Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
Sterne
15,715 Bewertungen
4,708 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

SD

Aug 07, 2020

I really enjoyed doing the course, Very elaborate and informative course. Things are simplified so much that anybody can understand the basics of nutrition which helps in making the wise food choices.

CS

Aug 27, 2019

Very informative and useful. I'm from India and I look forward to study more about nutritional values of different foods. This course gave me a head-start and information to pursue my goal. Thank You!

Filtern nach:

4351 - 4375 von 4,666 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Génesis E F C

Aug 22, 2018

EXCELENTE

von namrata b

May 23, 2018

good info

von Tulasi L

Nov 29, 2017

EXCELLENT

von Dr ( R P

Apr 21, 2020

Good onr

von Tin P

Aug 07, 2017

It's ok.

von LINARELLO Q

Aug 29, 2019

complet

von Rishabh S

Jul 29, 2020

Awsome

von khaled w

Apr 23, 2020

wooow

von Mohamed A E

Dec 04, 2019

good

von Guannan L

Oct 16, 2019

nice

von Ashish K S

Mar 19, 2019

good

von Allen G

Oct 05, 2018

good

von Georgina d l P R L

Aug 21, 2019

.

von Waguma G

Nov 30, 2018

i

von Adarsh M

Aug 23, 2018

G

von Genise W

Jul 24, 2017

F

von Wonmee K

Mar 16, 2017

s

von WASNYO W Y F

Apr 22, 2016

G

von Gearip B

Mar 30, 2016

V

von Laura F

Jun 08, 2020

The course itself is pretty basic, but well-rounded overall. I think it is confusing to present a general course and then have the recipe/cooking section gluten-free. It may leave some people with the false sense that gluten free is superior. I think it would have been better to have the recipes a little more general and with a stronger focus on fresh foods and modeling the plating suggested in the course. The first recipe offered - gluten free crepes - could have been served rolled around berries and bananas, or at least served with some fresh fruit, rather than serving with Nutella and mentioning maple syrup as an option. It would have made more sense to fill them with applesauce, which was also mentioned, and plate with some fresh fruit drizzled with plain yogurt or something. It was interesting to look at two of the recipe videos, both of which used butter and added sugar, when the class itself recommended unsaturated fats and reducing added sugars. While I thought the information overall was good, the recipe section for week 5 seemed to send a mixed message.

von Ruslan

Oct 05, 2019

I don't trust health "experts" found on Internet but Coursera has some credibility, especially if course is published by Stanford University. That was a reason why I enrolled into it - wanted to get facts I can trust.

There was very basic information about nutritious, acid and proteins without scientific facts really. I found 1/3 of the videos are useful but remaining part is an interview (sic!) with journalist. Seriously, Dr. was asking opinion on the food from the writer. Not much science in this, isn't it? And a last thing I'd expect is a few hours of recipes - I'd rather prefer to hear for foundation which would help me to make a right decision when it comes down to cooking

Another thing caught my attention is statement that home cooking - is the only way to eat healthy. I love cooking but I don't have time to do so. Is there naive assumption that all restaurants cook from the processed food or was it a way to sell something?

For somebody who consider this course - it might worth for the basic information about what is the food. Don't expect science

von Amy O

Jun 08, 2020

I was disappointed by this course. I felt that it was really too too basic. The total time spent for me was under three hours, and I really learned so much more from the books written by Michael Pollan (the person the class professor interviewed). If I could do it again I won't NOT pay to have a certificate. I had really hoped that the course would dive more into understanding more complex components of nutrition, like detecting specific harmful subtsances in processed food and really reading labels and understanding them. How to determine an ideal weight, simple techniques for reaching and maintaining that weight and how other things like blood type, heritage, situational prompts, emotions and other factors affect nutrition. Basically this course just stated that processed food should be avoided, your diet should consist mostly of plants and some protein and carbs, and gave a few recipes at the end. I won't recommend this one to others since one or two books provide a more in deppth study.

von Mohit D

Apr 08, 2020

The course explained how determining optimized food intake is a complex process and though nutritionists may figure the role of each micro nutrient, a healthy eating habit would require to consume a variety of natural food sources. Therefore, in quite basic terms the course offers generic advice in a series of short videos on balancing food varieties, avoiding processed foods, etc. The course therefore simply reaffirms what has been generally known to the population about good eating habits while making a strong case for avoiding processed foods and switching to home based cooking focused on quality and quantity. Personally, I would have liked more scientific data, regional eating habits and their relation to obesity,etc, problems of adulteration, choosing foods based on local climatic conditions, etc. Nonetheless, it was a good course and I had fun. Looking forward to more!

von Surraine B

Jan 30, 2016

Overall, I found this course to be a good refresher given my prior knowledge / skill base. I could see this course being very good for absolute beginners with little to no knowledge of nutritional concepts or cooking. I personally was looking for more advanced / in-depth information about nutritional science in order to better equip me to be a knowledgeable resource for my clients (with whom I primarily work around health / wellness related issues). Additionally, the cooking ideas / concepts were all practices that I already utilize in my own kitchen / feeding my own family. One section that I did find incredibly helpful was the discussion about the different types of fats.

As it stands, I would definitely recommend this course to a client, friend, or family member starting out at a beginner's level (like my fiance) or anyone who needs a refresher.

von Samantha O

Jun 30, 2017

The first two weeks contained very basic information about nutrition which was educational and presented in an organized and helpful way. The second two weeks focused on building a "healthy" meal. The final week is a cooking course with recipes and cooking demos. The information in the last three weeks was organized well but did not seem to be based on varied resources and scientific studies but rather on the information Michael Pollan presents in his books. The class would have greatly benefited from a nutrition or medical professional who could give scientific insight.

Overall this course would be helpful for people with little to no knowledge of food or nutrition but does not explore the vast amount of research the covers how our bodies process and react to foods and how those foods can impact our health and major chronic diseases.