Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
Sterne
13,830 Bewertungen
4,109 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

VI

May 11, 2020

It was an interesting and informative, at a basis level, course. The information is easy to understand and the new gained knowledges tend to remain in your memory, due to short and interactive videos.

AE

Jun 22, 2018

It was an amazing course that allowed for me to be much more conscious of what I was eating and pushed me to strive to achieve a healthier lifestyle. Overall, it was very entertaining and informative!

Filtern nach:

3226 - 3250 von 4,083 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Anne M P

Feb 03, 2020

This course contained sensible, basic advice in an easy to follow format that makes it easy for the viewer to adopt a few or all of the suggestions in order to maintain a healthier lifestyle. I was very impressed. It is definitely geared towards a student with a novice level of knowledge about nutrition and healthy planning and eating and although I am at a more advanced level, the course was reinforcing and I did learn a couple of new facts.

Both the host, Maya, (her friendly demeanor makes me think of her by her first name), and Michael Pollan were professional and credible while maintaining my interest.

I will recommend this course to people I know.

AM Porturas

von Zainab J D

Aug 07, 2019

this course is very simplified and easy to understand, it is short which makes me feel motivated to continue the course. The only thing i didn't like about the course in week 5 there were using ingredients that could be avoided like butter and refined flours if i remember correctly. also you need to mention that olive oil has a low burning point, so one needs to be careful when using it while cooking ( especially virgin olive oil) while cooking, mention nutrition facts about the ingredients and their appropriate substitutions like butter.. etc.. thank you for your efforts in making this wonderful course.

von Neha N

Oct 17, 2017

The course was really helpful in getting insights about what we eat and how it affects our body and health. There are some basic things about food which everyone should query upon like the food which we are eating is made up of what basic elements, how its excess and deficiency is going to affect our health, what are the basic nutrients we want and which food item is having that. This course was able to comprehend each aspect of food very well.

I just felt that the course should have been a little more detailed carrying a bit more stuff about different food items. Overall I enjoyed the course.

von Роман

Feb 20, 2016

I really enjoyed the course, but i found out that there is not enough information about such aspects as vitamins, minerals and what happens to them while cooking, what methods of cooking are healthier, which helps most to preserve most of the nutritions and why, etc...

Nevertheless, I really appreciate your job and it was amazing feeling to spend some time with you because it was helpful and i enjoyed listening to your speech, voices and the culture overall. The knowledge will certainly be useful! Will suggest this course to my friends :)

Kind regards from your russian student!

von Christine W

Jan 04, 2018

This course is a good starter course for people who are interested in making better dietary choices. It is not a band-wagon attempt to suade the student into following any one particular diet (i.e., Keto, Atkins, , Paleo, Weight Watchers, Mediterranean, Nordic, WFPB, vegan, vegetarian, etc.). The focus is on cooking at home, avoiding processed foods, using smaller plates, eating until satisfied (rather than "full" or "stuffed"), planning meals around vegetables first (instead of protein centered meals), and using better quality ingredients to be enjoyed by everyone.

von Monir B

Dec 11, 2016

Too easy. The biology, history and sociology of food was the part most beneficial to me. Since I am a vegan from Sweden I tend to cook food everyday. The course seems to be mostly for people born in the USA. In Sweden, there are some problems with obesity and people buying higly processed food. However, the problem seems to be more alarming in the USA. Discussing the differences between how the average person in the USA eats with how the average person in e.g. Sweden, Greece, Japan, Brazil and Ethopia eats, would, I think, make for an interesting additional lecture.

von Kripa T

Sep 21, 2019

Thank you so much for teaching us regarding of healthy life. I have learned many skills which will be beneficial and helpful for me. As I am interested in cooking and about health, I have learned different ideas and get an opportunity to know more about food and health with the help of this site. I hope the knowledge that I learn from here will be helpful on my coming days. And hope to be join other courses related to this. I will share health information with my family, friends and relatives. Once again Heartily thanks to Maya Adam and Michael Pollan.

von June S

Oct 01, 2018

I think it is a useful course for people who are starting to get information about nutrition and how to eat well. It gives a good overview of what kind of food you should eat and why (with scientific reasons). It also gives great tips to eat better, eat healthier, and lose weight, so even it is really helpful to anyone who wants to do one of these things.

The only reason why I gaves "only" four stars is that I would have liked more detailed about, for example, good food combination for a healthy diet, especially if you are a vegetarian or a vegan.

von Olesya S

May 24, 2017

Very helpful and usable course for those of us who want to understand how to eat more healthy.

There are too many videos, articles and opinions about diets that often work for a really short period of time or do not work at all.

Understanding how our body works and what works for it - that is the key to healthier lifestyle.

I was so inspired after the last week of the course that I just got up and went to the supermarket to get the basic ingredients and also try to cook my first stir fry with veggies.

Thank you so much for (I'm sure) changing my life!

von JuNai Z

Apr 12, 2020

Course gives an overview about the food habits and what is best practice to be followed. Very beautifully narrated about the food habits and what is best healthy one for long term. Also described about potential flaws on present trends of food consumption.

But it would have been better if following information regarding food and health are discussed: Nutritional value in various type of Vegetable, Meat, Sea food, Fruits. Also a discussion on food requirement for different category of people like: children, teenagers and old aged would be great.

von Denisse L M

Aug 15, 2018

I would have benefited more from other practical examples on what to substitute for typical unhealthy habits or examples to ' find the time' to make the best choices. I also think there needs to be a broader explanation of what the ' recommended parameters of healthy eating are' (like the 2,000 calorie diet). But in general this course helped me a lot to make more conscious choices to support long term health. I particularly loved the quick way to calculate how make table spoons of sugar any package may have. Thanks!!

von Militsa T

Aug 01, 2016

I strongly recommend. If you don't have any knowledge about food - this course is for you. However, if you know some basic stuff you won't learn anything new, but still it is good reminder and very strucured. It is very short, could be completed in about an hour and a half. What I didn't like during the lectures - Maya (the lector) was not talking with her normal voice, but kind of slow and unnatural, which for me was extremely anoying. At the end, when she is showing some recepies it is so much better.

von Emma M

Mar 14, 2016

This was my first course, and I hope all future courses are exactly like this one! Maya has such a nice way of talking. The videos were easy to understand, without compromising substance. I also enjoyed the overall high-quality of the course. My only complaint is that some of the topics seemed a little bit irrelevant, such as the case study of a middle-aged, pre-diabetic man. I feel like that video should've been shortened by sevety-five percent and tacked onto the end of another video as an example.

von Jimmy S

Feb 09, 2016

Very good course overall. It gave me some good thought nuggets to keep in mind for the future. At times the course felt more like it was trying to sell the notion of home cooking rather than being about "food and health". Sometimes terms were hastily presented and maybe assumed to be common knowledge, which left me confused in one of the quizzes ("serum triglycerides", for instance).

The course touches on interesting topics that could've been elaborated more on, for instance how transfats are made.

von Olga

May 24, 2016

it is VERY basic course suitable for people who really struggling to find their way to healthy food and even to its determination. Basic recipes are giving for home cooking. BEAUTIFUL illustrations along the course as well. BUT I hoped to find more scientific information about nutrition and suggestion which products might cause specific diseases. Would be also nice to have lectures from scientific point of view like: why it is unhealthy to eat before going to bad, which products digest slower etc.

von Shailesh S

May 22, 2017

4 stars for many aspects of this course I thought were excellent - concise, breadth, presentation, videos, short conversations, animations, variety of topics covered, quality of quizzes, resources shared.. All Good. One missing star is for not having enough depth, at times I felt the lectures and content was a bit short. In any case, I appreciate the work and efforts of Dr. Maya Adam for sharing her knowledge with passion and I thank everyone involved in making this course available to us.

von Tarik E A

May 02, 2017

Thank you Dr Maya and her team for this excellent course, covering the basics of a healthy food nutrition. I loved the chapter where you show how to evaluate labels on packaged products and the cooking tutorials. I really hope there will be an advanced course, exploring in-depth specific topics like food categories (nutrients and benefits), student diets (food for brain power), athlete diets, food lifestyles (vegetarian/vegan...), food and disease prevention (Alzheimer, aging...)

von Anu N

Oct 05, 2017

The course provides practical and simple nutritional advice for the general public and encourages to make lifestyle changes which is great. Even for those who have studied nutrition and lifestyle, taking this course can be a way to examine their own cooking habits and commiting to making small changes. The videos are short, so the course can be easily completed in just a few days. However, it is lacking for someone looking for more extensive, scientific data on the subject.

von Jordan P

Sep 27, 2016

It's not a challenging course, but it is very informal at the same time. The interviews with the journalist throughout the course were my favorite parts because David was very detailed when it came to explaining how important food is a whole, compared to focusing just on nutrition individually. It's an introductory course, so I expected it to be an easy pass. Just take simple notes along the way, and you will pass the quizzes with no problem.

Thanks Coursera and Stanford!

von Matt S

Jun 18, 2016

I really enjoyed the first two weeks. It was all stuff I kinda already knew but was presented very concisely in a way that was easy to understand.

The second two weeks weren't so useful and I completed them very quickly but I can see how someone who isn't too confident with cooking at home could benefit from them.

Overall, a very interesting course that tackles an incredibly important subject in a succinct way. This kind of food education should be compulsory for everyone.

von Dario C

Mar 02, 2016

Someone really put some work into this! Great if you (like me) do not have any clue on how to eat healthy.

Somehow superficial treatment though, if someone asked me what i took out of this course i would say to best eat half vegetables and half meat/carbohydrates. I hoped for more answers on "why" questions, like "why are vegetables necessary?", or "what vegetables are needed for what body function?".

Still, nice, flashy videos and great commitment of the editors.

von tommaso b

Apr 11, 2018

Honestly, I believe that this course is specifically directed to population not accostumed to cook food at home (e.g. North americans). I am mediterrenean, hence I am accustomed to cook myself since I was 18 years old, and possibly most of my friends as well. That is, the course was definitely interesting, although the part I enjoyed more was the first week, where I learned a lot, while all the others were just basically listening to well known facts. Thanks

von Ryann G

Feb 14, 2016

I enjoyed this course and learning, specifically how to adapt a healthier diet and the evolution of food in the US. The videos were interesting and the information was insightful and applicable to daily life. The only thing I might change in the course is having the professor incorporate definitions to some of the terms (i.e. nutrient dense, ​, metabolic​ abnormalities) in the videos, or as a supplemental document.

I would recommend this course to others.

von Sarah S K

Feb 14, 2020

Some

Of the information provided in this course is slightly dated, and while well intentioned, could be contributing to a larger misconception and underestimated value of animal fats and proteins. For instance in one video animal based saturated fats are deemed less healthy than plant based saturated fats, despite being more stable. Overall a good course, starts the learning off on the right path, but should consider updating some of the material.

von Yashodhara P

Sep 04, 2017

Basic and to-the-point...This course is good for those who want to understand the fundamentals of healthy meal planning and nutrition. Covers the importance of the macro-nutrients in diet and how to plan a healthy diet strategy accordingly. Its a short course and you can cover all modules/videos in a day. The assessments are all quiz based. There is no writing involved. Recommended for those interested in healthy eating and meal planning.