last week of the course are amazing, and this is a great way to help the students actually apply what they learned during the course. :)

von Deleted A

20. Jan. 2018

Sensible, informative, not overly complicated with practical tips that act as reminders and inspiration. You are helped to know just what to do. The added aspects of background music, interviews and recipes made in a real kitchen by a real mom made the course so much more enjoyable!

von Ashish K

8. Mai 2020

The way of teaching is quite easy and the language is easily understandable.. The way of presentation of any topic is quite good. I have learnt Food and the nutrition along with the health perspective of all the units operations of any food material from raw form to the end product

von Jossie L

2. Juli 2017

Great introduction to nutrition and how to stay healthy through a balanced diet. One of my favorite parts was about how to plan meals starting with the vegetables, and how to shop at the grocery store to avoid processed foods. Very easy to understand and follow even for a busy mom.

von Astrid S

27. März 2016

I really enjoyed this course - the recipes at the end are very nice, even though, gluten free is rather unnecessary, as only a very (very) small group of people actually need gluten free diets. But I liked the other content of the course very much.

Thanks for explaining and sharing.

von Zarifah C 1

21. Mai 2021

I really loved my instructor, Dr. Maya Adams. She seemed like a really nice person to me, always cheerful with a loving smile on her face. I loved every bit of this course, and it is a doable course for beginners like me. I would highly recommend everyone to enroll in this course.