Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
Sterne
22,936 Bewertungen
6,742 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

VI
18. Jan. 2021

It was an interesting and informative, at a basis level, course. The information is easy to understand and the new gained knowledges tend to remain in your memory, due to short and interactive videos.

NF
5. Dez. 2020

Foods and us have a relationship, and this course defines that relationship. Personally, this course provides positive experience for me in regards of food, meal preparation, and eating in moderation.

Filtern nach:

376 - 400 von 6,748 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von niky L

26. Nov. 2016

I'm a student form China exactly. I thought it may be difficult for me to learn in English originally, but illustrated with the lively and vivid cartoon, the course is more efficient and thorough to understand. Anyway, thanks all who provide such a exquisite and meaningful course for us to learn about. Thanks.

von Maria I V

20. Jan. 2016

I really enjoy the course. I learn a lot of things about food that i didn't know.

On the other hand I realized I was wrong about the amount of food we eat , the portions and the way of thinking about food.

It's a very interesting course, the material is very clear. I enjoyed very much!!!

Greetings from Colombia

von JHEZICA A B

3. Mai 2020

Es un curso básico pero muy completo, un viaje introductorio con tips esenciales para mejorar estilos de vida y aproximarnos a opciones más saludables. Me reconforta saber que voy por buen camino en mi relación con loa alimentos sin caer en compras potenciales de alimentos orgánicos y que cuestan mas dinero.

von Meghan E

21. Apr. 2020

Maya's videos at the end were a great way to reinforce the idea that WE are in charge of what food goes into our bodies. And also, the foods don't need to be super glamorous or fancy, tasty and nutritious do not have to be opposites! Great introductory course to learning about how to fuel our bodies. Thanks!!

von Derek J B

12. Sep. 2017

Just what I needed to take better control of my relationship with food and what I put in my body. I walked away with a basic understanding of nutrition and am more empowered than ever to cook. It's true, we make cooking out to be an arduous task but in reality it's fun, rewarding, and it can be pretty simple.

von jagdish s

9. März 2021

The contents and the way of teaching with practical examples by Maya is excellent. Nutrition and its components calories and nutrients is explained nicely. Maya had given the course a deep learning way by inducting the friendly home environment which reflects the sincerity, utmost interest and the workshops.

von marie t

11. Apr. 2020

This was a really good, clear and concise introduction to food and health. I thought the information was presented well and in a manner that was not overbearing or fanatical but rather, honest and achievable. I would recommend this course to those who need inspiration for creating a healthy lifestyle change.

von Rafael A

9. März 2016

The course is great for beginners in nutrition, it helps dissolve a lot of the misinformation in the food industry today and can help change our eating habits with some helpful tips and lessons. A follow-up course would be needed to really expand and touch upon the many subjects this course introduces us to.

von ankur p

24. Dez. 2018

This course really introduces the basics of food & health in a very simple yet effective manner. Great thing is, it goes in to details which are necessary without making it too technical. It also covers a little bit of history, basically as a introductory course which is adds value to the overall knowledge.

von Aditya h

12. Juni 2016

Fantastic content!. Prof Maya condenses healthy eating into concrete and simple item sets -

1.What food items to eat and what to avoid

2. Where to find them in the Supermarket, how to read the nutrition labels on packaged food

3. Healthy cooking with minimal ingredients

4. Awesome recipes for healthy dishes

von Sofia P B

16. Aug. 2021

I actually enjoyed watching the short videos in this course. I finished it within a week, because it is not too hard. It is like an appreciation course about food and health food choices. However, as a graduate of food science, I don't like the part where they slightly portray processed foods as bad foods.

von Amel

25. Juli 2021

From this course I got a lot of new knowledge, starting from where we do a healthy diet, how to choose foods that are suitable for diet, processing food properly, the importance of cooking food at home instead of having to buy fast food out there, healthy types of food for we consume to improve our health

von Быкова В А

30. Juni 2021

С​амое главное достоинство этого курса – его простота. После прослушивания курса не появляется паники формата "я все делаю неправильно". Появляется понимание, какие полезные привычки можно внедрить в свою жизнь. Курс понравился, активно рекомендую знакомым, помешанным на диетах и новых модных ограничениях.

von maria i i

16. Aug. 2017

I thought everything about this course was important. With so many new trends, diets, books, "research" theories, etc; its very good to learn what actually matters. I would recommend this to every single person I know that is not completely sure if they're eating the "right way" that supports their health.

von Sarah W

12. März 2017

This quick course helped me FINALLY understand the importance of nutrient-rich foods and how they are used in the body. It repeats a lot of information I've heard throughout my life, but explains the WHY behind it. I feel confident to make much better decisions about my food and, therefore, overall health.

von Joyce C

12. Jan. 2021

I certainly learned a lot in this course. Congratulations to Dr. Adam and the staff! It was a very simple way of educating those who are at a loss on the practical aspects of healthy eating. I definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve their diet. Thank you for offering this for free!

von Sherrye B

19. Okt. 2020

Maya does an excellent job of explaining food nutrition and how I can have a healthier lifestyle. I especially like the fact that she gave me take-away recipes and showed step-by-step videos of their preparation. I tried several new things and they proved to not only be simple and healthful but delicious!

von Abigail R

23. Jan. 2018

It's a great course! I've learned a lot about healthy eating and I have been inspired to eat better. Eating healthy is hard, in my opinion, because unhealthy food is all around you, is cheaper, and looks very appealing. However, in this course, she made eating healthy look appealing and not too expensive.

von Angélica S

1. Apr. 2016

I recommend widely this course, it reaches very important information about our western diet and how can we improve it to a healthy diet. As a Physician I got important tips for my patients, most of them have metabolic syndrom; and obviously I want to apply this information to me and to my family health.

von Кривушкина В Ю

31. Jan. 2020

Great course! Very clear, easily accessible presentation of information from the point of view of the science, of medicine and life examples. Interesting interviews, a beautiful video. Thank you for this course Stanford and Coursera! Definitely recommend it, as for profession and also for self education.

von Steve R

28. Nov. 2019

Excellently prepared and presented course. Maya is superbly knowledgeable and talented as a presenter of this valuable information. We cook at home on a regular basis, so we are in control of what we eat. Now we have the knowledge of what to consider in choosing our menus and ingredients. Thank you Maya.

von Andrea B

30. Nov. 2016

This was a fantastic introduction, as the food suggests. The commitment is very minimal, and the quizes are very fair, and help to reaffirm and commit to memory what you just learned. I completed the whole course in a few short days! Will definitely be taking other courses by this instructor if possible.

von Santiago M

25. Aug. 2021

Thank you very much for this introduction, i am sure it will help me a lot, i truely recommend it, its very well explained and i can tell it has been made with good intentions for everyone who takes the course. Taking care of each other is one of the basis to grow as human beings and this is an example.

von Marcela K

31. Mai 2016

I loved it! The format was excellent, the information was well presented -and useful- and I really liked that the recipes at the end were actually taught, and then we could have the printed version.

The only thing I didn't like was that it seemed too short :-)

I look forward to the next class!

Marcela

von Tasos

6. Juni 2020

As the course says, it's an introduction to healthy habits for your nutrition and it really fulfills this. The course gave me a basic but really helpful knowledge and made me change my food habits. I have now a much healthier nutrition and I can see the results in the way that my body works and feels.