Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
Sterne
11,253 Bewertungen
3,237 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

NK

Feb 25, 2019

It was very informative course. It could have more quizzes and assignments. The way things were explained in the course was quiet interesting. Keep it up!! course. I really like this way of education.

AE

Jun 22, 2018

It was an amazing course that allowed for me to be much more conscious of what I was eating and pushed me to strive to achieve a healthier lifestyle. Overall, it was very entertaining and informative!

Filtern nach:

3001 - 3025 von 3,199 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Lim Z L

Jun 21, 2017

This course teaches very basic knowledge about nutrition. It is good for people who have are just starting out on learning about food and nutrition. Personally I feel that the topics discussed were rather repetitive and general. Perhaps the course could have dived deeper into the topic of nutrition such as discussion of how cooking methods may affect nutritional values of food, different storage conditions for different food types and whether they have any impact on the nutritional contents etc.

von Felix B

Jul 03, 2017

I think, it gives a good overview over food and the health implications from eating less processed food for instance. However, I think a lot of the material is too much focused on the US. In a lot of countries (especially across Asia), people do not cook at home but eat at food courts, which do not use processed food and are equally healthy than what we would cook at home. Also, being interested in this topic, I think most of the concepts were rather basic and did not go into depth too much.

von Péter H

Mar 02, 2018

This course contains very basic and simple knowledge about how we should eat. So if you have never really read about healthy lifestyle or foods, this will give you a nice, elementary school level overview - which I think is very important. I'm a person who is reading a lot of studies about eating styles, habits and foods, but I'm not a professional. For me, this course didn't really give any new knowledge.

von Ondrej Š

Oct 25, 2016

This course provided me with some vital knowledge about health and nutrition, however, I consider it to be very short and rather shallow. The issues would require more coverage, than, with some weeks, 15 minutes for the whole week. Another issue is the tests. 50 % margin for passing the exam seems too easy. The videos have great graphics and the issues are well explained. Overaly 3/4 stars.

von Maria L C

May 23, 2016

Super interesting, but it is a very basic introduction to nutrition. Only the first or second lessons have information about nutrients and how they are different from each other. The other sections you could've gotten from a Michael Pollan book, or one of his documentaries. Nevertheless, very engaging, visually and verbally, and ideal for someone who is getting started on nutrition.

von Lu M

Feb 18, 2020

It's a fine course. Much of it is common sense (or it should be - I'm guessing it's not for most people, especially americans). I was hoping to learn something about food security, so I'm a bit disapppointed.

Also, some of the advices are outdated, such as the ideia of eating many times during the day.

Having said that, I enjoyed the course, especially Michael Pollan's contributions.

von Adalberto C

Aug 31, 2016

The topics discussed into this course are really interesting. The videos give some perspective at the time of taking care of our own health and eating habits.

The only problem I see, is the shortness of the course and the videos. The topics don't go beyond the surface and there is a lack of: details, examples, and comparisons between healthy diets and harmful ones.

von Boya D

Jan 04, 2018

The course is very introductory but well laid out. If you are already doing some readings on nutrition before this course, you will find more 50% of the course to be familiar. I really wish that the course is longer and have some more in-depth information, and possibly some more insights related to the various diet trends we see now.

von Adam R

Jan 23, 2018

It provides good and broad informations about nutrition but I was expected a few more details. I think that this course is more suitable for people who know nothing about nutrition, but maybe a little boring for the ones who already have the fundamentals. Well, in fact, everything is in the title... this is an introduction ! ;)

von Diana H F P

Jan 12, 2018

It is well edited and has good but very basic information of nutrition which is not what I wanted, I wanted a more advanced nutrition course, this was not for me, but if you don't know anything about nutrition this is a good course and takes you through the basics so you can have a better understanding.

von Thomas C

Nov 23, 2016

Incredibly basic- more for the average person rather than a student or professional, but it seems as though that is who the material is directed at- so not a great course if you are a professional looking to increase your knowledge, but great usable information that the average person can easily apply.

von Alexander U

Sep 04, 2019

Interesting, but did not learn much I did not already know. Course was nice though, would recommend it to my acquaintances. I would diversify the references, and not always have Michael Pollan (some controversial stuff there), even though his interviews were on point and politically correct. :)

von Aliona C

Feb 14, 2016

extremely short & easy - fun-ducation. Not hugely informative for someone who's looking to learn about the links between what we eat and how we eat, and how human bodies respond. But the instructor is very charming, so it was a pleasant experience. The whole course can be completed in 1-2 hours

von Fiona V

Apr 29, 2017

This course gives you a general overview over nutrition. It is a good start for those who want to have an healthier diet. Personally I already knew most of the information provided and I am a bit further into the 'eating healthy' process. The course is well done anyway and worth a look.

von Cassandra t

Aug 12, 2016

Starts off informative and then becomes very basic. It felt like it was more for informing families struggling with nutrition than for informative education on health and food.

The interview with Michael Pollan that was woven in to each lesson were the main reason to finish the course.

von Jennifer H

Feb 01, 2016

This seems like a good overview for those new to the kitchen, and/or health concerns more generally. For someone interested in deepening their understanding, it's of more limited value--but it is presented as an introduction. I wish there were readings to supplement the videos.

von Susan M M

Sep 01, 2017

I enjoyed most of the information in this course. The last week recipes and instructions seemed ridiculous as it was out of sync with: "eat food, not too much, mostly plants." I would have appreciated some plant based recipes. These recipes had too much dairy and meat. <3

von Jessie Z

Mar 16, 2016

It was filled with a lot of interesting, pertinent information but I did feel that there was not enough variety in terms of interviews and I do wish that she had delved more into some of the topics. I understand it was an overview but I often felt that it was very brief.

von Sarah M J

Feb 03, 2016

I was hoping for something a little more technical. This course might be good for someone who has no previous knowledge of the nutrition content of food or how to cook. It would be perfect for kids getting ready to head off to college who've never cooked for themselves.

von Patsy D

Jun 30, 2018

Most of the concepts are very straight forward. I have been on and out of diets since I was 12 years old, at least the first week was a different approach, the rest was common sense. I would like to do deeper into the topics of nutrients and choosing better options.

von PERIE

Jul 01, 2019

Some good advices, but it lakes of amounts and informations are rapidly repetitives (i'm french, so perhaps those informations are for me mainstream and that's why i find it repetitive).

It's actually helpful to begin my own seach but i expecteted more informations

von p u

May 12, 2017

very useful as an overview for beginners who have very less idea on nutrition. but i wouldn't recommend it for someone who wants to gain expertise in diet planning ( for themselves or other). its very basic and helps bursting some common myths and misconceptions.

von Virat M

Sep 06, 2019

A very basic course just skimming over information. I wish that more in-depth material was included. I got the feeling that it was designed to promote M. Pollan's books and point of view. Nevertheless, there were some useful tips and hence the 3-star rating.

von Christian P R

Mar 03, 2019

As with almost the totality of all courses produced by HarvardX, the production quality is world class.

Despite this being an introductory course, I expected more knowledge to be included. But this is a subjective review so whatever. What is reality?