Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
Sterne
11,253 Bewertungen
3,237 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

NK

Feb 25, 2019

It was very informative course. It could have more quizzes and assignments. The way things were explained in the course was quiet interesting. Keep it up!! course. I really like this way of education.

AE

Jun 22, 2018

It was an amazing course that allowed for me to be much more conscious of what I was eating and pushed me to strive to achieve a healthier lifestyle. Overall, it was very entertaining and informative!

Filtern nach:

2976 - 3000 von 3,202 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von ifedayo

Feb 24, 2020

excellent

von Génesis E F C

Aug 22, 2018

EXCELENTE

von namrata b

May 23, 2018

good info

von Tulasi L

Nov 29, 2017

EXCELLENT

von Tin P

Aug 07, 2017

It's ok.

von LINARELLO Q

Aug 29, 2019

complet

von Mohamed A E

Dec 04, 2019

good

von Guannan L

Oct 16, 2019

nice

von Ashish K S

Mar 19, 2019

good

von Allen G

Oct 05, 2018

good

von Georgina d l P R L

Aug 21, 2019

.

von Waguma G

Nov 30, 2018

i

von Adarsh M

Aug 23, 2018

G

von Genise W

Jul 24, 2017

F

von Wonmee K

Mar 16, 2017

s

von WASNYO W Y F

Apr 22, 2016

G

von Gearip B

Mar 30, 2016

V

von Ruslan

Oct 05, 2019

I don't trust health "experts" found on Internet but Coursera has some credibility, especially if course is published by Stanford University. That was a reason why I enrolled into it - wanted to get facts I can trust.

There was very basic information about nutritious, acid and proteins without scientific facts really. I found 1/3 of the videos are useful but remaining part is an interview (sic!) with journalist. Seriously, Dr. was asking opinion on the food from the writer. Not much science in this, isn't it? And a last thing I'd expect is a few hours of recipes - I'd rather prefer to hear for foundation which would help me to make a right decision when it comes down to cooking

Another thing caught my attention is statement that home cooking - is the only way to eat healthy. I love cooking but I don't have time to do so. Is there naive assumption that all restaurants cook from the processed food or was it a way to sell something?

For somebody who consider this course - it might worth for the basic information about what is the food. Don't expect science

von Surraine B

Jan 30, 2016

Overall, I found this course to be a good refresher given my prior knowledge / skill base. I could see this course being very good for absolute beginners with little to no knowledge of nutritional concepts or cooking. I personally was looking for more advanced / in-depth information about nutritional science in order to better equip me to be a knowledgeable resource for my clients (with whom I primarily work around health / wellness related issues). Additionally, the cooking ideas / concepts were all practices that I already utilize in my own kitchen / feeding my own family. One section that I did find incredibly helpful was the discussion about the different types of fats.

As it stands, I would definitely recommend this course to a client, friend, or family member starting out at a beginner's level (like my fiance) or anyone who needs a refresher.

von Samantha O

Jun 30, 2017

The first two weeks contained very basic information about nutrition which was educational and presented in an organized and helpful way. The second two weeks focused on building a "healthy" meal. The final week is a cooking course with recipes and cooking demos. The information in the last three weeks was organized well but did not seem to be based on varied resources and scientific studies but rather on the information Michael Pollan presents in his books. The class would have greatly benefited from a nutrition or medical professional who could give scientific insight.

Overall this course would be helpful for people with little to no knowledge of food or nutrition but does not explore the vast amount of research the covers how our bodies process and react to foods and how those foods can impact our health and major chronic diseases.

von Herb C

Oct 31, 2019

I heard a lot of "party line" statements and few truly scientific references. There was the dumming down comment about what "average people can pronounce". Well for of all "average people say "prah sessed" not "PRO sessed". Second that's just stupid. What other people can or cannot pronounce has nothing to do with health. In fact, learning how to pronounce the ingredients and looking up what they are is far more helpful. THAT would help people to learn what's in their food and how manufacturers hide things in the food. I was disappointed with the lack scientific reference and the arrogance of certainty presented. It really felt like a long commercial put on by the "vegetable lobby". There were some good tips but they were overshadowed by the emphasis on the non-scientific ones.

von Marcia P

Jan 30, 2016

To me , you were preaching to the choir. I have been trying to follow Pollan's ideas for years. I was hoping for new information, but for me it was a rehash of stuff I have heard ad infinite. this did not seem like a class. This seemed more like an advertisement for healthy eating with it constant music and sparse content. Certainly it did not have the rigorous content that would have been required in a college level credited class. It was certainly not as interesting nor as informative as the Berkeley class "edible education 101"

Still as an advertisement for good eating it was well done. If you found an audience out there somewhere who had not heard these messages, then you have succeeded and I applaud you for that.

von Uelinton M P

Mar 29, 2016

In the beginning it feels like a course, but from week three on it feels more like a conversation about food. It is more suitable for people with very little background n food science and nutrition, aiming to get some knowl on these fields. But the views are quite one sided and necessarily true when it comes to the understanding of the food chain. Of course, many of their opinions are valid, but I wouldn´t accept those views as solid rock statements because they are not.

In any case, I recomend the course for people with obesity problems and those who are too lazy to think about the importance of home cooking.

The quality of the videos is outstanding! Congratulations!

von Dmitriy M

Apr 09, 2016

Hate the music. And that permanent fake smile and constant nodding. Those are cheap brainwashing techniques which target human cognitive abilities and subconscious to make their words sound more deep and convincing.

You often can see such brainwashing tricks in commercials and advertisements which try to elevate some concept or idea but lack any information or facts to back it up. And it is very weird to see same tricks used in this set of lectures, because these ones actually do have a lot of facts and information and arguments behind them.

The whole course is basically just blaberring about vegetables. Almost no new or useful information for me.

von KellI

Mar 20, 2016

Good "basics" course. Great for beginners and reminders!

I was hoping for something more advanced & was a bit disappointed. I am probably more knowledgeable than most however. The statement made regarding "eating fruits & veggies regardless of whether they have pesticides or not" was a bit tough for me as I became ill in part due to pesticides and still am. I might always be. I understand eating veggies in place of other foods (i. e. - processed foods) as I eat very little meat anymore. But coming from Stanford and someone as educated as he is, that was shocking. It makes me wonder who funded this course.